2018 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

Yep that worked out well for Garth Brookes.

Garth woulda been grand if it wasnā€™t for you fucking Dubs.

and how many times have Dublin brought 50k plus attendances to Croke park prior to the Leinster final? Because thats the main funds for the Leinster counties from games within the Leinster championship. The hurling and football finals brought in nearly the same amount of money last year.

Itā€™s obvious that the GGA have starved Dublin of funds so that they can force them to play at neutral venues like Croke Park.

If Dublin had a 40,000 stadium it could use, Croke Park would be used about 8 times a year and turn to rust.

The Muldoons are emboldened by Kildare last week and now want to cut their nose off to spite their face. Let them play the game in Clones, the GGA will lose out on a fortune and Dublin will win anyway.

How fucking old are you?

So what. Is it a competition or a fund raising enterprise? If the gaa follow your logic, and they seem to, then they have a huge interest in their fund generators being competitive longer than other counties. So the body that gives funds, appoints referees, sets venues need one team above all others to do well. And you fail to see an issue?

Is this the lad you were gonna fight in a public park, 3 years ago? Or am I mixing him up with someone?

No - that was @The_Most_Infamous who shit himself and never turned up.

No they donā€™t whether Dublin do well or not they are still bringing a big crowd. Actually attendances were higher between 1995 and 2013 than they are now and we were shit. The issue is that GAA folk want everything, they want all the clubs to have great facilities and all counties to be competitive. To do that you need money and you are not going to make money on games unless Dublin are involved its a simple as that. If Dublin are the only county that can 3 quarters fill Croke Park on match days. Look at the leinster final on Sunday what was there 40,000 or there abouts. You ainā€™t going to fund anything on full houses for 4 All Semi Finals and 2 All Ireland finals. So either you want the facilities in the clubs and countys or you donā€™t and if you donā€™t then grand fix Dublin to play games in 15,000 capacity grounds and take the losses.

I bet you would be back on here crying about how the clubs are falling apart and memberships are dropping because the GAA have cut the funding.

I imagine a lot of NFL stadia arent used much more than thisā€¦ if the dubs dont use it as a home venue thereā€™s more scope for other eventsā€¦win win for the GAA

What other events? Itā€™s only allowed host a few concerts a year and the bigoted dinosaurs that run the GGA donā€™t want other sports being played there.

So what other events exactly do you see filling Croker and making it viable?

I do have a big problem with the sponsorship money being received by Dublin. You speak of all the natural factors at their disposal including the huge population but I donā€™t think you can call the sponsorship from AIG in particular a ā€˜natural factorā€™. AIG is one of the largest insurance companies in the world and they rightfully see the Dublin brand as the Irish brand they wish to align to, and that includes the population to which they will appeal by sponsoring them. That would all be ok of course if we are not running a amateur organisation but we are. It is simply not fair to suggest that there should be unlimited financial support available for sponsorship in what is an amateur organisation whose ethos is meant to support communities first and foremost all around the country. The amount available to counties through external sponsorship should be capped with the excess going to the same pot which the GAA divvy out.

I agree completely though about the smaller counties not getting their act together, then throwing their hands up in the air and adopting a ā€˜poor meā€™ type mentality. You only have to look at the likes of Monaghan and Fermanagh, even Longford footballers , as to how low populated counties can compete. Of course, like all sports, the success of teams is cyclical but the so called power of Dublin shouldnā€™t be an excuse for other counties not to bother their arse promoting the games within their county. Dublin have done an excellent job of this to be fair.

I heard from a Leitrim hurler a few years back that there was loads of money flowing from the GAA to them and other small hurling counties. I am not sure if it was a stupid decision to spend money there or where it was pissed away as you said, but the money was there.

Iā€™m not sure what you are arguing here Taz. Clubs dont get funding from Croke Park. Some clubs will go looking for grant or development money, but the majority of that is not through the GAA coffers. And even at that, what Dublin clubs get is massive in proportion to other counties too. And why are you cherry picking 15,000 stadiums? There are plenty of other grounds that can hold Dublin games prior to Leinster finals. And with additional super 8 games, everything after the quarters is then in bonus territory on previous years anyway. Dublin already have plenty of advantages, there is no need for the GAA to keep giving them even more.

Taz hasnt been to a Dublin match is his life mate, youā€™re wasting you time.

Ok I will up it to 27,000 because that is the highest capacity there is in Leinster outside of Croke Park. If Dublin play there that will see a 50% reduction in revenue for each game, it would also mean that Dublin would not be playing any games in Dublin either in Parnell Park or Croke Park.

I agree with you on that, AIG have aligned themselves with the best possible market though. What other team sponsorship could they get where 20% of the population is in the heartland of that one team. Look at their other team sponsorships, the All Blacks and Man Utd. That in itself tells you enough. Again, its not Dublins fault, they can get that, but it creates a huge disparity. Fair fucks to Dublin for getting it, but it doesnt sit right.

In fairnes to that Money that Offaly pissed away on the hurling fund, it was ā‚¬40k per year they were getting. Dublin previously were getting this hurling fund that was ā‚¬1m per year.

Itā€™s hard for other counties to just say get better. Plenty of lads couldnt be bothered with the time and effort that goes into playing intercounty these days with fuck all out of it only hardship. There is definitely a case of counties making a fuck of things alright, but not always as simple as that.

There was 41k at the leinster football final, involving dublinā€¦ You havenā€™t offered any counter argument. You are simply saying the system is unfair but so what, do ye want money or not? And you are ignoring that while dublin creates funding it receives a far bigger amount than anyone else

Aidan Walsh dropped for Cork against Tyrone.

How is it a 50% reduction? If they played the semi final to a full house in Portlaoise it would have lost ā‚¬90k on what it made in Croke Park. Plus it would have cost less to open Portlaoise than Croke Park, so the overall loss wouldnt have been huge. Iā€™m only talking Leinster games here too, because thats where the money comes back. Most quarters are already on in Croke Park anyway and as I already mentioned, the super 8 series is a bonus one way or another from other years too.

I wouldnā€™t necessarily give them any praise. The population was a huge part of it.

I agree - the whole things needs to be looked in context with regard to smaller counties. Leitrim didnā€™t have a bad year this year but I would say about 20% of those players will not be there next year. The commitment required is frankly ridiculous and I have the utmost of respect for those players who committed for this year. I also cannot blame those who walk away for a second. We have completely lost the run of ourselves - it is not as if GAA is marketable to any great extent outside of Ireland.