Ah stop ![]()
I’ve said enough… some lads need to look in the mirror occasionally
Mayo in another AI Final and we all know what’s coming for the cunts ![]()
FUCK MAYO ![]()
You’re appearing however inadvertently to be taking it serious
The atmosphere was very poor for an All-Ireland semi-final. To be fair that was probably determined to a large part by the frequently turgid nature of the play which is determined to a large part by the turgid Brexit rules.
Twas a lot better than pretty much any semi final atmosphere from 2017-2024.
Every kickout, every shot, random bits of movement had the crowd at fever pitch
The atmosphere at the 2021 semi-final between Dublin and Mayo was far better.
That was game was in August though and played under proper rules.
![]()
I actually don’t even think it was, despite the fact it was the game that took down the greatest team of all time against all the odds. The fact this game and this game only is used as the comparison is testament to the new guard
The 2021 semi-final had a Covid-restricted attendance of 24,000. That it had a better atmosphere than a Brexit rules game with 82,000 says it all.
Dublin v Mayo 2019 was a great atmosphere too.
Dublin’s surge in the third quarter was the best 15 minutes of football ever played. The blue wave was just irresistable.
Yesterday’s atmosphere mirrored the game itself - watery.
It had more drama in the game for sure. Just like 2022 Dublin Kerry. However not an overall better atmosphere IMO. We won’t agree on that anyway.
Under the old rules, in your wildest dreams would you have gotten the occasions of Louth v Armagh, Roscommon v Mayo, Monaghan v Derry, Louth v Monaghan.
The atmosphere yesterday was the atmosphere of an optional summer entertainment event where most of the crowd are not heavily invested in the outcome and are more interested in where’s the pints?
As I was queueing to get into the jacks on the overcrowded concourse of the upper Hogan at half time I overheard a man in front of me who I’d estimate was about 70 years young who had no doubt seen it all over the years. He castigated the standard of the game and the Brexit rules to his co-attendee who was also in the queue. “That’s not football, it’s throwball, it’s desperate.” I could only nod away sagely.
The new rules were great and the old rules were shite. The people who predicted they would not be great are WRONG
You can keep desperately repeating the same line as many times as you like but it won’t make it true.
Any stats on the amount of hand passing and kick passing under the old rules versus the new? I’d say there’s a lot more kicking now.
I’ll be honest- this had me laughing out loud
Ah look its a pity what they’ve done to it but you are correct that no one really cares as much anymore.
Its light entertainment instead of serious sport and integrity. All those games mentioned previously like 2019 and even 2021 felt like proper big time sporting occasions.
If Dublin or anyone else were robbed a few years ago, the way they were robbed yesterday, there’d be blue murder, but now its just a case of shrug your shoulders and say ‘the lads were unlucky today, weren’t they’ and move along.
The new version of the game is certainly better but there’s something not right whereby a team can keep the ball so easily for 2/3 mins at a time. There will come a go that a team will keep a ball for up to 10 mins in a game which will make Twitter and cause outrage.
A very simple alteration that could and should have been made whether it’s 15 or 11v11 is you can’t go back court. This would mean that a team like Dublin would be rewarded if they could pressure Clifford to go backwards. The worst case scenario is that it would force him to go forwards often with a kick pass into a contest which would lead to a quicker phase and more turnovers which is what the crowd want to see.
This is the reaction too. Nobody was overly bothered even though Dublin were absolutely screwed by the WWF style officiating. Some people were even secretly happy enough to avoid the hassle of hunting for tickets for an All-Ireland final.
Teams used to be holding onto the ball for ages under the old rules too