This is a new low.
Are Wexford capable of better with a competent manager/coach at the helm?
Has to be someone better than dumb and dumber on the sideline
I think so but the players are culpable to a large degree too. Itâs possibly wrong to focus on (what I call) the micro when thereâs an overarching (what I call) macro problem. But the in-game ability of players to recognise a problem, improvise, change tact, make the right decision etc is shockingly bad. That was fairly pathetic tonight.
Same oul crew on the RTE coverage⌠tired format
Septic
It would be a bit much to expect a Michael Bond 1998 mid season result, but a managerial change now could produce a Richie Bennis 2006 bounce.
Dunne has to go now. That was beyond putrid. Is Doyle still with the under 21 team? Is there anyone else in the county capable of taking them over?
Jason Ryan and Mick Wallace
Ryan was strongly linked with being part of the Tipp hurling backroom team last November.
The keeper couldnât puck the ball past halfway in the 2nd half.
Maybe Sheedy could help ye find a manager.
Brendan Howlin.
The keeper and the entire full back line couldnât strike the ball properly. If only that as the only problem we had.
Well that was fairly typically Wexford tonight. Have we ever had any joy in double headers? 10 points from play in 140 mins between the two Wexford teams is fairly shocking.
The footballers should have got at least a draw but poor decision making cost them. It was actually experienced players who were making those errors in the last few mins too.
I felt there was a couple of strange substitutions too. Banville was doing ok and getting on more ball than the other forwards when he was subbed. Tierney for Kehoe didnât make much sense either.
Despite the game being dreadful it would have been a great scalp for Wexford to beat a team now two divisions above them. However, instead it is now looking like another poor year, when the team has been so close to making the step up.
Where do you start with the hurling? Again it looked like we had no game plan or a structure.
We kept going with the short puck out but then the defender just lumped it down to Dublinâs spare man.
Every Dublin player knew what they were going to do when in possession or at least knew what was expected of them. There was just no purpose to Wexfords play. There was little movement in the forwards and even then the forwards had no idea what kind of ball would be coming in.
In Wexfords last 8 games against top 8 teams they have only scored 2 goals and rarely hit more than 15 points. Youâd expect management would have been working hard on forward movement and creating space, in order to up the scoring returns. But it looks as if they had never worked on that, it was just get it forward and see what happens.
Coaching and tactical awareness in Wexford is still way behind the top counties but as @Bandage mentioned the players should be able to adapt better in games too.
How or why has dunne been left there this long. Iâm not jumping on but that was a fucking joke.
Most of us are still wondering the exact same thing
Just reading some post match comments from Dunne from last night. The negativity is just something else. Players have to accept their level of culpability but when youâre dealing with such sourness all the time, its hardly any wonder Wexford are such a shambles and thereâs so many absentees.
WEXFORD MANAGER LIAM Dunne revealed a lengthy list of absentees following last nightâs crushing Leinster SHC quarter-final defeat to Dublin at Croke Park.
There had been some speculation that Lee Chin would fill the number 26 slot that was left vacant in the Wexford squad but Dunne insisted that was never a runner due to the nature of his injury.
Chin wasnât the only missing star as Andrew Shore was also ruled out with cruciate knee ligament damage sustained recently.
Aidan Nolan, Shane Tomkins, David Redmond and Shaun Murphy are other players on the treatment table while Dunne also revealed that talented forward Jack Guiney, who quit earlier in the year, has left for the United States.
Dunne also explained that Kevin Foley, a recent U21 star, cannot give the commitment required to the senior squad.
Dunne said: âLook, weâre missing players but we still had 15 guys out there.
âWe came up here to do a job and we didnât do it.
âWe donât have the strength in depth but thatâs not going to be an excuse.
âLee wasnât on the panel at all. We did a fitness test on Thursday night and he got through it but he has lateral medial (ligament) damage and if we had chanced him, medically it was going to be 50-50.
âHe could have been banjaxed for the year. I would have loved to have him, heâs a huge loss to us.â
When asked if Wexford are making progress under his stewardship, Dunne was typically honest in his response.
âWhen you look at a performance like that, straight up youâd have to say no.
âBut thereâs a such a transition of players from this team in the last two or three years, itâs just phenomenal.
âItâs happening all over. Itâs not just Wexford and itâs not just hurling teams. You see the Tipperary footballers there and three lads away to America last week. Itâs just happening all over. The demand is there for them.
âAnd you think of those guys in the dressing room there, theyâll be ridiculed by everyone after that, which you have to take on the chin. Some fellas donât want that.
âThey wonder is it worth the hassle and they decide it isnât. Some fellas will die for it â everyone is different.â
Shore, Chin and Foley are the only players anyway decent listed there. Dublin were missing as many starters and Iâd put Kelly ahead of any the lads Dunne listed.
What you saw last team was a team managed by a rubbish manager versus a team managed by a decent one.
Dunne, like our own fella, talks a good game in the media and is quick to attribute blame elsewhere.
Even with the injuries they shouldnât be losing to an average enough Dublin side so comprehensively.
teage is not that bad to be fair
He meant Louis