Advice on living in Dublin (ie. don't)

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892427, member: 273”]No, the right airline is the key. There are certain dogs that can cost you a fortune. Australia is on the good list. It won’t be cheap, but 3k is either a fool, a lie or a huge dog. My information is if you get your paperwork right before you leave Oz you’ll collect him after your bags. Especially if you come thru UK, that makes it even easier.

Coming back into Oz is also now a lot easier. Against the trend in making it hard for you to do anything here they have eased off on incoming pets. This must be in conjunction with the new White Australia policy (Brits only) they have started.

You have to laugh at the scare mongering. Some lads would love it to be a nightmare to move home. Dick heads.[/quote]

Jaysus. You ask for advice about moving to Dublin, we take time out to give it to you, then you call us dick heads.

I hope your mutt gets rabies you ungrateful cunt.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892427, member: 273”]No, the right airline is the key. There are certain dogs that can cost you a fortune. Australia is on the good list. It won’t be cheap, but 3k is either a fool, a lie or a huge dog. My information is if you get your paperwork right before you leave Oz you’ll collect him after your bags. Especially if you come thru UK, that makes it even easier.

Coming back into Oz is also now a lot easier. Against the trend in making it hard for you to do anything here they have eased off on incoming pets. This must be in conjunction with the new White Australia policy (Brits only) they have started.

You have to laugh at the scare mongering. Some lads would love it to be a nightmare to move home. Dick heads.[/quote]

So no quarantine at all? I highly doubt that.

Griffith Avenue - yes.

Collins Avenue - not a chance.

Tell that Eamonn Lillis’s daughter that Howth Hill is a safe place.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 892434, member: 24”]Griffith Avenue - yes.

Collins Avenue - not a chance.[/quote]
No comparison between the two really. Griffith Avenue was one of the few examples of great urban planning in this state’s history. The houses and areas either side of it are nearly all excellent. Collins Avenue is just another road. The bit where it becomes Glasnevin Avenue is not bad, though.

A lad I used to work with bought an apartment in Ringsend.

It was overlooking a pub but he was happy to go with it.

One week night he was in bed and there was karaoke going on the pub. He thought ‘that’s what I get for buying beside a pub in Ringsend’ and did nothing more about it. Next thing the noise gets louder. It turned out that a barman had propped open the back door for some reason.

Yer man decides that opening the door was a bit unnecessary so he decided to ring the pub and ask them to shut the door. He started the phone conversation with ‘I have no problem with the karaoke but could you just shut the door’? The barman launched into a tirade of abuse which amounted to ‘This pub has been here for years. What gives the right of you blow in cunts to tell us what to do’. He didn’t shut the door.

Make of that what you will.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 892439, member: 24”]A lad I used to work with bought an apartment in Ringsend.

It was overlooking a pub but he was happy to go with it.

One week night he was in bed and there was karaoke going on the pub. He thought ‘that’s what I get for buying beside a pub in Ringsend’ and did nothing more about it. Next thing the noise gets louder. It turned out that a barman had propped open the back door for some reason.

Yer man decides that opening the door was a bit unnecessary so he decided to ring the pub and ask them to shut the door. He started the phone conversation with ‘I have no problem with the karaoke’ but could you just shut the door? The barman maunched into a tirade of abuse which amounted to ‘This pub has been here for years. What gives the right of you blow in cunts to tell us what to do’.

Make of that what you will.[/quote]
Same thing happened when a club reopened not long ago in limerick. The business had to pay for soundproof windows for the the neighbour they were disturbing. If your friend left it at that he’s a dope.

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 892403, member: 332”]So you can get a dog to Ireland from Australia for €240? So presumably two flights and a layover where they have to feed the dog etc. for €240? Come back to me when you actually do it, I’m highly dubious of that.

Even if true, you have to get vet certification, pet passport, special cages etc. It’ll add up Kev. You’ll be doing well to get it home for less than a grand all in.[/quote]

I know. What’s your point? Do you not think I’ve thought about tha?

About 800 would be as good as it gets. The dogs coming, it’s not your money I’m asking for to bring him home.

They should quarantine the people, never mind the dogs coming from Australia.

Well you better lower your doubtful ness. If you get the dog jabbed within 6 weeks and wormed a couple of days before by any of the accredited countries then once you keep the paperwork in top order your home and dry.

Billy is with me now out running and he has informed me he better not meet any of the contrary cunts on here around Dublin or they might get a nip!

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892442, member: 273”]I know. What’s your point? Do you not think I’ve thought about tha?

About 800 would be as good as it gets. The dogs coming, it’s not your money I’m asking for to bring him home.[/quote]
Kev, I’d be happy to setup a donation link to a PayPal account to pay for the dog’s repatriation.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 892431, member: 24”]And you could always get somewhere to pull in the caravan?

Fair play.[/quote]
Nice one

Can we get a “Bring Billy Home” campaign set up?

Sorted

I’m sure @Mac will be the first man in. He loves a charity case.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892442, member: 273”]I know. What’s your point? Do you not think I’ve thought about tha?

About 800 would be as good as it gets. The dogs coming, it’s not your money I’m asking for to bring him home.[/quote]

My point was you said that it wasn’t going to be anywhere near as expensive as €2k. I’m saying it could be.

I couldn’t give a fuck if you put the missus in freight and bring the dog first class.

dont know, it was around 2009 or 2010 when this happened and it was the only real way they could do it. they had been planning the move for ages so it wasnt a last gasp effort or anything, they had done their research and that was what they paid. as I said, I dont know if it included the quarentine in Swords or not. wasnt scaremongering you, only putting up the view that it could be costly. some people couldnt give a shite about cost and will do whatever it takes to bring their pets home.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892445, member: 273”]
Billy is with me now out running and he has informed me he better not meet any of the contrary cunts on here around Dublin or they might get a nip![/quote]

a talking dog!!..that changes everything…he’ll probably charm his way onto the plane if any of your confidence has rubbed off on him pal…

After Morgan I assume?

Is the other one called after your midwife friend?