Presents wrapped!! C’maaan
Real men panic buy on crimbo eve and wrap half steamed that night.
I’m spending mine in London with the inlaws, this is my 3rd Xmas in a row not at home…I’d like to be with my family etc esp as my sis has a 3 month old baby but ya know, life is a bit different as I’ve got older, a lot of my friends are abroad and the rest have their own families now and wouldn’t be about. I doubt anyone down the local would even question or enquire if I’m about for Xmas to be honest, such is life!! I hope all TFK users have a happy Xmas and a prosperous new year, we are all irish men and have the banter etc but I genuinely hope 2015 is a good year to ye all…I hope Waterford win the all Ireland though!!!
thats a good post and very similar to my situation, best of luck sam et al
Would Christmas mean anything to the missus, Michael?
Thanks bud - I’m waiting for herself to finish night duty - life is funny but good!!
no, but neither does Rosh Hashana or Yom Kippur
she does an incredible job tho at going out of her way to make it the best she can for me, she is buying presents, putting up the tree with me, helping with the santa letter and is really being quite amazing actually, she does it for me as well , and for that i am very grateful, and that’s not just the wine talking
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1061880, member: 367”]no, but neither does Rosh Hashana or Yom Kippur
she does an incredible job tho at going out of her way to make it the best she can for me, she is buying presents, putting up the tree with me, helping with the santa letter and is really being quite amazing actually, she does it for me as well , and for that i am very grateful, and that’s not just the wine talking[/QUOTE]
Well my missus and her family aren’t of the catholic faith either, the polar opposite so I can empathise!!
you cannot and can never replicate an irish christmas anywhere, what we have is incredible
there were some great posts in the things that are right thread from lads lilke @flattythehurdler[/USER] and [USER=2272]@TheUlteriorMotive i think about this.
one of the lads made the point that having children is the most amazing thing and bringing them home to the grandparents is unreal, unbelieveable but the sadness of leaving a week or so later and looking at you dad’s face as he know’s he wont see this little fella for possiblly another year is fucking horrible… every year i go back ( im back now for a bit but ill be off again soon) the parents seem so much older, its only now that im away i really am starting to value them really you know, problem is i had to travel 3, 650 kms from home to actually see it… its fucking diabolical, it can really tear you apart, last year in the airport was awful, i really thought as i was leaving that if my current visit frequency keeps up ill only see my da 5 or 6 times before he is dead… this burnt a hole in me until paddy;s day where i almost had a breakdown whilst taking free kicks at training… all these things i wanted to talk with him about, after a while both of you know the phone is a poor subsititute, he’ll never call me , i dont call him either but when i do i know it lifts him… its a funny old world lads
happy xmas one and all…
Satanists?
Landed back in my beloved Connermara tonight. I’ll have dinner tomorrow with the parents, brothers, sisters, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, along with a rake of kids…can’t wait. Might row the Currach over to Boston on St. Stephens Day for a few pints.
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1061883, member: 367”]you cannot and can never replicate an irish christmas anywhere, what we have is incredible
there were some great posts in the things that are right thread from lads lilke @flattythehurdler[/USER] and [USER=2272]@TheUlteriorMotive i think about this.
one of the lads made the point that having children is the most amazing thing and bringing them home to the grandparents is unreal, unbelieveable but the sadness of leaving a week or so later and looking at you dad’s face as he know’s he wont see this little fella for possiblly another year is fucking horrible… every year i go back ( im back now for a bit but ill be off again soon) the parents seem so much older, its only now that im away i really am starting to value them really you know, problem is i had to travel 3, 650 kms from home to actually see it… its fucking diabolical, it can really tear you apart, last year in the airport was awful, i really thought as i was leaving that if my current visit frequency keeps up ill only see my da 5 or 6 times before he is dead… this burnt a hole in me until paddy;s day where i almost had a breakdown whilst taking free kicks at training… all these things i wanted to talk with him about, after a while both of you know the phone is a poor subsititute, he’ll never call me , i dont call him either but when i do i know it lifts him… its a funny old world lads
happy xmas one and all…[/QUOTE]
I can empathise totally every time I go home I’m left wondering if this is the last time I’ll see my folks its a horrible feeling that gnaws away at you - my oul lad retired bout 5 years ago, was always a bright sharp man but every time I see him he looks so old and even fone conversations he just seems to have changed and it’s an awful way to feel to be worrying bout the folks when living in a foreign country and working in a job etc and looking after your own its no bed of roses I can tell ya
@mickee321[/USER] and [USER=2293]@Sam Swarek[/USER] [USER=236]@Fitzy[/USER] and [USER=2272]@TheUlteriorMotive[/USER] [USER=376]@Declan Moffat[/USER] [USER=361]@Tassotti and all others, the way I figure it is this. We were raised by our parents as best they could by and large, and they have raised us well enough that we are independent, self sufficient and self confident enough to live for a while in a foreign country. We would be proud if ours were the same. The love of home is partly of Ireland, and partly just nostalgia for what was, by and large, a great childhood. Nothing is set in stone. We will be back. I never told my folks I loved them or even thanked them until recently as it felt so cripplingly awkward, but ye should screw yourselves up and do so. The world is a far smaller place than it used to be. Pull your parents in before its too late,and dream of the day ye land in Ireland, and don’t have to leave again.
This tfk place is a great link to home, but nearly all countries have good things about them. I think a lot of people who never left, don’t see what we see about what a nice place Ireland is. As bob Marley said, one bright morning, when my work is over, I will arise and fly away home.
Happy Christmas. I’m fucking knackered.
[QUOTE=“Sam Swarek, post: 1061866, member: 2293”]we are all irish men
@Il Bomber Destro is Italian
[ATTACH=full]2101[/ATTACH]
Present of the day. So far. On side 3 now. I got the poison. I got the remedy.
[ATTACH=full]2102[/ATTACH]
Closely followed by this beauty
[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1061912, member: 706”][ATTACH=full]2101[/ATTACH]
Present of the day. So far. On side 3 now. I got the poison. I got the remedy.[/QUOTE]
You’re too old for that mate.
Cunt of a day. Dragging already
I was in bed at half nine last night, it will be earlier tonight. A cunt of a day for a single man
The princess loved her Presents, chaps. A great day of food and drink ahead…