When will crèches open again?

The greatest risk to mankind = Going outside or to bed with wet hair.

You would literally catch your death.

Are they going to shut creches down for non-essential workers’ kids?

It’s all up in the air, pal.

I don’t think there will be clarity until after the cabinet meeting tomorrow.

So you’re looking at anything from:

• Closing to be consistent with schools and for as long as schools stay shut (anything from 2 weeks to end of January to February mid term break);

• Staying open but only for full time childcare and not for after school clubs etc;

• Staying open for essential workers only;

• Staying open for emergency/healthcare workers only as opposed to wider essential worker definition which includes all sorts of stuff.

I’ve heard option A is seriously being considered cc @carryharry @Spidey

OK
a few ponderables.
do any of us care if our kids or us contract c19?
realistically no as in children its symptomless and unless the parents are morbidly obese (ahem) or over 80 or have a serious underlying condition it doesn’t matter a jot…( you’ll get your few minutes on here telling people you have a cough, grand)

now if you plan on spending time with old people or live with grandparents I might be concerned but as we are all adhering to lockdowm criteria this shouldn’t be happening.(unless grandparents are in the gaff)

so given that you are not obese, and c19 is a non issue for kids …I see no issues

Yeah thats my feeling on it too. Very tough on students and teachers too it has to be said.

sounds like Daoine oga here…kids go to creche basically in waterproofs and its outside all day.
its brilliant

Yeah similar here. They have a small farm attached, vegetable patch, greenhouse etc and the kids are outside learning this stuff all day.

Creches are a cod.

yeah we’ve the young fella over there now and its some craic as well. like @Bandage we had the older fella imprisoned in a Giraffe type gig from 0700 to 1730 5 days a week - it took us about two years to realise this was negligence , and we were paying a small fortune for it

The crèches have fallen.

If they retain the essential worker definitions from before then this is wonderful, wonderful news.

Sign the kids over to me and I’ll lob them into the crèche. My essential worker status is for nothing otherwise

tenor (4)

Essential workers only, but basically everyone is an essential worker so it’s all the wan

I’m classed as an essential worker but I don’t think that’ll bump me up the queue for the vaccine :man_shrugging:

Crèches CAN remain open for vulnerable children and children of essential workers. Just need that text from the crèche confirming they’re staying open. My young lad’s crèche also does ECCE/play school so that’s been shut this week and will be for rest of month. My rough estimate is that around 50% of the non-ECCE baby and toddler parents have kept their kids at home so he’s been happy out playing in a smaller group and getting plenty of attention. I’ve also made great inroads into my year-end reporting so it’s all going well as long as we don’t catch the virus.

What’s a “vulnerable” child. How much would you have to neglect your child to get them bumped into that category and out of your hair. Hypothetically