Wexford

Nice one I will check them out,cheers for the info.

Where’s the strip?! The 35 yards from the old Bank of Ireland car park to the Stores?

No, one street further over. The one with The Crown, Maggie May’s, T Morris and Loch and Quay on it with the Quay Casino just around the corner.

“Alri brother saaaan, I’ll see ya on the strip around 9pm.”

Have to go on the piss in Wexford all day tomorrow. Any advice lads?

I don’t suppose the Opera Festival is on?

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER, post: 600541”]
Any advice lads?[/quote]

Keep your wits about you.

Ta mate.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER, post: 600541”]Have to go on the piss in Wexford all day tomorrow. Any advice lads?

I don’t suppose the Opera Festival is on?[/quote]

Don’t put your hand up

Don’t accept offers of swimming lessons

SS, I’m happy to take any further queries you may have.

How did your day in the sunny south east work out mate? I assume you made a few quid?

Meself and herself are planning on heading to Wexford for the bank holiday weekend, so could do with a few pointers on where the spots are. If the weather is good we hope to stay in a seaside hotel or something similar. Where is good? Tried Kelly’s in Rosslare, could go to Australia for the price

Unless you’re Boxtys age then you’d have no need to go to Kellys. Wexford town might be your best bet. Only a few miles away from the best beach in Ireland up in Curracloe. Head the opposite direction down towards Rosslare or if you’re willing to take risks you could venture further south to Hook Head but be warned that the locals tend to be weirder than most down that way. The Talbot or Whites in Wexford are both relatively central & walking distance from everything you’d need in the town. I’d steer clear of New Ross in general & also Enniscorthy has StrawberryFest on that weekend so the town will be pretty busy. Might be grand for a day trip but the traffic will probably be very messy. All depends what type of weekend you’re looking for Tommy.

Gonna be mental down Duncannon way as well with the Military show on. The village is normally black with visitors curious with the spectacle and us locals sitting on the wall by the beach laughing at the men playing soldiers.

i work and was educated in New Ross, i wholly endorse macs opinion.

racist

As Mac says, The Talbot and White’s are in Wexford Town* itself. The Ferrycarrig Hotel is on the river Slaney slightly outside the town - any of these three places are decent.

• Home of the world famous boutique Wexford Opera Festival.

[quote=“Mac, post: 600549”]

Unless you’re Boxtys age then you’d have no need to go to Kellys. Wexford town might be your best bet. Only a few miles away from the best beach in Ireland up in Curracloe. Head the opposite direction down towards Rosslare or if you’re willing to take risks you could venture further south to Hook Head but be warned that the locals tend to be weirder than most down that way. The Talbot or Whites in Wexford are both relatively central & walking distance from everything you’d need in the town. I’d steer clear of New Ross in general & also Enniscorthy has StrawberryFest on that weekend so the town will be pretty busy. Might be grand for a day trip but the traffic will probably be very messy. All depends what type of weekend you’re looking for Tommy.[/quote]

Good info there Mac, went to school in Ross, refuse to even drive through it these days. I honestly have driven an extra 20 miles just to avoid the place.
Wexford town it is I’d say, never been to the Strawberry fair, is it anything like the fair in Borris? Tinkers everywhere?
What’s Curracloe like? Is it a town or Villlage?

[quote=“Bandage, post: 600553”]As Mac says, The Talbot and White’s are in Wexford Town* itself. The Ferrycarrig Hotel is on the river Slaney slightly outside the town - any of these three places are decent.

• Home of the world famous boutique Wexford Opera Festival.[/quote]

What’s Wexford town like for a weekend Bandage? Would there normally be a few tourists around the place?

I think you’ll have a splendid time. It’s steeped in history and full of wonderful restaurants and pubs and you can also marvel at our beautiful quayfront or stroll along our famously narrow streets. Then you can take a spin out to Rosslare Strand, Kilmore Quay or somewhere to go for a romantic stroll and to breath in the crisp, sea air.

Curracloe is a village Tommy. Full of holiday homes. Nothing there only a beach really. Small arcade and a small shop. Grand if you don’t want to do much but you’ll be driving if you want to do much else.

Wx town should have a bit of a buzz. Wouldn’t be thronged but enough to keep you ticking over. Plenty of restaurant choices and you might be lucky enough to run into our victorious inter county panels from both codes after their respective games that weekend :guns:

Gorey would also be good as a close to beach option but it’ll probably be full of undesirables who’ve come down to courtown for the weekend.