I have a Lumia 1520 since the start of the year and had a Lumia 920 before that.
I am more than happy with it. The 1520 is a 6 inch phone which is too big for most people.
However, you’ll see from the size of the new iPhones and Androids that bigger screens are the trend.
The windows phone software releases have been getting better and better. You can sign up for the developer program and get the latest release as they arrive.
I’ve had the developer version since March. I got the updated firmware [Lumia Cyan] a few weeks ago which was also a nice upgrade.
The app store while limited in an overall numbers sense when compared to Google Play and iTunes has everything I need. e.g. Whatsapp, Spotify, SlingPlayer etc…
The Apple lads continue to take the piss with their “innovations”. NFC or contactless payment via mobile phones has been around for years.
From a quick look at the new iPhone spec I can already see a number of benefits that the 1520 has over it:
e.g.
[LIST=1]
[]Bigger and better screen 326 ppi v 367 ppi [Edit: This is compared to the smaller iPhone, the bigger one is comparable, slightly better ppi]
[]Much better camera 8MP v 20MP
[]External memory expansion with SD card
[]Double battery life.
[]Twice the RAM
[]50% faster processor
[/LIST]
And all that in a phone that has been on the market almost a year.
If there was no such thing as Windows Phone I’d be getting a Samsung Note 4, which has just hit the market and has better specs than my 1520.
I’m assuming a 1530 will hit the market soon with Note 4 type specs.
Fucking tech geeks and their specs. The iPhone just works and that’s all that matters. No modding, no developer kits, no jail breaking or whatever the fuck. You turn it on, sign in and away you go.
No other manufacturer comes near to Apple for how it delivers its product. They didn’t invent the smart phone or any of the other innovations like NFC but they’re hugely successful because their stuff fucking works.
I’ll be picking up a new iPhone when it’s available anyway.
Also sickens me to see @Rocko[/USER] banging on about how great the Samsung Galaxy is so he could lure [USER=15]@ClarkeyCat into buying one (which he now hates) before proceeding to buy an ugly enough Nokia Lumia himself.
[QUOTE=“briantinnion, post: 1014632, member: 6”]Fucking tech geeks and their specs. The iPhone just works and that’s all that matters. No modding, no developer kits, no jail breaking or whatever the fuck. You turn it on, sign in and away you go.
No other manufacturer comes near to Apple for how it delivers its product. They didn’t invent the smart phone or any of the other innovations like NFC but they’re hugely successful because their stuff fucking works.
Also sickens me to see @Rocko[/USER] banging on about how great the Samsung Galaxy is so he could lure [USER=15]@ClarkeyCat into buying one (which he now hates) before proceeding to buy an ugly enough Nokia Lumia himself.[/QUOTE]
Your bar is pretty low if all you want from a phone is that it turns on and works. Pretty sure they all do that.
[QUOTE=“briantinnion, post: 1014632, member: 6”]Fucking tech geeks and their specs. The iPhone just works and that’s all that matters. No modding, no developer kits, no jail breaking or whatever the fuck. You turn it on, sign in and away you go.
Also sickens me to see @Rocko[/USER] banging on about how great the Samsung Galaxy is so he could lure [USER=15]@ClarkeyCat into buying one (which he now hates) before proceeding to buy an ugly enough Nokia Lumia himself.[/QUOTE]
Tinnion on the ball as ever. I remember when the iPod came out first some tech goon was telling me no get the Creative Iriver. It’s got this and it’s got that. Me bollix. The iPod looked cool and it still works ten years later. I’ve no idea how that other cunt is going on with his Iriver but I don’t hear too many people going on about them now.
[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 1014624, member: 258”]I have a Lumia 1520 since the start of the year and had a Lumia 920 before that.
I am more than happy with it. The 1520 is a 6 inch phone which is too big for most people.
However, you’ll see from the size of the new iPhones and Androids that bigger screens are the trend.
The windows phone software releases have been getting better and better. You can sign up for the developer program and get the latest release as they arrive.
I’ve had the developer version since March. I got the updated firmware [Lumia Cyan] a few weeks ago which was also a nice upgrade.
The app store while limited in an overall numbers sense when compared to Google Play and iTunes has everything I need. e.g. Whatsapp, Spotify, SlingPlayer etc…
The Apple lads continue to take the piss with their “innovations”. NFC or contactless payment via mobile phones has been around for years.
From a quick look at the new iPhone spec I can already see a number of benefits that the 1520 has over it:
e.g.
[LIST=1]
[]Bigger and better screen 326 ppi v 367 ppi [Edit: This is compared to the smaller iPhone, the bigger one is comparable, slightly better ppi]
[]Much better camera 8MP v 20MP
[]External memory expansion with SD card
[]Double battery life.
[]Twice the RAM
[]50% faster processor
[/LIST]
And all that in a phone that has been on the market almost a year.
If there was no such thing as Windows Phone I’d be getting a Samsung Note 4, which has just hit the market and has better specs than my 1520.
I’m assuming a 1530 will hit the market soon with Note 4 type specs.[/QUOTE]
Agree with nearly all that except any phone screen above 5" is too big and unnecessary. Get yourself a tablet or laptop in that case.
I have a Galaxy S4 now for about 6 months. I dont like it. It feels “cheap” compared to the Iphone that i previously had. Theres certainly much more that can be done with the Galaxy but fuck it i think i made the wrong decicion at the time. The screen cant be seen in sunshine or even daylight at times and the battery is very poor. Wifi on the Galaxy is a total joke, constantly dropping. The HTC ONE would have been a better buy id say.
Thinly veiled “I’m a technophobe and will be happy with whatever I’m given”