Who's getting out of Munster - Hurling 2023 - Poll

Nail your colours to the mast.

Fuck it tis a hard call. Think the draw will be crucial.

Limerick
On the road a while, teams got a lot closer last year. Still the team to beat you would think (I would hope). But getting out of Munster is no gimme. With Lynch Back I would expect them to be okay. But fuck knows. Cork and Clare at home. Waterford & Tipp in Thurles. Not too bad. Waterford first day on neutral turf. Not the worst start possible.

Clare
Ran Limerick closest last year. Can they kick on? Is there more improvement in what they have or was last year a crushing blow. Limped out after Munster final. Licking their wounds a long time,
can they find a few more to get to a new level. Think they’ll be okay. Fixtures fall well for them, Tipp at home, Cork at home, Waterford in Thurles, Limerick is away, but couldn’t be any closer to home. Tipp first day huge.

Cork
Young fellas will improve them. Joyce is already a big improvement on Coleman, I’m sure Coleman is a loss in terms of you could have put him elsewhere, but Joyce CB is a positive. We will see how Downey fairs on a big day, will be targeted for sure, but a good first outing. A long way to go before you can say he solves that problem. Upfront they are still a bit flakey. ROF a big loss if he is out, he will surely be out the first few games at least. Still reliant on Hoggie. They’ll need him to slate a few people in the paper. Waterford and Tipp at home, which are the two they will have to win minimum. Think that will help them go through.

Waterford
The major unknown, for me, is what can Davy get out of them. If he starts bollix acting with sweepers they may forget about it. They have the personnel to be at least the second best team in Munster, but not sure they have the players for Davy ball, the opposite really. Think that will cost them, as will having no home games and drawing I think the two best teams Clare and Limerick for those games, then Cork and Tipp away. Think they will struggle. If Davy can’t get them out first year, then they may get rid because it won’t get better.

Tipperary
The next big unknown. Rebuilding year still I think, will improve and might take a scalp. But Cork and Clare away and Limerick at home are big asks. Could all come together very quickly, but I am betting against it.

Pick the three to get out below. Winners get an all expenses trip to see how a TFK admin lives for a day.

Who will get out of Munster
  • Clare
  • Cork
  • Limerick
  • Tipperary
  • Waterford

0 voters

In the three years of the Munster round robin so far - 2018, 2019 and 2022 - there has never been a year of high drama going into the last day where all five teams were in with a chance of qualifying or where both last day contests were winner takes all. It has generally all been done and dusted in advance, nothing like the drama in Leinster in 2019 whereby Galway were knocked out after Kilkenny and Wexford drew.

This year looks a lot tighter. Waterford have been fairly abysmal under this format but are due an uptick at some stage. And that little mutant in charge will surely win a game or two this year. Hope it doesn’t happen obviously but Waterford beating Limerick in the first game could be just what the Munster provincial campaign needs to blow it wide open.

Waterford probably the most vulnerable, not sure they have the firepower to get the scores up over the course of four games.

Gone with Limerick, Clare and Cork but that Tipp v Clare game first up is massive. If Tipp win that one then Limerick will be eyeing up a chance at all but knocking Clare out six days later.

Even when tipp are shit they can usually beat cork, Waterford and Clare. I’d expect them to pick a win or two.

I’d rule out Waterford. We’ll hammer them day one and that’ll be it for Davy. The players will be pack it in under him.

I think Clare have blow out potential but it’s very hard to call.

A lot of love for Tipp so far. Based on Cahill is it? Can’t see it based on anything they’ve shown

Limerick, Clare and Waterford in no particular order. Clare and Waterford have better depth I genuinely think than Cork or Tipp do this year.

Dungeon

@Locke you will have to update the power rankings based on your latest view.

Clare, Cork and Waterford for me.

Ye should have never left Munster. The boxoffixity is unparalleled

I am rooting for the following Munster teams this year. Limerick and Tipp

Cork to be relegated

#Kerryrising

How many munsters dod galway win in their time?

None

The Limericks are getting itchy holes

Limerick are as Limerick are.
Waterford not a hope, Davy could well be gone by years end.
Cork will go well and will ease out of Munster.
Clare have questions to answer - are they the real deal, do they have the legs to last with Limerick, Galway and Kilkenny?
Tipperary are 5 years from anything.

Great thread. Looking forward to the Leinster edition.

I think Tipp will improve from what was a very low base last year. But in saying that their backs were well below IC standard last year and they have lost three of the more promising lads they blooded. Just don’t see where or how they can patch them holes in the short term.

I think Waterford might have missed their chance. Limerick aside I think the other three counties in Munster were in poor shape for the most part in 2020/21/22 - they now need to replace lynchpin players like Barron and De Burca which won’t be easy. Lack of home games make it tough too. Still have a physical and athletic team but Davy has really struggled to turn out sides who can consistently hit 25 points + in championship hurling, hard to see him bucking that trend now.

Limerick even if a number of lads are struggling for form will win two game minimum on muscle memory. Hard to see them not retaining the Munster championship.

I think Cork will be much improved in terms of workrate and attitude. I wouldn’t see the injuries to Coleman and O’Flynn as too big a negative in year one. Sometimes you unearth a lad who is buried down the panel when your hand is forced with injury - a good year to blood lads.

Clare need the lads who showed a big uptick in form last year like Flanagan, David Mc and Fitzgerald to play to a similar level. The likes of Aidan McCarthy, morey, Adam Hogan and David Conroy are big improvements to the 26 compared to the likes of Golden, Paudi and Aaron Fitz. I’d expect Aidan and Rodgers replace Reidy and Galvin in the forwards which should add a bit extra. Think they will have enough to get out of Munster unless the breaks go against them.

Limerick automatically are coming out. Any suggestion otherwise is ridiculous.

Any of the other four could do it. I think it’s more likely it’ll be Clare and Cork. I think Tipp are still missing a few players to make them really competitive, and in reality, could be nearly gone after the first two rounds away.

There’s a quality team in that Waterford group yet. Similarities in the running game Cahill had them playing last year and Davy managed with Wexford in 2019, means maybe it’s tweaking rather than starting from scratch. And if they’re going to do anything under Davy it’s likely to be in year one or two. I think there’s gonna be a kick in them. Lack of home matches is balls for them though.