Advice on living in Dublin (ie. don't)

Kev, the best pieces of advice on this thread so far are:
[LIST]
[]Go for sea or mountains
[
]Loads of nice places listed but if you need room for dogs you’ll need to go outside the canals area
[*]The DART is much better than the bus for any sort of commute if you can rent near it
[/LIST]

It’s the longest avenue in Europe without a retail unit

No Fagan, not the council houses.

[quote=“Gman, post: 892359, member: 112”]thats a fair stretch to keep @Scrunchie in D4! He’s nearly in Wicklow!

but you’re overall point stands, no matter where you go there will be some prick from TFK spying on you.[/quote]

I work in D4 but am also living closing to Wicklow.

If you’re buying @caoimhaoin there seems to to decent value (well for Dublin anyhow) around Ballinteer, Rathfarnham and Churchtown - with a minimal amount of scumbags as well.

So you can get a dog to Ireland from Australia for €240? So presumably two flights and a layover where they have to feed the dog etc. for €240? Come back to me when you actually do it, I’m highly dubious of that.

Even if true, you have to get vet certification, pet passport, special cages etc. It’ll add up Kev. You’ll be doing well to get it home for less than a grand all in.

[quote=“Sandymount Red, post: 892388, member: 1074”]Rob Heffernan wouldn’t be able to walk to the embassy belt in 5 minutes.

And the opposite to your second point is true. The gentrification of Ringsend has flushed out most of working class Dubs up there, Ringsend is a very quiet place now compared to what it used to be like.

So to sum up, your entire post was complete bollocks.[/quote]

Mate of mine lived in ringsend it’s a shithole. Are you Ringsend End Red by any chance?

Who said anything about embassy belt? You’d be on bath avenue in 5 minutes. You would also be 15 mins walk to the Berkley Court etc. where literally the most expensive property deal ever in Dublin was done.

What houses then mac

The other houses

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 892407, member: 332”]Mate of mine lived in ringsend it’s a shithole. Are you Ringsend End Red by any chance?

Who said anything about embassy belt? You’d be on bath avenue in 5 minutes. You would also be 15 mins walk to the Berkley Court etc. where literally the most expensive property deal ever in Dublin was done.[/quote]
Was it done in the Berkeley Court?

Which ones? Give me a street name there mac

Fact or urban myth?

Collins Avenue

Griffith Avenue

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 892407, member: 332”]Mate of mine lived in ringsend it’s a shithole. Are you Ringsend End Red by any chance?

Who said anything about embassy belt? You’d be on bath avenue in 5 minutes. You would also be 15 mins walk to the Berkley Court etc. where literally the most expensive property deal ever in Dublin was done.[/quote]
I used live in ringsend before and liked it there. Surprised it wasn’t suggested as spot earlier. 5 mins walk to lansdowne road, as said one of ye most expensive addresses in Dublin. I’ll be moving back soon enough, working Southside of the city and won’t be driving so looking for an apartment central enough. A glance through daft made for pretty dispiriting reading.

Apartments anywhere walking distance from the Google / Facebook offices are ridiculously priced at the moment. Probably better value out the dart line / luas line if that’s an option for you.

Fact

By General Area, I meant Ireland.

No, the right airline is the key. There are certain dogs that can cost you a fortune. Australia is on the good list. It won’t be cheap, but 3k is either a fool, a lie or a huge dog. My information is if you get your paperwork right before you leave Oz you’ll collect him after your bags. Especially if you come thru UK, that makes it even easier.

Coming back into Oz is also now a lot easier. Against the trend in making it hard for you to do anything here they have eased off on incoming pets. This must be in conjunction with the new White Australia policy (Brits only) they have started.

You have to laugh at the scare mongering. Some lads would love it to be a nightmare to move home. Dick heads.

I’ll cycle rather than take the luas/dart as far as possible. Would rather be close enough to the centre for going out for a few pints and that too. Considering doing some part time education too next year so again try to keep it all within cycling distance.

whats wrong with you?.. you’re like a dog with a bone going at poor @Mac[/USER] and @[USER=273]caoimhaoin …

[quote=“Pikeman, post: 892315, member: 100”]Typical.
Kev moves to Dublin not long after I moved out of it. We could have been great mates Kev!
Lived in Phibsboro, Killester, Sandyford, Blackrock and Stillorgan in my time in Dublin. Preferred the north side - better craic about the place or something. South Dublin was lifeless enough.[/quote]

And you could always get somewhere to pull in the caravan?

Fair play.