Dublin is the poor man’s Croydon.
Don’t be so quick to give up on life Caoimh
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892228, member: 273”]Jaysus Sid, if I tried to describe a place I’d be after I couldn’t as well as that shows. Old Dublin like that is perfect. I think that’s reasonable rent too.
I’m not as up to date on the socio-demography of Dublin as I was maybe 10 years ago but somewhere like Drumcondra is what I had in mind. Old Dublin.[/quote]
Drumcondra is great, if a bit over run with students so accommodation may be a bit more reasonably priced but of a slightly lower standard. All the suggestions here are good, apart from the Lucan one.
Best of luck anyway Kev.
As a very rough general rule of thumb ignoring the (Howths & Dalkeys of this world which would be County Dublin), the most exclusive places to live (and unfortunately the safest/nicest) are Ballsbridge/Ranelagh area of the Southside & the Clontarf area on the Northside. The three of these places are very expensive and from the sounds of things not what you are looking for.
The next level are the surrounds of these places, the likes of Rathmines, Milltown, Grand Canal Dock, Sandymount on the Southside and Drumcondra and Raheny on the Northside. This is where bog men like ourselves generally end up. My northside knowledge wouldn’t be the best but I think in general East of the Dart line is where you want to look in the Raheny area.
A bit further out you have places like Dundrum (boring apart from the shopping), Terenure etc. which are generally fine but can be rough in spots.
After that you are looking at Phibsboro in the Northside, Harolds Cross, Kimmage, etc, parts of which are okay parts of which are absolute dives. Lots of culchies in these areas aswell.
Outside of that in the city area your getting into scumholes.
There are nice places in County Dublin aswell but I wouldn’t be able to help you much there.
Dublin is a funny city in that you could be in a savage area and next thing your in a shithole. Stephens green for example has three blocks of council flats built right behind it, same with adelaide road. Then there are places like Ringsend in the middle of D4.
I think the middle band is where you should be looking, somewhere like Rathmines or Milltown would be the most suitable on the southside. A few gaa clubs in the areas though they are relatively new, which may be a positive from your side as I’m sure they’d only be mad for lads to get involved. You’ll have to pay more than your thinking, but you really don’t want to be living in a dive of a place.
I recently moved and the rental market is absolutely insane at the minute, you literally have to be ready to go and view the place the second it goes up on daft and have the deposit in your pocket. The dogs thing is going to kill you though Kev. Landlords are in complete control at the minute and have no interest in pets.
drumcondra is a disgusting inner city shithole, cop on mac FFS, would you seriously like to live around Tolka Park kev?, ok yeah if you’re in college that’s grand but living in a fucking tenement flat is not for me right now.
even if i was working in the city i wouldnt live in dublin city itself i think
depending on your closeness to public transport, accessibility to a car and what side of the city or county you’ll be located , i could give you better advice.
Would you not consider the North Kildare region, you’d get a fine house there in Clane or Straffan, bit of a garden, on the motorway and a quick spin into maynooth to hop on the train if needed each morning, now again that will depend where you are working… but Dublin city center is not for me at all
@Julio Geordio there’s a number of places on the Northside you left out there that are fine. Glasnevin, Whitehall, anywhere along Collins Avenue or Griffith Avenue, Fairview, Marino and parts of Donnycarney are all fine. Not massive amounts of rental accommodation as mostly populated by families who’ve lived there for decades, and students.
You need to get rid of the dogs ffs. Having no kids is a serious advantage to you, don’t fuck it up by bringing the mutts over.
[quote=“mickee321, post: 892266, member: 367”]drumcondra is a disgusting inner city shithole, cop on mac FFS, would you seriously like to live around Tolka Park kev?, ok yeah if you’re in college that’s grand but living in a fucking tenement flat is not for me right now.
even if i was working in the city i wouldnt live in dublin city itself i think
depending on your closeness to public transport, accessibility to a car and what side of the city or county you’ll be located , i could give you better advice.
Would you not consider the North Kildare region, you’d get a fine house there in Clane or Straffan, bit of a garden, on the motorway and a quick spin into maynooth to hop on the train if needed each morning, now again that will depend where you are working… but Dublin city center is not for me at all[/quote]
I’d rather commute from Cork than Kildare.
[quote=“mickee321, post: 892266, member: 367”]drumcondra is a disgusting inner city shithole, cop on mac FFS, would you seriously like to live around Tolka Park kev?, ok yeah if you’re in college that’s grand but living in a fucking tenement flat is not for me right now.
That would be Ballybough and not Drumcondra @mickee321
[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 892213, member: 2272”]I would echo Lucan, Chapelizod, Rathfarnham
Also look at Ballinteer and out towards Stepaside into north Wicklow near mountains and sea if commute not an issue
http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1402933[/quote]
definitly NOT Lucan
jesus, that place is awful, a soulless , depressing concrete jungle
Fuck off
@mickee321 is the guy who stayed in a north side hotel, then moaned about it. His views in this thread can be safely ignored.
[quote=“mickee321, post: 892271, member: 367”]definitly NOT Lucan
jesus, that place is awful, a soulless , depressing concrete jungle[/quote]
This I agree with.
Apart from his views on Lucan. His missus must have been delighted with the value in the discount shops on Parnell St.
Don’t know the Northside very well Mac, I avoid it as a rule.
The landlords have all the power over here at the moment. Bring the mutts over and it’s you that is going to be told to fuck off.
Agreed
up to you kev
that area of Kildare is considered as dublin anyway as its on dublin bus 66/67 routes and the commuter train
living in clane say, 5 min spin to maynooth, on the train, into town in 45 mins, its ok , and you’lll get much more for your rent, as i say , up to you
I’d be very surprised if you find a place that will let you have the dogs
As bland a place as you are ever likely to find.
[quote=“mickee321, post: 892280, member: 367”]up to you kev
that area of Kildare is considered as dublin anyway as its on dublin bus 66/67 routes and the commuter train
living in clane say, 5 min spin to maynooth, on the train, into town in 45 mins, its ok , and you’lll get much more for your rent, as i say , up to you[/quote]
5 mins my hole. Clane is every bit as soulless as Lucan ffs. You’re talking out of your hole here mickee.