Wexford GAA 2023 🐐

Nail on the head there.

I was down at the league/walsh final game a few months ago. We stopped into the ferrycarrig for a bite and to watch the rubby. As we were there, a few of the players, walked in and out of the bar a few times, looking around to see who was in awe of their presence. I thought it was strange behaviour 2 or 3 hours before a game. The honour and the perks of the county jersey seemed enough for these lads.
As regards the underage, Wexford are consistently competitive, so there is no need to throw the baby out with the bath water. Appoint a good Wexford man now and ye’ll be back on track in no time.

If BDE gets fired then he’ll go as one of the only inter-county managers (perhaps the only?) with a 100% win record against the great Brian Cody. And I’ve just been reminded by the post above that we won the Walsh Cup under the Qatari-style lights earlier this season. That’s a great legacy to leave, along with sending us to the Joe McDonagh Cup too. Swings & roundabouts eh.

Are the traditional clubs in Wexford, Oulart, Buffers Alley, Rathnure etc producing any players these days?

No. Very rural clubs. They’re struggling. Rathnure have a good crop of U10’s at the moment though, trained by Declan ‘Skippy’ Ruth. The future is bright for 2037.

Ah here. That’s bit of a jump.

I can’t see how the light show can be used as a stick to beat anyone with.

It was a great night. :man_shrugging:

The lack of knowledge/effort/interest in our clubs and schools is a far bigger concern in my opinion.

None.

A few good ones down the grades.

Oulart and Rathnure have very small populations to be fair.

Will come again. The Alley are struggling.

Have you seen the state of the Wexford club championship?

When your traditional clubs are struggling it has to affect the county team in my opinion. Oulart in particular always produced some outstanding hurlers.

What’s traditional? Oulart didn’t win anything of note till 94 or 95.

Just saw the result there… :joy:.

As far as i know it is 2 groups of 6 which is nuts to me. Cork for example have 3 groups of 4 which is a much better model in my opinion. 2 groups of 6 leads to too many dead rubbers.

It’s a glorified blitz.

Last 30 years Oulart have produced brilliant players.

The current club championship structure has absolutely nothing to do with the consistent paucity of talent produced by Wexford since the 60s.

We’ve never been consistently good. But sure we’ve great supporters.

Having fellas hurl that little is not good imo.

Mick and Christy Jacob and Jimmy Prendergast.

Thanks for your opinion.

They’ll always have that Leinster title….

Right men. But they won no club medals.