AI SHC Semi-Final Killkenny v Tipperary

The Fogarty goal was a disaster alright. Cummins always tries to get the ball out of the danger zone when he stops it and he went to bat the shot instead of just stopping it. It was a classic Kilkenny goal really though with someone bursting onto a broken ball and through the line from a half-forward position. It was another thing Tipp didn’t let happen in 2010.

I guess it’ll be up there alongside Kilkenny’s 2000, 2003, 2007, 2008 and 2009 asterisked All-Irelands as well as Wexford’s infamous 1996 double-asterisked one.

:lol: :smiley:

Some of your asteriskeseses need explaining Sid.

If Limerick had won in 1996 if would have been asterisked due to Sean’s Flood’s injury-enforced absence from the final as well.

The reality is that you have to go back as far as Offaly in 1998 to get All-Ireland winners who don’t have an asterisk against their name.

No all-ireland winners have an asterisk against their name. The other team lost, get over it and move on

According to Babs they were Sheep in a heap that year. That’ll do me as far as asterix is concerned.Those of us who knew this was an overrated Tipp side feel vindicated today. A complete farce yestaerday however, even I didn’t think they were THAT bad. Haven’t stopped laughing all the same. Depsite how good KK were yesterday I’m calling a Galway win next month. Far better hurlers and more importantly men than Tipperary. All their hits on KK were fair in the LF unlike the sneaky stuff that was on show yesterday.

The speed factor is something I noticed too - On one occasion Curran had 7/8 yards on Larkin following a ball into the corner, Larkin caught him, passed him and won the ball.
Makes me wonder if Tipp have opted for bulk ie. winter weights etc over game specific training.

The ref was as poor as I 've seen whatever the hell his agenda was.

That was after the Larkin goal, where Curran seemed to pick up a knock.
I also heard Curran did not train during the week. [Is that true?]
Larkin as I mentioned is carrying an injury himself.

So that particular incident I don’t think is a fair reflection on the true pace of either.

That old chestnut.

Isolated enough all right but for Larkins Goal he burned him before he pulled up, Taggy , Reid and even Henry when in possession looked far better on their feet.
Aa small issue really given KK dominated every facet, it should not be suprising that they appeared better on their feet in hindsight.

Lads Ryan was given a very special bunch of hurlers in 06, it would be hard to fuck it up. I saw Dunne up close a few times and thought he was headless, it seemed to me Hogan was guiding that team.

The way he/they set Tipp up yesterday showed he was not ready or not good enough to coach Tipp, it’s absolute lunacy and if a club coach did it at any sort if serious club he’d be fucked out.

Tipp have savage hurlers, that was shameful ti see them at that yesterday. There was nobody with any great insight to the whole thing picking Ryan to manage them, I don’t really care what anyone says on this matter, he was shown up as a complete bluffer yesterday.

Jayz I’m not saying we’ve to print roll of honour posters with asterisks on them or anything. (though if ye want to, pm me, we’ll do a deal).
Just that Tipp win will always be followed up with “ah yeah, but Kilkenny were missing their 2 main players that day”. Unless they had followed up on that win with another defeat of Kilkenny on the big stage, then that doubt will always remain. Still the second best team around the last few years though obviously no question.

Don’t think a single Tipp player came out of that game with any credit yesterday. Bourke for frees would be a bout the size of it.

I think you’re getting a bit carried with regard to the quality of player at Declan Ryan’s disposal. Their best forward this year can’t score. Noel McGrath is very effective when he gets on the ball but it’s rare that he does get on it. Their other 2 scoring forwards were more interested in playing ring-a-rosie yesterday. Corbett is bet in any case and was more than happy to play that bit part role which took the pressure of having to make a meaningful contribution to the game from him

Kelly, Galvin, McGrath and Honan are all better.

What’s the story with Callinan?

What kind of cunt leaves the game with ten minutes to go?