Conor McDonald went off injured, according to the commentary. We need to be careful with him. He played on around 8 different teams last year and I donāt think itās sensible to have him playing yesterday against Clare down in Tipperary and then playing again today for UCD.[/QUOTE]
Liam Dunne was giving out in the people paper this week about young players playing too much.
Niall Breen;
Andrew Kenny, Liam Ryan, CiarƔn Kenny;
PƔdraig Foley, Lee Chin, Richie Kehoe;
Benny Barron, Harry Kehoe;
Joe Kelly, Podge Doran, Ian Byrne;
David Dunne, Shane Tomkins, CiarĆ”n OāShaughnessy.
Liam Ryan was very good. Struggled with McDonald at times but didnāt give much away.
Niall Breen look very assured and imposed himself on full back line well. Was always shouting instructions telling them where to be. Pulled off a super point blank save as mentioned. Puck outs a bit hit and miss but had a strong wind to face into in 2nd half.
Lee Chin was one of the few Wexford players with a decent first touch. Made a couple of important interceptions when UCD appeared to be coming back into it before Joe Kellys goal
Joe Kelly got the goal but I wasnāt massively impressed. He missed an open goal earlier and mishit a 21 yard free into the keepers hands. Looking back at his goal he was also extremely luck as heād ran down a cul de sac and got lucky with what the defenders did. Maybe Iām being overly harsh on him though.
Kevin Foley, not sure when he was introduced but was a live wire and scored a great point in the 2nd half. Seems to have bulked up a small bit.
Overall we never really got out of 3rd gear. We only scored a point or two for the first 15-20 mins of second half and a combination of sloppiness, poor shooting (@maroonandwhite will love that) and Conor Devitt covering half the pitch allowed UCD back into it. The goal just completely killed it off though. A typical January game on a heavy pitch.
A chipped ankle bone for McDonald. Fucking ridiculous state of affairs.
Iām still in 2 minds about Dunne. An awful fucking hypocrite at times.
theyāre going on about these young players but there wasnāt a hoot given about Wexford having to go out and play four games in 22 days last summer. Now all of a sudden you have lads playing Walsh and Fitzgibbon Cups and other competitions and thereās no order.
āWeāre papering over the cracks here, trying to keep things going. Targeting these young lads who are good enough to play both minor and senior isnāt the way to go
so he thinks playing 4 games in 22 days is bad, but he has no issue in making Conor MacDonald play 2 games in 2 days. He didnt have to play him in the challenge game with Clare in Tipperary whilst he is playing for UCD and preparing for the Fitzgibbon and playing against Wexford on the Sunday. Managers are still at the same shit, giving no leeway to players playing elsewhere and just want them to play with their team 100% regardless of their other commitments.
Iāve calmed down a bit now, chaps. Itās important for the long term development of Wexford hurling that we remain in the stronger division 1b. Being without our main scoring threat for a few games should ensure this and, as @Mac[/USER] and [USER=11]@Appendage say, heāll get some rest and be ready for the championship.
No harm for us to play a few games without him either so weāre not over reliant on the young chap. Encouragingly, he made bits of Liam Ryan a couple of times on Sunday before being moved into the corner looking jaded.