What’s your financial situation

You should stick another couple of hundred onto your personal loan. Get it paid off to fuck. It’ll free you up later.

Reduce the savings?

Another bugbear is 130 a month to Irish Life for mortgage protection and life insurance

At least the mortgage is manageable. Fuck the holidays, you’re paying off an investment.

Yep. Just until you pay off the loan. 650 a month is plenty to be putting away for the moment.

You’re right there. As long as there’s a bit of savings to fall on back it make sense to put money the loan which costs a lot more in interest than the savings make. I’m putting any extra money into mortgage and savings in a ratio of 2:1.

It’s a fine balance.

A lad could throw himself full whack into the current economy and be debt free in 5 years but wake up at the end of it with a broken marriage a poor relationship with kids and in a health mess.

So it’s a case of chipping away at the debt slowly, enjoying life where possible and saving a few pound for college fees.

27 Likes

College will be free in our new socialist paradise.

Be grand

My company pension scheme pays 5 x salary as death in service and my wife would get 1/3 of my salary annual pension. A huge benefit in role

My mortgage protection would pay off my mortgage. She would also get a widows pension from state.

I could interest him in some magic beans.

Your lifestyle expands to meet your income, if I was making fuck all I’d be broke at the end of the month and if I was making a million a year I’d be broke at the end of the month.
I’d rather have the money though, it doesn’t buy happiness but it does buy a better form of misery

You’re prob paying 6-8% on the loan and getting 0% on the savings. If you have a bit of a rainy day fund already I’d tilt towards paying off the loan as quickly as possible as it will save you money

Careful now, you’re worth more to her dead than alive…

This is it. You can’t enjoy life when you’re 6 feet under. The kids will remember the memories you create now.

Aren’t we all?

This thread is at nothing until lads start posting up their P60’s in the middle of the night.

cc @anon98850436

Fuck boy that’s pressure ,fair dues to you well done keep healthy, modern IRELAND really pushes families to the limit

Clearly this is a thread for adults. Best of luck lads, I’m away to wrap my head in brown paper and vinegar.

A lot more…

Doesn’t matter a fuck how much you earn. It’s what your shelling out each month that determines you situation