I only saw the last 20 minutes or so and he caught 2 in that time. Thereās not many full forward catching even 2 contested high balls in a game
That was the 2 he caughtā¦ Wexford launching high ball in on him for a good bit of the game and Limerick no. 3 away the whole time with it.
Stuck at home with the Covid here, so followed the matches on Tv/twitterā¦ Great result for the hurlers, fought for everything and used the ball well, you canāt ask for much more. Poor performance by the footballers, but it looks like John Tubritt made a big difference when he came on in the second half. A good weekend for the Fethard men.
Iām fairly sure he caught 3 actually. He scored a point from one, had the goal chance from one, and another he caught and lost after
yeah you called it yesterday that he should have started. 2 big impacts now, be hard not to have him starting the next day
Itās classic Wexford footballers, fuck around with the team at the start of the league, then by the time theyāre organised itās too late to get promoted.
yup. Banty had it sorted when he was there. burst his balls early on, got lucky Carlow fucked up against London and get promoted but be absolutely bet out the gate in championship and have a handy year that looks good on paper!
Hard to know best players to be playing, but I do believe we are starting a few lads who wont be near championship standard. Its catch 22 though, who do you call on when you need depth? Bad draw too once we lost to Sligo to have Cavan away next.
Congrats on the win.
Some result considering the hole opening Dublin gave ye recently
I said it before the Dublin game, not sure if here or offline, but that the Dublin game wasnt part of their preparation. They had the Kilkenny game and their next focus was on Limerick. They didnt turn up at all against Dublin, whether due to training or just a malaise, but it wasnt a game as part of their plans for the league. So I wasnt at all surprised to be bet out the gate, nor disappointed as I had suspected they were looking at the Limerick game instead. It seems to be how it has played out, the attitude and work rate were like chalk and cheese.
Realistically the League is the only game in town for the footballers, got to get out of Division 4. If they win all the rest of the games they could still get promoted, but I canāt see us beating Leitrim away. Losing to Sligo was a disaster really, twas there to be won.
Yeah realistically it will probably be a 4 from 7 campaign at best for Wexford now. Cavan certs for promotion and itās looking like Leitrim and Sligo will be eyeing up 2nd rather than Tipp. The frustrating part was that Wexford beat Sligo by 12 points less than a year ago.
Fair play to OāHanlon today whose constantly written off, to a man couldnāt flaut them effort put in a serious shift.
Yeah, Matt did very well. Was solid when he needed to be
Theyāll be dancing at the crossroads tonight
Thought yeāre full back line had the measure of our lads all day
That kind of wind suits full back lines, our full forward line got little change also.
OisĆn Foley looked decent. Is he anything to the other Foleys on the panel, Paudie and the lad Davy used have sweeping, Kevin is it? What age is he?
Paudie and Oisin are brothers from Crossabeg. Kevin is a different family and from Enniscorthy
Itās encouraging that weāre adding more depth/options alright and new players are making an impression. Iām not sure if weāve enough top class players, but weāve definitely a wider spread of solid/decent enough options. Iād expect Shane Reck, Kevin Foley, Rory OāConnor and Lee Chin to be in our strongest fifteen if/when fit. Not sure about Shaun Murphy but heād be there or thereabouts too.
Egan doesnāt seem shy about trying loads of players anyway, which is a good thing. Flood, Oisin Foley and Dwyer stepping up today was positive. I was thinking to myself that Dwyerās starting to look the part before his goal. Very busy, working hard, quite impactful. We could do with Dunbar driving on too. Heād kinda stalled for a couple of years but then shot 5 points in that qualifier defeat to Clare last summer. If he can build on that heād be a very useful option across a few positions from 8 to 15.
Eganās pitched in a few very young lads too. Isnāt Oisin Pepper still in secondary school? Darragh Carley was used in the pre season games too. A fair few 2019 minors in the set up too, including the two Harriers lads.
I understand Chinās hamstring injury is pretty bad so I was relieved when he was announced as captain for the year the other day. ROC should be back soon, donāt think his hamstring is too bad.
Chin was told by Whitfield that if he gets another big injury heāll have to stop. Was told that if the current injury happened when he was 22 heād be going for operation. Rory OāC played fitzgibbon the other night Iām nearly sure, surprised he didnāt come on.