There mustn’t be a Hurley maker of note in Limerick, you’d often bump into Cian Lynch and Declan Hannon below in Martin Cuddys picking up timber.
Those falconer yolks are probably the worst I have ever laid eyes on. I wouldn’t even call them hurleys
If you head to Bruff you can find very good ones.
There’s three lads as far as I know. Daly’s absolutely awful. Shanahans grand but can be hard to get hold of him and you might be waiting a while for it. Then your man in Bruff who I’ve had very little dealings with.
The boys don’t seem to rate him
Brian Walsh in Wexford is cleaning the Dublin Hurley market. They look and feel nice with the Karakal grip. They even smell nice with the lick of linseed. Serious consistency too. A bit of marketing goes a long way. Fair play to him
Bourke do a smashing burl
Borrisoleigh? They do alright
Yes and a very impressive set up down there.
I’ve gone to Jim O Brien in Drangan a few times. Lovely hurleys
Have to say I’m a bit surprised here, I thought the majority of posters hurling days were behind them.
We had a schoolteacher who used to repair and cut down Hurleys when I was a young fella, you were nobody unless you had JBM or Tony O’Sullivans cast off
Still great to puck a ball even in late 40s
He puts a nice finish on them in fairness to him. But I can’t warm to them, the boss is too round/symmetrical in shape.
Something wonderfully therapeutic about bating a ball off a wall for a half hour.
I always have a few hurleys around, one of my best mates is involved with teams at a very high level and always has a load of hurleys around the place,
I find them to be much of a muchness, you’d never see a bad Hurley these days unless it’s in Aldi,
I remember enjoying the enhanced sweet spot you’d get from an o Connor Hurley when they were making their name but most hurleys now seem quite similar to that in my opinion, I’d say you’d need to be hurling for real to judge the best,
They feel good to hold alright and are nice and light hence very popular in Camogie also. Some say the pop-up shops in Dublin clubs are best avoided as you can get better sticks by going to his house in Enniscorthy. Rumours that some of his sticks being re-branded and sold on too.
I had a Fitzgerald Hurley from Araglin on the Cork/Waterford border and it was an absolute wand, had it for years, that was until I made shit of it against Ballybrown in a nothing Junior B game.
It’s a weapon you need against ballybrown not a wand
Should have pulled the Hurley left in the garden for the winter out for that one