I remember you’d be leaving Dublin to drive back down the country and every night would be earmarked for a different session, sometimes at different ends of the country. Manic times and great aul craic. There was one Christmas myself and herself were absolutely laid waste to coming back to Dublin on a New Years eve, we were banjaxed after being on it every day since about the 20th and couldnt face going out. We lasted til about 9 o clock before we were sitting at the bar in the Lotts. It was a cold January.
I got to Christmas Eve at home one year. My sister dropped me into the local and she continued to visit her friend in the town. I had a pint and called her to ask me to pick me up when she was on her way back out home. I physically couldn’t do it.
I think there may well have been a Pogues gig the night before. In normal times there is not a chance that you would head back out on the session but that’s what the Christmas does.
Then crazy thoughts going through your head in early January. System is basically shot to pieces.
Thats exactly it. So many to see and meet, and when the alternative is to sit at home in yours or the future in laws, well you go when you can. I wouldnt change it, nor would I change now. Tis nice to have the home for people to come to and have a few slow ones. Its a young mans game. But I will say, and lads hate them, I’ve grown to love a Christmas Wedding. A great way to meet everyone especially if its a family one, and just a lovely blast of goodwill.
Anyway, I’m off for a few tonight and looking forward to them
You always struck me as the sort of fella who wore slip on shoes.
I’ve never experienced one but it has struck me as a great time for it on those days before NYE.
A couple of years we did a Porto small business christmas party. Basically getting a load of lads with small operations to go out togwther. Was great craic.
That’s a lovely made up story.
Did you have it in the social centre?
Will you give it the like there so?
Good man, you’d be dead 5 times over if that was true
No. The sands hotel usually. It wasn’t the wildest but a night of good craic and a heap of pints then a walk home. Sure thats it.
It probably isn’t in top condition as a result.
Rode a wan from the post room my first one. We were being put up Malahide Golf club I think it was. Another colleague passed out in the other bed. Never have experienced fear like it going into work the next Monday. Head down, do not look anyone in the eye.
Good times!!!
If you spent 110 quid say on pints at 6 quid each that’s 18 pints,
Bullshit.
When I started using cocaine, that’d be true. Except, I used it for 13yrs, and intermittently six days a week, and the tolerance levels rise over time. In the end, the tolerance levels started to freefall back towards where they were when I started using the drug because my system was rallied and weakened by it, but my addiction craved the same amount, and this began resulting in hospitalisations, with one particular incident resulting in an intensive care stay. Little do people realise when they snort a few lines in a pub toilet, that there lies a possibility that this is where it could end up.
Is that really true though? I’d never actually seen coke in all my years of nights out up until this summer just gone when one lad had a bag on show at the Monday Club after a championship game. He was anything but alert. Had the opposite of a sobering effect. He was in a state. A guard (off-work) in the vicinity too. It certainly appears to lower inhibitions anyway.
That’s an insane amount. I wouldn’t have thought it possible to even get all that into you. Sounds like you’re lucky to be alive.
Well, in Ireland the purity levels of cocaine would make it possible with high tolerance. It probably wouldn’t be possible in South, or even North America.
I’ve only been offered it twice in my life, both times by people I didn’t know but ended up sharing Taxi’s with. I politely declined on both occasions.
Nobody who knows me has ever offered it to me (as they probably know what I would say to them) and I’ve never actually seen anyone I know taking it.
I’d be sharp enough on most things but would be very naive on the behavioral etiquette of Cocaine users. Apparently some people can know if someone is on it by their eyes rolling, but I wouldn’t have a clue how to see that.
My only sense of someone being on it, is if they are wearing a 1992 AC Milan Kit with sunglasses.
Would have thought your nose and sinuses would have long closed up?