Advice on living in Dublin (ie. don't)

says the fella peering out thru the filthy net curtains on his filthy flat window on Sheriff St,

@caoimhaoin would you be interested in joining TFK AFC in a player coach capacity? We are undergoing a serious overhaul of our front and back offices at the moment and I think you’d be a good fit.

Sheriff street is on the north side mate, you’re getting awfully confused here.

[quote=“briantinnion, post: 892285, member: 6”]
We are undergoing a serious overhaul of our front and back offices at the moment and I think you’d be a good fit.[/quote]

Ahoy!!

ah its not Mac FFS, i like a bit of green space as does kev , the idea of waking up every morning to the wonderful view of someone else’s toilet window is not my idea of a home really.
"

yes i know that

Everybody has said that for years here and at home and it’s never been a problem. People exaggerate shit like that all the time. All you have to do in a search is put in Pet Friendly. I have paid a pet bond in both countries, it was I who suggested it to a landlord in Cork and he thought it was a great idea.
Ask any real estate person, people cause way way more damage than pets.

Woof!

How many dogs have you got and what type are they?

One, Beagle x Ridgeback. We’ll get another one or two once settled.

I did a quick look at daft there, number of houses for rent in Dublin 1,543, number where pets were allowed 60.

It’s hard enough to rent at the minute Kev without restricting yourself to less than 5% of the market

That’s an interesting mix:confused:

You should be able to get a two bedroom with front and back fairly easily. I’d go along with the south side suburban recommendations but I still would’t tell the landlord about the dog.

I’m sure @Bandage would look after it for a week or so until you settle in.

[quote=“Sandymount Red, post: 892305, member: 1074”]That’s an interesting mix:confused:

You should be able to get a two bedroom with front and back fairly easily. I’d go along with the south side suburban recommendations but I still would’t tell the landlord about the dog.

I’m sure @Bandage would look after it for a week or so until you settle in.[/quote]

That’s bizarre, why wouldn’t you tell them. If they don’t like dogs then fuck them, I wouldn’t want to deal with anyone who doesn’t like dogs.

@caoimhaoin , put those fucking dog down man,
a boomerang to the back of the head , sooner the better,
renting with dogs in dublin as the lads have outlined here with statistal data is a no no. especially in an appartment setting, but jesus that would apply in most towns in ireland
you’ll need a house with a garden for that , seriously now, that why i threw up about outside the city…

@Mac will you stop blackguarding Kev with talk of Fairview and Whitehall for fuck sake. We all like a laugh now but this is a bit more serious.

@Julio Geordio Ringsend is a great spot-never any trouble from any of those flats. Real old school Dub salt of the earth types all over Ringsend.

It was a Ridgeback that bit the bollix off Jerry Kiernan when he was out jogging back in the 80s.

Ya and if he does he will either be paying way over the odds, or it will be some place fairly ruff.

Typical.
Kev moves to Dublin not long after I moved out of it. We could have been great mates Kev!
Lived in Phibsboro, Killester, Sandyford, Blackrock and Stillorgan in my time in Dublin. Preferred the north side - better craic about the place or something. South Dublin was lifeless enough.

or maybe its just too far from city for kev…

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 892109, member: 273”]I’ll have reasonable amount of money coming home but really will not be looking to dip into it too much. So reasonable rent is a priority as I can’t see myself making a fortune early days as it’s most likely I’ll be working for myself with my hand in a few things or maybe building for someone for a while which on a good week will only bring in 600-750 going on what I’ve been told. Not too bothered exactly where I live as work for me tends to spread around anyway. More specifically

• 2 of us, my Aussie woman in toe
  • no kids
  • dogs
  • I’m guesing 1k-1200 a week coming in overall for a whole
  • like to be near green area/parks
  • Friendly GAA club used to outsiders
  • decent local ammenities
    I’d really like an old cottage type house with a bit of room for dogs. Don’t mind being a little bit away for it.

Always liked the look of Lucan without knowing a lot about it.[/quote]

I say you would like ballinteer kev…near marley park where you could spend your weekends working out… foothills of the dublin mountains…your near dundrum shopping centre for the missus… I don’t like lucan…its far too built up and you’ll spend your time sitting in a car like @Mac does…

[quote=“Horsebox, post: 892312, member: 1537”]@Mac will you stop blackguarding Kev with talk of Fairview and Whitehall for fuck sake. We all like a laugh now but this is a bit more serious.

@Julio Geordio Ringsend is a great spot-never any trouble from any of those flats. Real old school Dub salt of the earth types all over Ringsend.[/quote]

ringsend sounds fuking horrible but on cup final day you could join the Rovers fans marching with the white horse