Wexford GAA 2019

I think the most frustrating thing about this team, is the problems with it seem really, really simple. Free taking. Fucking Lee Chin is a brutal free taker. He shouldnt be on them for his awful technique alone. It starts off balance and he has to work to correct himself. Its not at all natural and is painfully obvious.

Contrast these

Chin looks awkward hitting the frees. Sometimes, yes, they will work out, but his technique means its not a given. Hand position, feet position, shoulders and knees, all off balance.

And the puck outs. I mean, it should be obvious to not hit a ball straight to your opponent in their attacking zone, but we coughed up points where it was puck out, opposition player, point. And not just once or twice. Fuck it, if the short puck out game isnt working, then horse it down long and let our bigger players in midfield or half forward try win it 50-50. Hardly any worse than 100% conceding to an opponent on our 45.

Whatever about hitting wides from play or just sloppy play in general with bad touches, but when you have something that seems so simple to fix or at least not be as bad on, makes it harder to watch.

It’s all Mags D’Arcy’s fault

Funny you should say that. In Parnell Park last week Wexford had a mentor with a Mic on standing at the wall behind the goal giving instructions to Fanning before every puc out. I was intrigued because I had never seen that before.

Yeah, made exact same points on main GAA championship thread yesterday. These are completely basic things that should be easy to eradicate. It’s not as if you need to be an elite player to sort out all these things.

I was in the stand yesterday, sitting a few rows directly in front of Davy yesterday and couldn’t get over how vocal he was to JJ Doyle. He was in constant communication with him, i didnt see anyone at the back of the goals in either matches but wouldn’t be surprised.

Is all this over kill lads? Dont get me wrong but if Fanning needs to be told what to do with pucks out during a match, leave it so.

I heard that they were using a stopwatch in training to time the puckouts. It must have been dodgy based on the last 2 days.

There is an argument that we’re so pre-programmed we can’t adapt if the opposition and/or conditions upset us from this strictly imposed game plan.

On the other hand, we weren’t up to much before Davy answered our call and we’re not blessed with a spread of talent other counties have. So imposing a clearly defined structure and way of playing might be for the best.

If it is the latter, then my point is we should be executing it better at this stage in our third year under him.

I was behind the goals in Parnell park and one of the backroom lads was behind the goals at the gate. He was getting info from an earpiece and feeding it to fanning.

He went up to the other end at half time

The next time wexford are in town I’m going to pay a couple of craobh chiarain scobies to abuse the man with the earpiece and shout contrary instructions at Fanning.

Next time ye shit the pot?

Sure fanning wasnt heeding them anyway :smile:

No, that’ll be carlow this weekend and if not it’ll be a heroic failure v Galway on 15th june

Do we have a third keeper on the panel? It’s quite curious that Eanna Martin is our sub keeper. He’s been an outfield sub for years. Think he played in goal a bit way back, but can’t recall for definite. He got one game in the league and was fairly shaky.

Played in goals for UCC while there.

I doubt you would even need to pay them

not sure. Oliver O’Leary and Conor O’Leary had both been knocking about the panel in the last 2 seasons, not sure if they are still there this year. Maybe Mags Darcy would step in if needs be.

Martin was in goal for Wexford in 2012. I havent seen enough of him lately to comment on how good he is as a keeper. I thought he was a decent enough halfback.

Dunbar is a good man to hit a free with conviction too, opting to drill them as opposed to Chin’s awkward hit and hope. That said, our best free taker is on the bench, in Seamus Casey.

If he did that with his late chance youd be qualified now