Lads, John Kelly seems to be doing some sort of Leonard Cohen tribute. Loads of different people doing covers and originals. Savage.
Turns out this was loads of covers by famous people of loads of famous tunes. Nick Cave and Shane McGowan did 'It’s a Wonderful World '.
That was a huge hit when it was released, played non stop on the radio, may even have been the Christmas number 1 in Ireland if my memory is right
I was out in the car there listening to Morning Ireland Misery Porn, when they said their next piece was about a 38 year old who had spent 68 days in ICU with Covid. I switched over to Newstalk who were about to go on one of their minute ad breaks. I said to myself I’ll switch over to Marty on lyric for a few minutes that might lighten the mood.
Marty was playing Reflections on my life by Marmalade. These are its lyrics
The changing of sunlight to moonlight
Reflections of my life
Oh, how they fill my eyes
The greetings of people in trouble
Reflections of my life
Oh, how they fill my eyes
Oh, my sorrows
Sad tomorrows
Take me back to my own home
Oh, my crying (Oh, my crying)
Feel I’m dying, dying
I’m changing, arranging
I’m changing
I’m changing everything
Everything around me
The world is
A bad place
A bad place
A terrible place to live
Oh, but I don’t want to die
Oh, my sorrows
Sad tomorrows
Oh, my crying (Oh, my crying)
Feel I’m dying, dying
Oh, my sorrows
Sad tomorrows
It’s like they are taking the piss at this stage.
You put alot of work into that post, in fairness to you.
I fully agree. I’ve taken to the bland eighties morning mix of sunshine 108 these days.
I’ve gone back to listening to Sunshine as well in the last couple of weeks.
It’s not bad at all really. And sure where else would you get audio clips of Noel v Ginnity.
You get a grand run of good songs and few ads.
Yep. I used to listen to Nova a bit a few years ago before their advertising took half their airtime. And the 2 in the morning are gimps.
She seems like a grand girl on spin in the mornings, good craic I’d say
Big ball, small ball, any code,
I just wanna make to Jones’ Road
No offence mate but how can you listen to that I the morning?
I was listening to newstalk today on a cycle and there was a conversation about tipping, this came into my head. A masterpiece and low budget. And he’s fucking right!
Any recommendations for a good DAB radio. Needs to look the part aswell. Are the Roberts ones the only job?
Is Digital radio still a thing? I thought that went out with MySpace?