Wexford GAA 2016

Just suggesting this, but, I wouldn’t imagine Liam Dunne or his management team would be lads who would like to be questioned by some gobeen in the county board office?

i would agree here.

Who knows what the relationship is like, the next county board meeting will be quite interesting whenever that is?

Yeah but they did listen as number 26 went unfilled.

Of course this is the responsibility of management but fuck me it’s dire when it got as far as it did (Freudian slip).

The great thing is Liam will reveal absolutely everything in an interview at some point in the future.

Of course we could have a couple of qualifier wins and everything will be ok.

Amused to read Brendan say it was our worst day in Croker for many years. He omits to say that it was only because we haven’t been there since 08 in a meaningful match.

I heard from early last week that Chin would start and Dunne put out the story about him being injured. Obviously intended to keep it going for as long as possible and county board must have assumed that they could just name 25 and add the number 26 (Chin) to the panel later. Then heard on Friday night that they couldn’t play Chin as hadn’t named him. Probably spent the whole day Saturday looking for a loophole as some Newstalk journalist (Oisin Langan) tweeted couple of hours before the game that Chin had made a miracle recovery and was expected to start.

I don’t believe that Chin wasn’t injured at all - he seemingly recovered from the knee problem quicker than expected. But I agree with @Appendage in that it isn’t solely a management mistake and that surely the county board should have been in contact with them to tell them about the implications of only naming 25 players and that nobody could be added to the list after the deadline for submission. The patently obvious and common sense thing to do was to name Chin as #26. If he wasn’t fit then no harm done. We don’t do basic cop on in Wexford though.

yup, agree. But it may not have been noticed. I do know that teams being submitted have often been received and glanced over and just sent straight on. There was 3 panels that had to be submitted that day, is it the responsibility of whoever gets the email to make sure the panel is in the correct order or the management? If I was submitting the team and purposely left a vacant spot, I’d make a note of it highlighting the issue and therefore it would be spotted. It’s a huge fuck up all round, but IMO, its more so on management than clerical staff.

In short:

Dunne = a fucking idiot who tried to get away with some mind games
Margaret Doyle = a bigger fucking idiot who either wasn’t aware of the technicalities of submitting a team list or was too stupid to stand up and advise Dunne of doing so.

You’d be starting to wonder if Ger Doyle (cunt) was only 50% of the problem during his tenure. I don’t suppose we’re due a new County Secretary anytime soon?

I reckon it’s the responsibility of the clerical staff to know the procedures and implications for submitting squads. If they clearly outlined that to the management team at the start of the year then fair enough. Otherwise I think they take a decent share of the blame too.

Even more so with only 25 listed - they surely should have gone back to management to tell them that there was another space available and that nobody else could be named as #26 once the list went in. That would have prompted them to include Chin as #26 then unless they’re all loonballs.

Ger Doyle was simply the face of a huge amount of incompetence.

What was he at trying to play mind games like that anyway. Name him 26 and say he might not be fit to start if that’s what you are doing.

I don’t believe chin was never injured. But I met a dog on the street that fully expected him to start. Both the dog and I were unaware that he hadn’t been named on the 26 but crucially both the the dog and I knew that if he wasn’t named he couldn’t play.

I think @gman might be an administrator.

You’d have to know the full facts of what actually happened though to know really who to blame. It’s probably more fun to keep the idle speculation going.

If a panel has to be submitted by a certain time, eg 10am and the panel is not received from management until 9.30am, there is a good chance that whoever received the email opened it and just sent it straight on assuming that the management would have filled it in as they do every other time for every other game played. As noted, 3 panels were being submitted Thursday, so they may have been under time constraints and didnt check to make sure that the management had sent in a full and proper panel. For that, then they would be at fault as there should be some sort of check system in place. But I know, if they are used to panels being sent in correctly and in the right format for years, then the less checking they would do on it. I dont want to go into too much detail on what I do or dont know about submitting the panels to the board, but I do know if they have a level of comfort with whoever handles the admin side of things from the management team, then the less likely they are to check up to make sure they are doing it right every time. It is rare that anyone on managment would leave a position blank. It’s fucking stupid too.

I wish @appendage, but I cant get enough votes at county conventions to be elected :sweat:

But if they named him as 26 then Dublin would have suspected he could play. Not naming him in the 26 was the masterstroke here. Dublin would have known he was ineligible to play, so could you have imagined their shock when he lined out on Saturday night?!

Genius!

Aside from the Chin fuck up, what was the point of the dummy team? Did Dunne somehow think Dublin would completely change their gameplan to combat the naming of Eoghan Conroy at midfield or Harry Kehoe at wing forward. What a shower of muppets we have running the show.

Ah Here. Leave us the fuck out of it will you.

Were any of the Wexicans here actually in Croke Park last Saturday and, if so, did anyone buy a programme?

Did Wexford have a no. 26 listed in it and was it Lee Chin?

For printing deadlines, a team would have been submitted to DBM (programme printers) by last Wednesday. Although not the official team to be supplied, players are required to wear the jersey number allocated to them in the programme. This means that someone in Wexford county board would have to have seen the panel a day or two prior to submitting the official list to Croke Park.

It is either a fuck-up by the board or an attempt at stroke-pulling, which backfired badly, by that moron Dunne. I suspect the latter as he has previous for this given his history of wearing the Maor Foirne bib to get access to the pitch.

I’m not sure what input Margaret Doyle has regarding match days. I say this because, the night of the Limerick v Wexford league game in the Gaelic Grounds last February, she was sitting next to me in the stand. The sideline duties that night were carried out by another chap whose name may possibly be Devereaux.

There was no 26 listed in programme.
If this was a failed attempt at “mind games” it’s pretty worrying.

Clearly state they’ve left a vacancy. Crowd of bloody idiots!!!

Ah that’s wonderful work.

What do think of that @gman? You big county board man. Clearly this was discussed by a few of them.

And an absolute cluster fuck ensued.