Advice on living in Dublin (ie. don't)

A cottage in Kilbarrack would be ideal for our Kev.

I would suggest somewhere like Raheny or Killester.

Near the sea, beside St. Anne’s Park, on the DART, easy access to both Croke Park and Parnell Park.

That’s that settled then

Given the parameters that Kev has outlined, I think Fran’s suggestion of Rathfarnham is probably the best bet.

http://www.daft.ie/21413739

Sorted

[quote=“Sidney, post: 892150, member: 183”]I would suggest somewhere like Raheny or Killester.

Near the sea, beside St. Anne’s Park, on the DART, easy access to both Croke Park and Parnell Park.[/quote]
Yeah that’s what I was about to say. Particularly Raheny with easy access down to the coast and the causeway.

Chapelizod might be worth considering for closer to city and good access to Phoenix Park and lots of old style places there too.

I also have a soft spot for Chapelizod. A bit of character to the place, right beside Phoenix Park and a very nice part of the Liffey. It has a bit of a country village feel to it even though it’s very handy for town. Close enough to St. Brigid’s & Castleknock GAA clubs also

[quote=“Mac, post: 892158, member: 109”]http://www.daft.ie/21413739

Sorted[/quote]
Was it the dining table & retro chairs that caught your eye?

[quote=“Rocko, post: 892161, member: 1”]
Chapelizod might be worth considering for closer to city and good access to Phoenix Park and lots of old style places there too.[/quote]

Hmmm

Nah, the fantastic positioning of the wardrobe

On the subject of Killlester I’d say you could do a lot worse than something like this, Kev, even though it’s an apartment. Right beside the DART station and less than a 10 minute walk to Parnell Park, Clontarf seafront is only just down the road as well. Very easy commute to town. http://www.myhome.ie/rentals/brochure/115-venetian-hall-killester-dublin-5/1477508

Re Chapelizod, it’s near my neck of the woods and it’s a good spot too. Quiet area with little trouble. Well served by several bus routes, bus has you in town in around 20 minutes during rush hour. Right beside the Phoenix Park and the Liffey, the walk along the Liffey from Chapelizod to the beautiful Memorial Park in Islandbridge is a good place to go running or cycling. The Mullingar House and the Villager are good pubs. The Villager is a great spot for an evening drink outdoors during the summer.

Pat’s is the nearest GAA club (about a mile away) but as said above, Brigid’s and Castleknock aren’t that far away either (other end of the Phoenix Park, Brigid’s is about two miles).

:(I’ll be on my own here soon, Kev, TASE (and others) all going home.

In fairness pal, you seem like an honest grafter & would go well anywhere.

Others = KIB Man being deported.

Some serious advice and suggestions here. Fran had outdone himself, I suppose it’s in return for the goats milk and fennell tea introduction. His kid is probably driving down to hurling training in Fran’s home club in Killkenny already 3 nights a week.

Thanks lads, very detailed and informative work there. I think it really helps give me a top 3-5. It’s very appreciated ye would take the time.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892208, member: 273”]Some serious advice and suggestions here. Fran had outdone himself, I suppose it’s in return for the goats milk and fennell tea introduction. His kid is probably driving down to hurling training in Fran’s home club in Killkenny already 3 nights a week.

Thanks lads, very detailed and informative work there. I think it really helps give me a top 3-5. It’s very appreciated ye would take the time.[/quote]
Anytime.

I would echo Lucan, Chapelizod, Rathfarnham
Also look at Ballinteer and out towards Stepaside into north Wicklow near mountains and sea if commute not an issue

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1402933

Finding somewhere that will rent to you with dogs will also limit your options a fair bit.

Something like this would be the business for you, Kev, I think. Parts of Drumcondra are very nice indeed.

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1414401

[quote=“Sidney, post: 892219, member: 183”]Something like this would be the business for you, Kev, I think. Parts of Drumcondra are very nice indeed.

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1414401[/quote]

Jaysus Sid, if I tried to describe a place I’d be after I couldn’t as well as that shows. Old Dublin like that is perfect. I think that’s reasonable rent too.

I’m not as up to date on the socio-demography of Dublin as I was maybe 10 years ago but somewhere like Drumcondra is what I had in mind. Old Dublin.