Wexford GAA 2024-2027

I see Barry OConnor isnt sticking around aftfer Christmas to help out the beleagured weford hurlers…
Its a pity because he could certainly add something to the team.
But to be fair why would he turn his back on Oz with the lifestyle and AFL career.
Cant blame the chap if hed prefer to be on a beach in Sydney with his English internatiomal netball star girlfriend ( MBE mind you ) rather than getting pulled on by Dublin gym bunnies and munster muck savages !

I believe there’s a potential issue with Keegan’s appointment due to his involvement with Laois GAA?

There are numerous rumblings about it but he is fully entitled to do as he wishes in his own time.

Personally speaking I think he’s made a grave error of judgement. As have Wexford.

I suppose the ā€˜in his own time’ line is key.

These Games Development Officer’s tend to work unsociable hours like evenings and weekends that wouldn’t necessarily dovetail well with being part of an Inter County set up 90 minutes away.

I like Shane but I can’t help feeling he’s made a rod for his own back here. It’s a pity because he’s doing a lot of very good work and I think it’s going to start paying dividends over the coming years. Whatever about a GDO, I don’t think a Games Manager should be in an intercounty set up, especially not a ā€˜rival’ county.

TBH from a Wexford point of view I’d see Shane O’Brien as a more significant appointment.

Was wondering on Keegan myself, Davy’s 1st year PJ Ryan was goalkeeping coach but left when he got a GPO appointment in KK.

Shane spent every second Saturday on Newstalk last year saying how difficult he found the travelling to Cobh so its a bit ironic that now he’s off down to Wexford.

I presume that’s the end of his stint with JK Brackens. Things soured there towards the end.

Is he dominating the football? I see martins in an intermediate football final the weekend.

Hardly the wisest of moves by Wexford to be employing somebody who does punditry and media duties regularly, unless there is a stipulation that he has to step away from that.

:joy::joy::joy::joy:

Significant good or significant bad?

An ok manager but a bang average coach. Just axe Westmeath

I touched on this a few years ago. Wexford people are absolutely harmless, we just don’t really care.

I touched on it too during the year.

Like half yer Senior Hurling team spend their winters sunning themselves in Australia or South America.

Last winter the Tipp lads were being screamed and roared at by a few muldoon/army police types above in Clonakenny every Sunday morning for three months.

The Clare lads are probably at the same craic running up hills in Shannon this winter.

Ye are just too well educated a county to be mullocking around at that craic - it says it all when fun running is the favourite pastime of the county.

It’s always important to be passionate about hobbies.

true grit GIF

The reason ye were training like lunatics last winter is ye were a shitshow in 2024 and Cahill knew he was on his last life.

I referenced this earlier in the year in relation to Tipp.

They had no option but to put all shoulders to the wheel because the Tipp public demanded it. The Tipp players could hardly face walking down the street in the summer of 2024.

I doubt the Wexford public care as much so that the same level of demands/expectations gets through to the players. I’d actually worry about Wexford to be honest. Those recent coaching appointments to Rossiter’s backroom team wouldn’t inspire me and once Chin goes, the future is fairly bleak.

The Martin’s win the other day was a big fillup though to be fair.

+1. All manner of examples across sports of managers freshening up their coaching teams but they’d usually have a few trusted lieutenants that are with them throughout. This looks to me like a full clear out mid-term & a bang of metaphorically throwing shit at a wall to see if some of it sticks about these new appointments. But getting back to Liam Og’s point, I don’t actually care.

David Franks would have a huge sense of loyalty to Big Darragh O’Sullivan but him seeing the Waterford Minors as a bigger job than the Wexford Seniors is telling.