Didn’t look injured, had scored a point form play I think, took of Kevin O’ Grady fairly early too, which I thought was strange
is there a fwds coach?
Heading down to the sunny south east on Sunday for the Limerick game in the league. Watched most of the Walsh cup final and Dublin looked to have a lot more spring in their step. Full back line very good under high ball in but were beaten most of the time in a race to a good low ball into the corner. Wexford half forward line seemed to be well dominated by the Dublin half back line leaving them plenty of time to play good ball into the forwards.
Some of the wides especially in the 1st half were very poor bit wind blowing across in front of the hill may have been a factor,
Wil we see much of the same panel on Sunday and how many do ye reckon will get decent game time in the championship. Thought Ryan Reck and Oisin Foley played well enough on Saturday
Hearing reports now that the hurlers had a hard training session on Friday night.
Can’t beat a good old heavy training session before a match
I’d say it’s horse shit only for the performance…
Harry Hehoe calling time on intercounty career. Was in the squad and came on vs Kilkenny 2 weeks ago.
I wondered if he was told he wasn’t being kept on when I read it
be hard to know whether it was him realising that a load of young lads are coming through for that late depth panel squad type player and he would only end up losing out really over it all. Considering the amount of players Egan has brought in and got game time into, be hard to be an older player already on the periphery and not going to make much inroads. David Dunne another somewhat similar type.
Except he’s only about 27 or 28 I think
Panel is being cut down this week so I suspect Harry was rightly given the respect to announce his own departure, there since 2009 so deservedly getting the recognition.
yeah thats why somewhat similar, but I think he could find himself getting pushed out too when he is about to start on the wrong side of his peak years. He’ll probably tip away for another year or 2 if he doesnt start getting any more meaningful game time. Hard to keep going at county level. The likes of Dunbar and Dwyer have gone past Dunne in the pecking order I reckon and a few younger lads like Lawlor and Casey could be moving up the line too. And thats only in depth, not even starting.
Dunne… Another lad wasted on that hurling panel.
Always thought him more of an impact sub when we needed a goal. He was nowhere near one of the best six forwards available after the end of the Liam Dunne era.
He would have been a mainstay on the team from 2007-2013.
Looks like back to groups of 6 this year in club championship, possibly some mid week games if there’s times pressures, hurling been played 1st again.
Senior Football Update
For 2022, Shane Roche has named Martin O’Connor (HWH-Bunclody) as captain of our Senior Footballers with Liam Coleman (Castletown) as vice-captain.
Senior Hurling Update
Darragh Egan has chosen Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers) as captain and Kevin Foley (Rapparees) as vice-captain for the Senior Hurlers. The panel named for 2022 is as follows:
Mark Fanning (Glynn-Barntown)
James Lawlor (Ferns St. Aidans)
Connal Flood (Cloughbawn)
Damien Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien)
Gavin Bailey (Ferns St. Aidans)
Jack O’Connor (St. Martin’s)
Kyle Scallan (Faythe Harriers)
Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
Matthew O’Hanlon (St. James’)
Paudie Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn)
Shane Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien)
Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
Conor Devitt (Tara Rocks)
Niall Murphy (Ferns St. Aidans)
Ben Edwards (Rapparees)
David Clarke (Glynn-Barntown)
Aodhán Doyle (Naomh Éanna)
Cathal Dunbar (Naomh Éanna)
Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St. Anne’s Rathangan)
Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
Rory O’Connor (St. Martin’s)
Conor Hearne (Shelmaliers)
Conor McDonald (Naomh Éanna)
David Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy)
Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)
Liam Óg McGovern (St. Anne’s Rathangan)
Mikie Dwyer (St. Mogue’s Fethard)
Paul Morris (Ferns St. Aidans)
Seamus Casey (Oylegate-Glenbrien)
Oisín Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn)
Charlie McGuckin (Naomh Éanna)
Ross Banville (Shelmaliers)
Rory Higgins (Rathnure St. Anne’s)
Richie Lawlor (Faythe Harriers)
Extended Panel
Oisín Pepper (Rapparees)
Cian Byrne (St. Mogue’s Fethard)
Corey Byrne Dunbar (Ferns St. Aidans)
Liam Schokman (St. Anne’s Rathangan)
Darragh Carley (Glynn-Barntown)
Cian Molloy (Naomh Éanna)
Cian Byrne (St. Mary’s Rosslare)
Good to see the end of that joint captain bullshit
Only part of that was when the two boys were parading at front of team for leinster finals, looked stupid, other than that, harmless.
Have to tolerate the Wexford townie accent if we win anything now.
We’ll miss the dulcet tones of the Hook Peninsula accent. Sad times.
I think this could be the precursor to losing some game time. We’ll see.