I’m more alarmed that the u20 footballers are getting bet by West Waterford. I’m sure they’d fancy their chances on Saturday as well.
They beat Carlow last night and qualified for the final of that 20s comp. I wouldnt read much into winning or losing of those pre season cup games
I seen they beat Tipp alright. I didn’t realise they were through to the final.
There would be a good few lads missing at the moment because Gorey are in all-ireland final. It wont be bad u-20 team this year when they get everyone back
I believe Darragh Egan was the one who came up with the idea of a meet and greet open training session next Friday. Genius idea in fairness to him.
12 or 13 lads missing, jesus then that’s some going!
1:9-0:3 at HT to Gorey CS. Gorey much much better, only had one wide in first half.
Gorey win it out, 1:13-0:9!
Think you’ve read that wrong, those players are on the U20 squad as well asnthe school team.
Great achievement and fair play to them.
With a slightly cynical mind to it though, they have a full time GPO working with them and were getting the co board to pay Matty Forde to be in there for a while too. Anthony Masterson is doing great work there and in the clubs there, but I dont know does he venture south of Gorey town to any other club. Hes employed as a coach for the county, but seems to work exclusively through the school and the couple of clubs around it. Shows that it works though, but not entirely sure its right the way its handled at the expense of 90% of the county where the other GPOs spread the load to all clubs.
Again, thats being cynical and a big moan about it. Shouldnt take away from the succes today and another school up to A level is fantastic
You’re right. But Good Counsel had about 9 lads repeating the Leaving on their team that won!
Masterson says there was 12 or 13 u20 county lads on the panel. I didn’t no.
Ha. What was that other one you were peddling before? All the half forward line failing the leaving or something? Some good yarns
For reference, the correct total was 3, not 9. And 1 other on the squad of 29. Not that anyone is counting!
Sure ye head hunted Eric Bradley
Good Counsel trainer Kevin Kehoe’s nephew? *
- I think.
Who were the repeats?
Yep, he did first year in Adamstown
Eddie Galvin was one anyway
I know.
It took him that long to figure out it was a shithole
Kehoe had a right amount of nephews play.
Kehoes from Horsewood, Bradley, Brendan Kehoe.
The half forward line or half back line got a total of 150 points in their Leaving or something. I remember someone trying to convince me that Robbie Mageean got 25 points in his first Leaving too
Mageean was in 5th year that time anyway!
@count_of_monte_crist David Kehoe, Keith Madigan and Eddie Galavan on the starting 15. Conor Conway on the panel.