[QUOTE=âFitzy, post: 919477, member: 236â]Its not that rugby is so annoying, its the people keep posting threads about how much they hate it on GAA boards. If you donât like it, why are you bothering talking about it? I donât like american football, but live and let live, I donât start threads about how much I hate it.
Fucking hell, enough already.[/QUOTE]
I have two issues with this.
Firstly, this is a stupid argument to make on a forum for two sub-reasons:
[LIST]
[]The essence of a forum is that people spout opinions. Have a go at what people post, but having a go at the fact that people had an opinion is odd.
[]It is of course an inescapable irony that you could of course have just ignored this thread and if you donât like this thread, why are you bothering talking about it etc. etc.
[/LIST]
Secondly, youâre missing the point that avoiding rugby isnât an option unless you want to avoid RTĂ on tv, avoid RTĂ, Newstalk and Today FM on radio, avoid reading any broadsheet newspaper and avoid talking to anybody in an office.
[QUOTE=âMac, post: 919507, member: 109â]If I thought youâd ever played sport before in your life, Iâd tell you to stop playing the man and play the ball but Iâd doubt youâd understand it. If its alright with you, Iâll not take on board the delirious ramblings of someone who felt the need to change their username multiple times and then went crying like a baby when he couldnât change it back.
Iâve too much to be doing to be seething about anything at the moment mate. Some of us donât let stupid things get to us. Anyway, Iâm sure youâll respond telling me Iâm seething or rattled or something similarly unoriginal.[/QUOTE]
I have tasted success at amateur football. Drop the facade about not caring about rugby. You cared enough to speak out against the rugby bashing, you bland cretin.
[QUOTE=âRocko, post: 919518, member: 1â]I have two issues with this.
[LIST]
[]The essence of a forum is that people spout opinions. Have a go at what people post, but having a go at the fact that people had an opinion is odd.
[]It is of course an inescapable irony that you could of course have just ignored this thread and if you donât like this thread, why are you bothering talking about it etc. etc.
[/LIST]
Secondly, youâre missing the point that avoiding rugby isnât an option unless you want to avoid RTĂ on tv, avoid RTĂ, Newstalk and Today FM on radio, avoid reading any broadsheet newspaper and avoid talking to anybody in an office.[/QUOTE]
To further add to your point, the comparison with American football is silly, as American football doesnât get the same coverage as rugby here. I think in a lot of cases, itâs as much, and if not more, outside factors which people find annoying and not the actual game itself.
[LIST]
[/LIST]
Secondly, youâre missing the point that avoiding rugby isnât an option unless you want to avoid RTĂ on tv, avoid RTĂ, Newstalk and Today FM on radio, avoid reading any broadsheet newspaper and avoid talking to anybody in an office.[/QUOTE]
An example. There were ads for Marian Finucanes weekend show on the radio this morning immediately before and immediately after the 8am news. Absolute Primetime for radio. The first ad featured a snippet of an interview with rugby referee Alain Rolland and the second a snippet of an interview with Eddie O Sullivan. Iâm not implying that RTE is ramming rugby down our throats but they seem to be of the view that rugby either is or should be of the utmost importance to its listeners
[LIST]
[/LIST]
Jess but Rockoâs made shite of ditzy here, heâll not be fit to even reply to that post.
Personally I donât mind rugby, but then again Iâd watch any sport. I do however have a problem with Irish rugby. Much as it might like to, rugby canât airbrush itâs past, from the IRFU regiment of the British Army, to the toasts to the King at rugby dinners in Dublin, to the laughable cessation of hostilities and forgiveness for Bloody Sunday in Croke Park in 2007, rugby has always been on the Royalist side in this country.
I was raised a republican. My grand uncle was interned in the Curragh by the British Army for chopping down trees for a road block ( the only time in his life he was ever outside the boundaries of County Carlow). His brother was an IRA intelligence officer in Borris. My grandfather was a renowned Irish Irelander. My uncle did time for gunrunning and my cousin was imprisoned on the word of a guard for IRA membership.
To me it would be treachery to my upbringing to feel the slightest hint of joy at any Irish rugby victory.
On my Facebook timeline:
The only sport that girls start bleating on about is rugby.
The only sport that lads who play it go on about it is rugby e.g. âsavage weights session 2nite, ready for Newbridge RFC on Saturday morningâ.
The only sport where men dress their infant children up in Leinster/Munster/Ireland jersies and post the photos to Facebook is rugby.
[QUOTE=âFitzy, post: 919477, member: 236â]Its not that rugby is so annoying, its the people keep posting threads about how much they hate it on GAA boards. If you donât like it, why are you bothering talking about it? I donât like american football, but live and let live, I donât start threads about how much I hate it.
Fucking hell, enough already.[/QUOTE]
This is the same type of rhetoric that Bertie Ahern used when he told people who correctly pointed out that the Celtic Tiger was a bubble to âgo and commit suicideâ.
This is the same type of rhetoric Martin Callinan used when he called Garda whistleblowers âdisgustingâ.
We must not stay silent. We must continue to blow the whistle on this corruption of the minds of our people.
[QUOTE=âThrawneen, post: 919554, member: 129â]On my Facebook timeline:
The only sport that girls start bleating on about is rugby.
The only sport that lads who play it go on about it is rugby e.g. âsavage weights session 2nite, ready for Newbridge RFC on Saturday morningâ.
The only sport where men dress their infant children up in Leinster/Munster/Ireland jersies and post the photos to Facebook is rugby.
Rugby is for imbeciles.[/QUOTE]
Going on your chatting in hotel rooms all day long while on stags and the above, your circle of friends seems odd.
Indeed, one of his previous facebook profile photos showed him dressed in his Ireland jersey holding a rugby trophy in one hand and a union jack in the other
I was about to reply to your list of how Irish rugby has panedered to royalism and the establishment with a few add-ons:
i) The IRFU flew the Butcherâs Apron at matches until the late 1920s.
ii) When Ireland beat England in 1964, prop forward Phil OâCallaghan (Dolphin) was dropped for the following match for singing rebel songs at the post-match dinner.
iii) Ireland continued to tour South Africa until 1981.
[QUOTE=âSidney, post: 919589, member: 183â]I was about to reply to your list of how Irish rugby has panedered to royalism and the establishment with a few add-ons:
i) The IRFU flew the Butcherâs Apron at matches until the late 1920s.
ii) When Ireland beat England in 1964, prop forward Phil OâCallaghan (Dolphin) was dropped for the following match for singing rebel songs at the post-match dinner.
iii) Ireland continued to tour South Africa until 1981.[/QUOTE]
The thrust of my post was that Irish rugby being an essentially royalist pursuit was treachery to the republican ideals which generations of my family have upheld steadfastly.
My grand-uncle did not risk his life in the GPO and then translate The Soldierâs Song so a bunch of toffee-nosed west-Brit cunts could wear a green jersey and sing Irelandâs Call in Croke Park.
And speaking of Croke Park, my great-grandfather (who was also in the GPO) helped a dying man on Bloody Sunday who had managed to stagger down the canal from Croke Park after being shot by the Brits.
My own grandfather wouldnât even have the Irish Times in the house, right up to his death, due to itâs political leanings at the time.
To the best of my knowledge, rugby has never ever been discussed, except to give it a snort of derision at any family gathering Iâve ever been at.