A Marathon for a great cause

Congratulations to all. Great achievement.
I ran it myself this morning during a brief mid morning snooze on the couch. A PB and no aches TG. Itā€™s as close as Iā€™ll ever get to it.

@Mac is punching

4:33

27 Likes

Well done

I knew from very early on it was going to be a tough day. The effort felt way harder than it should have even before 10k. Hard to know why but no hiding place in a marathon. Pace dropped from 17k on and was certain I was going to cramp and have to walk. Bumped into a friend from home at 30k and somehow we managed to keep going without stopping. Thatā€™s my 6th Dublin and apart from my first one itā€™s never went to plan. The weather was OK but think humidity meant a lot seemed to struggle.
Fair play to everyone that ran @backinatracksuit @Bandage @Mac @Rintintin and great to see so much collected for a very worthwhile charity.

26 Likes

Well fucking done lads. Fuck @thedancingbaby. A marathon is some achievement. Proud of you all. And mrs @Mac

Im gutted for you.

I get over these things quick. There was a guy at the UCD flyover in a bad way but think he came around. It puts things in perspective.

There was a lad having a wild seizure near howl at the moon. The medics looked fierce worried.

well done to ye all, fair effort. Sometimes this place does have positive vibes through it, this is one of those rare occasions!

I passed a lad before RTƉ and they had the defib on him, hope heā€™s okay

Hopefully everyone makes it home. Itā€™s really frightening when you see it.
Did you head for a pint after? I had 2 in Kennedys but my stomach was in a knot so headed home. Got a bit of stew into me and perked up. Will meet up with the lads from the club later for pints.

There was a lot of people suffering very early on o thought. Saw a girl in a very bad way by pheonix park. And was countless ppl walking by half way. I struggled the last 2 miles myself . Probably bad a min or 2 more in me but Iā€™m delighted with the time .

Congratulations to yourself on a great run and to all the TFK lads who ran it I donā€™t care what anyone says when things go wrong tis a lonely road but they are the times that we learn and finishing one is a huge achievement . I returned to the forum for the running thread only really and itā€™s been a great place to frequent. Fair play on the money raised for charity .

26 Likes

Well done to all the runners. I always feel a bit jealous and tempted to give it another go when I read the stories. Thereā€™s nothing quite like the feeling of crossing the line at the end of the 26.2. Itā€™s 8 years since I last did one and wonā€™t be doing anymore.

Completing a marathon is a fantastic achievement.

Over 4k raised by the two boys for the official TFK charity partner. Fair play boys. And a good chunk of it from here too I reckon. Hail hail.

I didnā€™t. Waited for a few others to finish in the baggage area. Iā€™ll sink a few tonight though.

I passed Billy Harper in the Phoenix Park. Heā€™s some boyo

I really donā€™t know how he does it. I think heā€™s 78 and looks torture for him. Pure stubborness because heā€™s ran every one.

Signing in. Just finished.

Well done @Wexford1996, @Rintintin, @Mac, @backinatracksuit, @Locke, and especially @thedancingbaby for the walk.

As an aside, I did an awful lot of walking today too. I knew I was in trouble very, very early on but tried not to panic and work my way into it. But I was goosed after 1/3 and my body wasnā€™t listening to my mind telling me to just keep going.

Sweats, cramps, the whole shebang. I ran/walked from then on tbh. Thanks to @Mac for checking if I was okay as he cruised effortlessly past me somewhere around Crumlin! Iā€™d say nerves got the better of me but a positive covid test or something would be a real ego boost.

I wonder if itā€™s like having a baby? Will I forgot about how awful it was in a few months and decide to go again? I dunno right now.

But well done again boys and thanks to everyone for the massive fundraising support - I know the charity folk are absolutely delighted. Thanks @fenwaypark for getting me to the starting line in good shape, Iā€™m just disappointed it didnā€™t go as well as we wanted.

50 Likes

Im expecting you to scope badly.

well done

probably tougher doing it your way