People are still dying mate. I blame the unvaccinatedâŚand Donald Trump of course
Deaths & Vindications arenât a win buddy
I believe the point glenshane and batigol are making is that the way covid is being treated now - take personal responsibility, dont visit elderly relatives if you have it etc is what we always should have done. Theyâre also pointing out that everyone now is more or less unvaccinated as we havenât had our boosters and it must have worn off yet there is no one being kept out of pubs etc as itâs obvious that that is pointless (and always was pointless) because the vaccine doesnât stop transmission. They are more or less saying âi told you soâ and itâs hard to argue with them.
What about the Virus weakening?
Iâm choose not to inconvenience my elderly in laws by bringing a virus into their house, there was a time not so long ago when it was potentially more serious than that
I think it would still have a good chance of killing older people or making them very seriously ill if they werenât vaccinated wouldnât it?
In all fairness, there is a lot of people who got the first 2 doses before realising the vaccine was a complete Cod. Myself included. Trackie just said he has covid, nothing to do with the vaccine working or not. Get well soon trackie. Hopefully your not feeling any effects
Will you just go over. Theyâll be grand. If theyâre not grand shure theyâre old anyway. I think thatâs how it goesâŚ
Itâs hard to know where to begin here.
I presume thatâs because they are vaccinated though. The vaccine was a game changer among older people who were more or less the only people (statistically) in danger from covid anyway. Although thatâs not the way it was treated long after this was fairly clear.
I think what I said is the point the lads are trying to make. I canât be sure though as theyâre being kind of passive aggressive and cryptic.
Start with the boosters and the efficacy wearing off bit.
Then deal with the vaccine not stopping transmission and the pointlessness of covid passes for entry to pubs and restaurants
How about start with the pointlessness of you still stuck having the same arguments from two years ago?
Itâs been known for a very long time that the vaccine didnât prevent transmission, though I believe it did have some success in doing so, (did it reduce the viral load or something, Iâm really cluelessđ)
But itâs a very different virus weâre dealing with now, a significantly less dangerous version of what we had at various points,
Anyway, Iâm ill, bad form that people are having a go at me for it
As I said, anytime would be inconvenient for my in laws to be hit with an illness
I never really initially had the argument and Iâm not really interested in having it now but I just think itâs fair for the lads to say I told you so as in hindsight they were proved right. As I think I said before the authorities got it wrong, they erred on the side of caution and I donât blame them for doing that but they may as well admit they were wrong.
That ignores the massive changes that have happened, itâs completely stupid. Iâve often said a lot of the measures here were complete nonsense, but so is the stuff yeâre still going on with now.
Utter rubbish. Whatever about illness, I never fail to be amazed by Covidâ-prompted inanity. As I said here recently: the rains of 2022 did not cause the floods of 2020. Put another way: Marquinhos will likely score a penalty at some point in the future. But that conversion will not retroactively delete yesterdayâs miss. You would want to be grievously obtuse not to grasp this straightforward point.
Here is what happened, as pretty much happens with all viruses. A more infectious but far.less lethal strain emerged. This eminently.predictable scenario â oddly lost on the University of Twitter doctoral.candidates in Covid Studies â happened in tandem with vaccines. By the way, no.vaccine in history has ensured 100% avoidance.of transmissibility/infection. Only inverted utopians deem.a vaccine âuselessâ if it is less than 100% effective. The perspective of inverted utopians is entirely irrelevant. The reality is that vaccines, with their ability in particular to reduce viral load, have allowed society to resume something approaching normal operations. People are entitled to be wary of the vaccine, if such is their perspective. But for the moment there is no doubt that the vaccines, in pragmatic terms, are a great success.
@Batigol and @glenshane got roundly trounced here on the subject not long ago. Neither man has any credibility on the subject. Their position â âEveryone should have been allowed to get Covidâ â is beneath scorn. No amount of guff about Sweden or wherever will alter this reality.
Covid is over. Time to move on. Certain people need to accept they were wrong â badly wrong.
Thatâs a strange angle to take. It was the biggest news story of any of our life times and happened very recently. I donât think itâs that strange to be discussing the ins and outs of it! Thereâs a whole thread on the civil war
Certain lads want to censor any discussionâŚno surprise, they were all for censoring, sacking and cancelling anyone who strayed from the official line throughout.
Good to see you back @Malarkey .
Youâve misrepresented me on this many times despite being corrected. Iâll not be responding to you anymore on this or any other topic.