Galway have had a procession of shite goalkeepers over the last twenty years. Martin Comerford is some cunt though, arguing with the ref and umpires and then laughing away while the Galway backs were trying to stop Skehill swallowing his tongue. Then again he’s always been a prick so it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise.
yeah i saw that allright on the online player tonite.
I find it hard to dislike any amateur sportsmen, in the modern era i know Tommy Walsh**, Deirdre Og Cusack, Colin Lynch, Sully, Carey, John Leahy, Brian Lohan, John Power, John Gardiner** Liam Dunne**. Larry O Gorman et al have been wankers when they wanted to be but they have given me great entertainment and the game would have lost a lot of its value had they not been who they are and the controvesy that they bring with them.
in the eighties i could add hartnett, lynskey, Fox and many more, however all these lads were honest players who gave as good as they got.
the same i cannot say of Comerford, a thoroughly dislikeable sneaky sort, maybe its that nickaname Gorta, the horrible drawl he has on him, the awful walk, the sneaky belts, continual mouthing, playacting , i dont know, he is a downright horrible cunt.
**three suspect fuckers to be honest, all great players but all 3 have a horrendus sneaky element running thru them that borders on being dirty, ill remember Dunne for being a dirty cunt, i hope i remember Walsh and Gardiner for their stickwork but im not convinced i will
You know fuck all about Martin Comerford or any of the other hurlers you mention on your list of disapproval either,almost everybody you name there has been a legend of hurling and ive enjoyed watching them all play,Pat Fox was a genius,Lynskeys toughness was to be admired,John Leahy,Lohan,Lynch and Dunne gave great service,Carey never pulled a ditry stroke in his life,took a few alright,Larry O Gorman lit up Croke Park many times scoring goals and clearing balls,he was unique.
Hurling is a tough physical sport and while we mightnt like it when one of ours gets a belt nobodys carrying baggage around over it,you know fuck all about hurling on the evidence of this post,you belong with the English soccer brigade of analysing every little push and shove for half an hour.I know Martin Comerford to be a decent alright sort,id be confident that he didnt realise the seriousness of the situation with James Skehill,nobody would laugh at a fella in trouble like that,come off it for fuck sake.
I wonder will any of them remember you mickee? Somehow I doubt it…
Outstanding
If the Halvey case has taught us anything, it’s that drink drivers and their associates are despicable judges of character. I don’t expect you to tell the truth, but for the benefit of the wider sporting world I’ve provided graphic evidence of Comerford’s sickening behaviour.
1 - Having seen the Galway players frantically waving to the line and rolling Skehill onto his side, Comerford looks on with a big grin on his face
2 -
Now a full twenty seconds after the incident occurred, he goes back to argue with the referee a second time. The medical staff are working on the unconscious Jamie Skehill three feet away from him.
http://i746.photobucket.com/albums/xx101/watchthebreak/comerford2.jpg?t=1269863061
3 -
Having failed to persuade the referee to change his mind, Comerford strolls back out the field laughing away to himself.
No other Kilkenny player behaved in this way, just Comerford. The full clip is available on YouTube but you have to sign in to be allowed to view it.
Comerford’s an awful little coward alright, conclusive evidence from WTB.
Cheers for the evidence Matlock. If you want to look back at the replay of the incident at 7 minutes, you will see the keeper move his arm towards his head right after falling to the ground. Clearly he was not unconscious but rather embarassed at having screwed up in possession for the second time in the game and hoping for a free out (which it was in any case). Gorta recognised this as he has been prone to some playacting in his time as well. Fogarty also questioned the referee if you look at the footage.
You may go back to the anti Kilkenny football thread, you were making some good points on that one.
What a truly despicable reaction. That’s like something an Israeli army spokesman would come out with after they shot a few more children. The medical team at the ground said that the player was unconscious. That’s why he was rolled onto his side. That’s why the ambulance took him away. To suggest otherwise is a disgrace.
Where did you see that the medical team said that out of interest? All I saw was that he was brought away as a precautionary measure. Which is understandable when a guy has a fall like that.
Whatever Gorta was laughing at, I’m sure he wouldn’t laugh at a fellow hurler sustaining a serious injury. As pointed out, he wasn’t the only one arguing with the ref over the decision and I think his laughter was aimed at the ref and the decision. Players laugh at refs calls frequently. I know I did when I used to play anyway.
I’m also fairly sure you’re on the hop here with this issue. Hows your effort at this going on KKcats?
A fall.
You’re some prick. I haven’t seen one other person today suggest that Skehill was ‘play acting’ like you have. But rather than admit that Comerford was wrong you’d rather say the guy who was injured was just pretending to be hurt. I don’t know what the standards of sportsmanship are like where you come from, but that shit is unacceptable anywhere else. You’re trying to say that Comerford saw Skehill collapse on the ground, saw the Galway players frantically calling for medical attention, saw them roll the player onto his side, and assumed that Skehill was putting on an act??
In that case he’s either an imbecile or a cunt. You decide.
you sir, are an idiot.
And I haven’t seen one person aside from yourself suggest that Gorta was laughing at what looked at the time a very serious injury. I will admit that my language was way out of line, but the notion that a player would laugh at another players injury is as ridiculous as to say that Skehill wasn’t injured yesterday. I thought you’d recognise a ball hop when you saw one.
Are you fucking retarded? What a fucking despicable comment. COTY territory.
Ahem…Limerick player…cracked skull…etc
In fairness to Turenne, he did say afterwards it was intended as a WUM, admitted it was in bad taste and apologised. Case closed as far as i’m concerned…
thats an outrageous and scurrilous comment.
Comerford is neither of the above.
You’d want to have a long hard look at yourself Welch before you come on posting here again, you’ve clearly never been to a hurling match in your life.
good post from the castlemartyr man