@Big_Dan_Campbell, There was a lad out Kilkishen direction who made hurleys. One of the lads in the club go some off him a good few years ago and they were noble sticks. Could his name be Duggan?
Yeah there is a Duggan hurley maker out that way. Never used one myself. Used to go to McNamara in Tusmgraney when I was hurling back at home. A noble hurley
Fuck sakes lads. You have me wondering should I take up making hurls as a side gig*
- not a hope you’d do it as a side gig
There’s an absolute gent in tipp has brilliant sliotars. I’ll dig out his details if you like. Great value too.
There’s two o deas isn’t there? One good and one utterly terrible.
PM there please Flatty
Ronan O’Dea in Ardrahan is the main man.
Is that the same Jim Bourke from Upperchurch? A daycent wand.
Is he ancient? I know lads still getting hurleys from him but it seems like a bit of a rigmarole.
Unbelayavable weapons for sure.
No it’s Bourke in Borris. He started about ten years ago now. Has expanded into leisurewear and gear too. I find his sticks can be hit and miss.
I’ve been to the Bourke shop in Borris. Grand hurleys but as you say there’d be a fair difference in quality in what you pick up there.
The lad I’m talking about was a different operation, based in Upperchurch I think? Rale weapons with a heavy bas.
Ah yea Jim Bourke. As you said real weapons. Class hurleys.
You should be ashamed of yourself using the word boss.
They all use fucking keeper hurls these days anyway. Be impossible to miss a first touch.
Me man in upperchurch says Jim has finished up now. I still have the one he did for me about 8 years ago and it’s solid although didn’t get a pile of use! No link to Bourke sports in borrisoleigh.
I’d say he has been finished for the best part of a decade and has done the odd job here and there where lads have twisted his arm?
Had a couple of his years ago, they were some yokes but I never went chasing hurleys. Had a lovely pair from Kearneys a while back but any I picked up since are awful light. Got a couple from Bourkes in Borris that are still in boot of the car now.
Easily broken though. My 10 year old daughter broke a new one just pucking with it, I got it repaired. Lovely stick though and she’s driving the ball better with the two hoops on it. So it’s an ill wind and all that.
I’ve never got a bad one off Brian Walsh an I’d be buying by the dozen but always directly. The consistency is unreal. They are very light and break easier than most though.
I went into him for hurley for young fella. Decent enough if not a bit thick/heavy. Good sliotars off him too
All my hurleys as a young lad came out of Kilkenny. A good friend of the father’s was involved with Kilkenny minor teams of the early 90s and would always bring me a few.
One broke before, but my father felt it was too good to discard. The man who trained us for years at soccer locally was Jimmy Ryan. He was always tipping away with hurleys but didn’t really make a business out of it til late in the day. He fixed my hurley that time and wouldn’t even take a fiver from the father. A humble man. Treated it as an art form
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-20034669.html%3Ftype=amp
Any recommendations for buying hurleys online that deliver worldwide? Want something for myself and my 3, nearly 4, year old. Perhaps for her two slightly older cousins as well.