AI SHC Semi-Final Killkenny v Tipperary

Exactly. Like I said a couple of years ago, that Tipp win will always have an asterisk beside it for me.

Yesterday was the most inept side I’ve ever seen sent out to play Kilkenny.

The Corbett thing was gas yesterday. Chasing Walsh all over the field and completely neutralisaing himself & Bourke. You couldn’t see from the TV but presumably Corbett was running away from him as soon as Tipp got the ball? If they really wanted to test KK willingness to follow their man they should have sent Bourke in FF and seen if Tommy followed him in. Would have upset there shape at least.

An even worse mistake imo was not having Bonnar Maher at CF for the 70 minutes. He has been there best player all year in that position. He is not a scoring forward and as such had no business in full. Particularly since the two half forwards were marking each other it would have left him a load of space to run at KK.

Chipp were very slow to make changes yesterday aswell, when their real strength all year has been finishing games strongly thanks to fresh legs from the bench. Ryan absolutely shit himself yesterday.

Limerick & Cork did them no favours, we should have bate em when we had the chance and they might have gone away and sorted themselves out.

I’d say there is something to the rumours of a row at half time. Tipp came out like a team completely demoralised

I wouldn’t agree with that. At their peak they were a match for KK. They could easily have beaten ye the year before aswell. I don’t think this Tipp team lead by that absolute Donkey should lower the reputation of Sheedys team but unfortunately it will.

Waterford in the AI final were surely the most inept side they ever played.

Ye? Wha?

Beat Kilkenny without Shefflin and Brian Hogan. Nah, in my mind I can’t put Tipp up there unless they beat a Kilkenny team in it’s prime. They came close the year before alright but still didn’t do it.
Would agree about the Declan Ryan point.

double post

Ryan is the classic GAA case of a fella getting jobs because he was a very good hurler and not necessarily a good or even experienced coach. Like in Cork it’s seems Tipp mow want their coaches doing their learning at the highest level. It’s fucking stupid, he looks like an awful moron now.

He looks like a rocket scientist compared to the man likely to replace him.

Really? I’m pretty sure he was in charge of Clonoulty seniors and did manage Tipp to a minor in 2006.

wasnt he a minor manager? apart from managing another senior county is that not more or less the next best thing?

Yeah but not one sexual abuse claim was made against him so it wasn’t exactly a successful stint- the warning signs were there.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

True wasn’t Tommy Dunne very involved in successful underage sides too?

Maher’s pull on Rice was filth in first half. When you pull like that one handed you have no control of what it hits. RTE’s analysts are a joke, remind me of Garth Crooks and BBC clowns when it comes to soccer. Can’t be seen to criticise filth.

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/213/613x459c.jpg

lehane is a very talented young player but he was clearly not ready for the team this year. he has no method to win ball up high as yet and until he is coached in that area he will always be a peripheral player feeding off scraps.
he would be as well offf as a sub next season starting off to ease any pressure might be put on him particularly if midleton were to win a county championship assuming they are still in it

Dunne did a very good job with the 2010 U21 team. They played very good hurling but they were also very eager to rain high ball down on top of Buggy and Paddy Murphy to beat people. I don’t think Dunne was overrated as a hurling coach, but the combined vision of the management for how Tipp should play was clearly a disaster. Making the least talented forward you have the focal point of your attack is high risk at best.

It took something exceptional for Tipp to get over the line in 2010, something quite different, and Declan Ryan didn’t have anything similarly novel to offer, unless you count the Lar Corbett fiasco yesterday.

+1 mate.

It shouldn’t be a legitimate swing. You have absolutely no control over a one hand swing.

Tipp didnt have the confidence to go man for man and play their own style. Thats what it boils down to. They worried more about matching KK’s style than concentrating on perfecting their own.

Ryan and Dunne have to take the rap for that. Lar is an unfortunate victim of poor tactics.

tipps second half yesterday was worse by a mile than waterfords first in 2008 for a few reasons[list=1]
[]tipp are a battle hardened side with three all ireland appearances including one win behind them waterford were a team who had achieved by simply reaching the final
[
]kilkenny in 2008 were at the very peak of their powers kilkenny 2012 are simply not as good
[]waterford 2008 had little or no part in their own downfall as they were simply shredded tipp 2012 had one of the most bananas game plans i have ever seen and despite that had a strong foothold in the game but through stupid management, shocking player displays and rank goal keeping they collapsed. cummins let two goals in at his near post and fogartys goal was dreadful
[
]even on stats tipp conceeded more in the second half than waterford in that first half
[/list]

[font=Arial][size=3]Two other notes of shame today, I left the match with 10 to go a number neutrals like myself and most Tipp fans were leaving, the abuse being showered upon them was shameful. I was embarrassed and ashamed for our game. The abuse was coming from not teenagers but men in their 50’s and 60’s at one stage urging a young lad to not let a young family out with the usual Neanderthal swearing thrown in, “lock the gates keep the b******* in”. The 2nd point of shame really annoys me, a lad today played a few days after his bother passed away, is it too much to ask for people to stay quite during the moment of silence (a minute is too much for Irish people it looks like), this jeering and abuse came from the hill from both sets of fans, now that is a disgrace.[/size][/font]

the smell off him by 9 o clock in the pub must be chronic with all that sh1te on

watching the second half here. clear that p maher and corbett were overly psyched for the game. all they wanted to do was hit lads. some of the tipp players looked so slow. O"mahony was diabolical. Curran cant run anymore. Noel Mcgrath incredibly slow also.

aidan fogarty had some game.

referee was a disgrace and big smile on his face throughout like some class of simpleton.