[QUOTE=“Horsebox, post: 954273, member: 1537”]No but it might tell you all you need to know about the dumbass comparisons some people make between different sports. Using your logic there, it may tell you all you need to know about Gaelic Football when a guy who hasn’t played the game in 15 years walks straight back onto the panel of the second best team in the country-I wouldn’t agree with that though.
[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 954988, member: 706”]Listened to Woodie and Thorns on Wednesday night rugby on OTB.
A number of points occurred to Fagan ODowd as he listened
@Bandage is bang on about the length of the questions Ger Gilroy asks. They’re interminable.
Gilroy mentioned Ireland having a storied rivalry with Argentina. No they fucking don’t.
3 Woodie asserted that the Irish make great tourists.
Thorns used the phrase therein lies the rub when talking about a forwards coach taking a better job.
It was utter scutter.[/QUOTE]
on updates on the Pro de deux ? or any news as to what the money men ,notably the Mourad Boudjallel’s, the Eric de Cromieres and the Nigel Wray’s of this world are up to…
Gerry loves names…
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 954996, member: 367”]on updates on the Pro de deux ? or any news as to what the money men ,notably the Mourad Boudjallel’s, the Eric de Cromieres and the Nigel Wray’s of this world are up to…
Gerry loves names…[/QUOTE]
No. Gerry is in Argentina. But he had met Felipe Contepomi who had called over to the team hotel to meet the guys. He mentioned this three times.
[QUOTE=“Gman, post: 919384, member: 112”]the pockets of fee paying school though is where its at, and thats another annoying thing. I lived and worked in a heartland of a school and club area, and the people themselves are arseholes, and their ego and attitude would sicken you. Yeah, there might be rugby played in the back ends of some county, but realistically, its the fee paying schools where its at, where the national side comes from, and where the media comes from. The coverage the Times gives the fabled Leinster senior cup is astonishing. Fair play to them in one sense, because at least there is some sort of history and heritage to that. But even with the likes of O Brien or the very few other ‘regular joe soaps’ on the Irish team, the vast majority of the squad is still made up of players who went to fee paying schools, and that in itself creates the elitism.
I know a couple of lads from where I am from who are on a Leinster development squad. One of them is thinking of giving it up. All training is always in Dublin, and he said the clique and the shit he gets from the players up there isnt worth the hassle of the whole thing. Maybe Munster is different, or maybe this lad is just unlucky with a bad age group, but having seen some of the schools players when I lived in Dublin, it really doesnt surprise me he isnt accepted with them.[/QUOTE]
the upside though is that you do get to stand on their heads on occasion which is all part of the game
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 954996, member: 367”]on updates on the Pro de deux ? or any news as to what the money men ,notably the Mourad Boudjallel’s, the Eric de Cromieres and the Nigel Wray’s of this world are up to…
Gerry loves names…[/QUOTE]
Will be listening to last night’s Wednesday Night Rugby (with Investec) podcast on my phone at some stage today, so looking forward hearing to Gezza’s thoughts on the Pro de Deux although inevitably the Heineken Champion of Champions Cup will take up most of the discussion.
I’d be very much guided by Gezza’s opinions on French rugby but it’s also great to hear the thoughts of people like Bernard Jackman and James Cawwwlan who are right there at the coalface (face de charbon).
The media reaction to Munster’s defeat at the weekend was sickening.
Irish Independent front page said “Munster and Leinster Keep Hopes Alive” and then inside there was an article by Billy Keane with the headline of “Smirking French Didn’t See This Minor Miracle Coming.” I could only bring myself to read the first couple of paragraphs but it was typically nauseating stuff. Outstanding efforts at keeping the blinkers on though. Even in a defeat, we’re told about Munster’s miracle performance. Fucking idiots.
[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1058215, member: 1”]The media reaction to Munster’s defeat at the weekend was sickening.
Irish Independent front page said “Munster and Leinster Keep Hopes Alive” and then inside there was an article by Billy Keane with the headline of “Smirking French Didn’t See This Minor Miracle Coming.” I could only bring myself to read the first couple of paragraphs but it was typically nauseating stuff. Outstanding efforts at keeping the blinkers on though. Even in a defeat, we’re told about Munster’s miracle performance. Fucking idiots.[/QUOTE]
[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1058215, member: 1”]The media reaction to Munster’s defeat at the weekend was sickening.
Irish Independent front page said “Munster and Leinster Keep Hopes Alive” and then inside there was an article by Billy Keane with the headline of “Smirking French Didn’t See This Minor Miracle Coming.” I could only bring myself to read the first couple of paragraphs but it was typically nauseating stuff. Outstanding efforts at keeping the blinkers on though. Even in a defeat, we’re told about Munster’s miracle performance. Fucking idiots.[/QUOTE]
I wanted to post something along these lines yesterday but I was too lazy… I had to delete certain media outlets from my FB news feed such was the thrash they were coming out with about a fucking bonus point… A point for losing :rolleyes:… The double standards when it comes to reporting on rugby and rugby losses compared to football in mental.
“The miracle morsel.”
I think the reaction to Leinsters win was far more measured with most fans agreeing it was a ball of shite and that they’ve regressed hugely