First half was poor ā crowd were quiet as a result and plenty of mistakes. Second half picked up a bit but the standard of football was average enough - A tight finish with plenty of drama but it was actually a very average gameā¦ I was chatting to two inter county players this morning who thought it was bad to average at best and itās hard to argue with that ā¦ think there was nearly 8000 fisty passes also.
Thatās true mate. Only my opinion but i really think mayo will come back next year. Why wonāt they.
I said all season that only Dublin or Kerry were good enough to eliminate them and I think it will be the same next year.
It will be one of the big 3 again next year. And as I said at the start of this summer, the Ulster championship will be hugely competitive but they wonāt have any contenders for Sam
Doesnāt matter a shit, Dean Rock, Maurice Fitz, Colin Corkery, Brian Stafford etc etc would have put it over the black spot, for a kick from the sideline youād be aiming for the far post and curling it back in, too much can go wrong out of the hands, bad choice.
@Nembo_Kid he does usually kick from the hands but not always
Kerry looked desperate this year.
Oh the Green and Red of Mayo
So the problem here was Cillian O Connor isnt Dean Rock, Maurice Fitz, Colin Corkery, Brian Stafford.
Funny how you forget Dean Rock shitting a '45 in the first half. But hey, narrative.
Tell them they havenāt a clue.
God helāpus
Peter The Great nailed one from a similar position in the 05 semi against Armagh in injury time to win the game. Out of the hands too.
Even going back over it, but fucking hell, Mayo must be doomed to never win an AI final again. Dublin player about to be sent off and Vaughan comes in like a fucking idiot and gets himself sent off. Best goal chance of the match and poor shot hit easily saved. O Connor missing handy free in front of the goal, and then in injury time to go ahead, misses a free. The dropped shots, the turnovers, everything. They finally properly got the better of Dublin, but still managed to fuck it up and lose.
Whilst people may say Dublins bench was better, and it was, O Gara should not have been starting and if he was on the bench, he wouldnt have been thought of as a better player to bring on. The fact that they could start him, get to half time only a point down and then be able to bring on the cavalry made a big difference. Connolly very influential when he came on and kicked a great point. Who knows, but this year could be the makings of him if he cuts out the shite out of his game. Probably the best footballer in the country but just gets hot headed.
I dont see Mayo as strong next year. A year older and they dont seem to have much coming through. Dublin have a lot of young players establishing themselves on the team. I can see them getting stronger. Kerry should come on a bit for next year, but they have a transition period too they have to go through so might be a year too early for them. There is fuck all outside of those 3 to consider though.
Theyāll start to see the introduction of their 4 in a row minors now though. Jack OāConnor will be back in the hot seat shortly as well.
If thereās anything Jack likes, its a hot seat. Preferably of a recent vintage.
You were too caught up in the emotion of it all mate - As a casual observer of football I didnāt get caught up in the same way and was able to fully and honestly appraise the game.
Chortle. Rockās free was fairly straight forward for a right footed kicker too.
Gavin would have been pilloried had Dublin lost. Terrible selection decisions.
Jim McGuinness was right.
Whatevs.
Of course it was. Lads do be hilarious when it comes to this shit. Cillian O Connor will be pilloried for a lot of things, but the narrative already building up around that free is gas. The one in the first half is the one he should be crucified for. There was 6 minutes left when that free hit the post.
Watch it back ā youāll agree with me ā
Dublin are the champions but Mayo were the team of the championship,for all the miserable cunts here who slated Mayo for whatever reason and took delight in their defeat it was Mayo who made this football year so brilliant at times. The Galway game with 14 men,the Derry game in extra time,the Cork game in extra time,the first Roscommon game,both Kerry games and the final against Dublin where only Mayo could have went toe to toe with an outstanding side and come up just short again.Stephen Cluxton straight away in his speech mentioned the huge respect the Dublin team have for their Mayo counterparts and you could see he was genuine rather than the usual patronising shite we hear in presentations.
āThere are no great men, only great challenges that ordinary men are forced by circumstances to meet.ā
Mayos day will come maybe next year maybe in another 66 years but only the most bitter would begrudge them.
Fuck Mayo.