Advice on living in Dublin (ie. don't)

Continue/finish degree in S&C, do a masters. Maybe in psychology, maybe in sport in the community or a social science type masters. Not 100%.

Are you fully qualified in a trade already, Kev?

Good luck with all that, kev

Well I have another degree, and I have trade “recognition” in US & Oz. Never served time, but did exams to get me recognized as competant. Load of bollix really. Originally I was an Aer Lingus carpenter, learnt everything on the job. Have had 3 real discernible careers.

Sports psychology?

Were you building wooden aeroplanes??

Ya.

I presume you know what it means.

I presume you know what it means.[/QUOTE]
I don’tdon’t

Traditionally it came from lads arriving in Boston or New York and arriving in a pub and asking for work saying they were a carpenter, or alternatively asking to be one and learn it. But would never have or have had very little actual experience. An plenty would completely bull shit about what they could do.

Not much work here in that, I’d imagine. Would you have a practise or work with teams? League of Ireland teams wouldn’t have psychologists these days would they?

Not sure I’d ever actually get into it. It might be a sideline or something. But would do your coaching, be it S&C or football/hurling, a world of good.

And do a masters doesn’t make you a psychologist of any sort. It just shows basically you have read and studied a lot about it. McGuinness is not a true sports psychologist in the academic meaning of it. Yet he works in the field, and is being successful. So it’s a bit of a wushu washy gray area in ways. M
As for LOI, I would say they use freelance people, none of them would have a full timer.

I wish you well.

How did this work out in the end for Kev?

He is living in Dublin lite, Co.Cork

Stayed in Cork. There has been pro’s and cons. Work would have been easier and faster building in Dublin but i’M getting established now but it’s a much tougher business environment. Caught a couple of breaks profile wise which might now be starting to prove worthwhile.
Been hard on the Aussie. Ireland is extremely difficult to set up in compared to other countries. The pOwer of insurance companies and general red tape here is unbelievable. Getting a car and insurance for her is ridiculously over priced. Our combined insurance is just under 4k.

But as I said to someone last week, it’s dawned on me, if I wasn’t from Cork i’d definitely be living in the States or Melbourne. It’s the perfect t size town/city in many ways

What ya on about, Monkstown is full of old money Prods, it’s class.

The Farm used to be dicey but is basically a different area anyway.

Dún Laoghaire’s problem it is a central location with a methadone clinic and social welfare office so the school from the Borough all come together during the day outside the Church. It’s grand at night, too quiet for a large coastal town though

am assuming you changed her driving license to an Irish one? That makes a big difference, or did anyway. What did you end up going with full time after? building or staying with the coaching/training or is it a mix of both?

85% PT/Coaching/Movement therapy. Just doing the odd day building. Have to give a lot of work really. Renting a gym now off a well established physio practice with other therapists like accupuncture in there. Modern type physio which is great. Small but we’ll equipped gym, lots of people like that. Only doing a bit of advertising and marketing as we speak. Will take a bit of work and to be honest my GAA involvement was stalling everything. I had to drop one team (they were a joke shop anyway and I had 50 reasons to leave) so that freed up some time. Hoping to get into a couple of schools as well teaching FUNdemental Movement in the new school year. That would be both profitable and enjoyable.

Licence apparently means nothing to the insurance companies. Because we have not had insurance in Ireland d in the last 3 years means we start from scratch. My 15 years no claims bonus not worth a fuck. Jokeshop. A friend told me they threw that in when they saw people coming home with plenty cash from Oz etc.

Getting herself a bank account the hardest job of all. Absurd efforts needed for it.
She has been given the run of a new cafe so she’s happy out with that. The coffee growth here is great for her, Aussie generally miles ahead of Ireland in that regard.