Yeah. Picking a hurler of the year, three time all star, and two time motm in all Ireland finals is a bizarre take alright.

Favourite player though?
I suppose you think he should have picked Noel McGrath?
He should have picked a hurler anyway.
Name one current Tipperary player with as much hurling as Hego.
I wonât waste my time.
I rest my case.
Tommy sees a lot of himself in Hego and a few more of the Limericks. Itâs amusing
Winners all
Definitely plays on the edge like Tommy.
Noel McGrath, Jake Morris, Jason Forde, Ronan Maher, Bryan OâMara, Cathal Barrett. Club players Bubbles and Brendan Maher also.
Hego is a better player per se but other than that flick he does off the ground his hurling is fairly average. His left hand side is very very poor. Its the fact he is 6â5" and can cover 12km a game joined together with his decent right hand side that makes him so effective.
Finn, Quaid, Gillane, Hannon, Tom Morrisey, DOD, Casey, CON are all far more skilful than Hego.
Lol
You were on about actual âhurlingâ. Hego is at best 9th more skilful player on that Limerick panel.
Subs Reidy, Adam English, SOB are definitely more skilful.
Much maligned club player Ronan Lynch also.
Hegoâs first touch is outrageous.
I wouldnât see it as a surprise that heâd be somebodyâs favourite player. He combines huge skill with ballwinning ability, work rate as well as standing up in big moments. That makes him stand out from the crowd.
I would say my favourite non-Limerick player to watch is Daithi Burke. A warrior. His striking wouldnât always be the best but heâs some player.
His first touch has been brutal this year from what Ive seen, maybe so in the past.
Whilst on the topic, Lynch and Byrnes are also more skilful.
The facts suggest otherwise, see goals in 2021 AIF and 2022 MF
They were scored from about 10 yards out. Tbf to him, he is very good at using the side spin drop shot off his right to make up for this inadequacy.
Ye Tipp lads are obsessed with striking as if itâs the only skill in the game.
Ronan Lynch is nowhere near as skilful as Hego; thatâs actually a laughable comment. Go watch Limerick train and see the speed of Hegoâs hurling; itâs way beyond most of those other players you mention.
Lynch, Hannon, Nash, DOD- maybe fair enough. But, as of now, heâs still way beyond the likes of SOB and the other subs.
Of course we are obsessed with striking, that is the primary skill in the game. I accept your point it is this view that is probably doing more damage than good in the current game. This may turn again.
Aesthetically speaking, he is not a player I would go to watch. English, CON & even SOB are far more easy on the eye.