Photoshop
Oooooffft. The Dublin haters wonât like this one.
The PR machine continues to churn out the propaganda. Its almost admirable how much they believe their own guff. Dublin GAA arent unlike Trump in that regard.
Dublin GAA produces facts.
The haters produce âalternative factsâ.
Much like Trump, the Dublin PR machine will have its sycophants who will defend its every more, despite the obvious insanity therein. Its fascinating to watch.
Brilliant article by the great Roy Curtis here.
Dublin have the moronic haters hopping like sausages in a frying pan.
Curtis is some gobshite.
Great article, the haters wonât like reading that.
Iâm not sure who went at Dublin in the comparison of catering and expenses on match day. I get the catering one, the talk of deliveries to players houses etc, but I doubt anyone thought that was free. I dont get the expenses claim or why some are outraged or it needed clearing up?
Anyway, by far the biggest expenditure teams have, outside of Dublin, is travel. The oft quoted âMayo spent moreâ factors in that of Mayos entire expenditure, 33% is on travel costs of players. I dont know Dublins costs on this so cant compare, but if it was over âŹ500k too, Iâd be shocked. Its a huge cost to many counties that Dublin dont have. Not their fault, they cant make people work in their home counties or anything, but its still an advantage whether or not they want to keep their head in the sand about.
Heâs a Class A simpleton, heâd fit in well at a Trump rally.
Shurrup will ya youse are only gel-us
(it is amazing reading the replies to ewan and Parkinson how utterly stupid the great unwashed dub is, insularity? Smog? Obsession with the mindlessness of english soccer? Who knows the cause)
yeah it seems the latest is the rehash of how hard these poor unfortunates have worked to get where they are, that the money didnt make them work hard. Of course it didnt. But the money paid for the full time coaches in their clubs. It paid for the full time coaches in their schools. It paid for the expenses and ample amount of playing gear they received. It paid for the facilities in their clubs that counties would dream of.
Dublin GAA, and more importantly, their clubs got their act together. Hugely. Club set ups for a vast amount of the âsuper clubsâ are better run than many counties. The funds they raise and the capabilities of having full time coaches and great set ups is brilliant. Lots of hard work done. And this helps the overall county set up as a result then. Its great work by Dublin, but the funding thrown into it is massive and has had a huge positive effect. Is it to the detriment of other places? Probably, the stats will show (refuted by @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy obviously) that investment in fistball and spud hockey has seen far more kids play it in the last number of years. a success to get more kids active. It has then contributed to Dublin GAA and its success.
Yep that encapsulates the effect its had. Surely the natural progression would be to divide dublin itto three or four, establish new clubs throughout the city to feed into these. Would melbourne be happy with one afl club?
Pie in the sky stuff here, hilarious.
Ive said it before on here, but the old formation of the parish/county set up for GAA is awful. If you were to start a new competition, youâd be laughed at if you went for a 32 team set up with such disparity between population and finances. I dont think there is any solution to it, bar tearing up the whole set up and having regionalised areas forming maybe 8 teams or something. Dublin are too big and some counties are too small.
In an era where marginal gains were minimal effect from 20 odd years ago to the past it was negligible. But now you see the hurling counties at the top have surged way ahead. It wasnt long ago that Waterford were in Division 3 of the league playing Roscommon and Mayo. Or Meath beating Wexford in the league in the early 90s. Laois being competitive in Leinster. Antrim too. Once the advances in training and analysis came in to more of an effect, they smaller counties efforts become dwarfed. It was possible to be shite but still competitive in hurling and football when you didnt need elite fitness (ie not smoking at half time). Now, you will never get a weak side putting up to an elite one to any real degree.
The split Dublin conversation can only happen if the GAA are going to look all counties with a view to splitting or in some case amalgamating them depending on their needs. Galway footballers for example could badly do with amalgamating with Mayo. Firstly it would mean they might develop the necessary backbone to play against the Super Dubs without shiteimg their togs. Secondly it would mean they would have some actual supporters at matches. A win win so to speak
A combined Galway-Mayo team (you could call it Galwayo or Mayway), with everybody fit, looks very strong on paper.
David Clarke
Brendan Harrison
Keith Higgins
Chris Barrett
Lee Keegan
Colm Boyle
Patrick Durcan
Tom Parsons
Seamus OâShea
Kevin McLoughlin
Aidan OâShea
Diarmuid OâConnor
Jason Doherty
Damien Comer
Andy Moran
But if you lose the attachment to a particular area then you lose the whole base of the gaa, and the affinity to, and willingness to contribute to, a club or county. You have irish soccer in other words, a bad joke.
But yes the advent of professionalism evidenced by dublins bought titles (clear when you compare the lack of success before the financial input) has changed the nature of the whole sport. Maybe to the extent that the gaa will set off what they feared most, loss of players to other better organised, fairer sports, where the governing body doesnt decide it will do everything in its power to make one team win
Iâd be happy for Wexford to be pitched in with a Rest of Leinster collective (âROFLâ) and I accept we may not even have representation on the team. This side should play out of St Conlethâs Park - there was a great atmosphere there for the Kildare-Mayo game this summer and I think that could be replicated in a ROFL-Mayway/Galwayo clash.
Boom Boom let me hear you say Galwayo!