Airtricity League 2016

yeah they didnt mention as its undisclosed
he was out of contract but that dosent mean you have a bidding war…

Odd its not even been mentioned as “undisclosed”. Great if they are getting 6 figures for him though.

its not odd in this context

the figure of 700k is obviously open to correction
but i did hear it this morning

As opposed to Man City who spend it on players who bomb .

What’s the story with Preston signing so many Irish players? Seems a bit strange. Could be a good move for the two lads, I suppose luck does play a big part… have to take your chance when it comes; Towell never really got his chance. I do think Horgan is a more talented player than Towell.

I would be shocked if Dundalk got anything close to 700k for Horgan though.

Hoare is a good replacement for Boyle though, you could argue he’s a better player already just hasn’t had the same exposure. Very hard to replace Horgan… Connolly looks talented but is still unproven.

How can Dundalk command a fee for Horgan when Airtricity League players only sign season-to-season contracts and his would have expired?

Is he young enough for it to go to tribunal?

He’s 25 and he wasn’t a Dundalk youth product so I don’t follow talk of a fee. I may very well be wrong and I’m waiting to be enlightened.

It’s a fair point. If both their contracts were up, I don’t see why they’d get anything.

I’ll try and find out, it would be interesting to know; would seem like an awful pity if they were to lose their best players for absolutely nothing.

Pat Fenlon taking a step up in the world of sport.

gga isnt a sport

connolly just signed a 2 year deal with bray
TASE, do you know who is finacing them?
dundalk were about to make him the fist 6 figure transfer in LOI history using some of the Horgan money to break the 80k record drogheda paid bray for Gadaffi Zayed in 2006…
how did bray convince him to stay?
as discused they signed Gary McCabe and yer man from limerick also,
back them now for the league

cc @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy

Denis o’Brien

Proud Papish Preston, as it used to be called.

The Preston manager was on OTB the other night. Said they can’t afford to be going around Europe taking chances on lads. Essentially said buying from the LOI is a low cost/risk strategy.

I think it’s good for the game here, shows young lads there is a path through the LOI and that you don’t have to go into the great lottery of the English youth system.

Kevin Kilbane is from that part of the world. Think he has contacts with the club.

Well that’s true. But they didn’t sign McGeady, Cunningham, Doyle, Browne directly from the LoI. Could just be a coincidence… I’ve heard about the Kilbane thing before but would he really be that familiar with the likes of Browne & Doyle, for example?

But yeah, I do think that some younger players would be better off staying in the LoI and going over at the ages of 21/22/23 if they are good enough. The English clubs are starting to pick up players more and I think long-term it will strengthen the league, even if the best players are being poached by lower league English clubs. At the same time, it’s very hard to resist the lure of a contract from an English side when you’re 16, 17, 18 and very few LoI sides are full-time.

Lovely first round game with Limerick away to Cork… Few cans in my gaff first, lads. Ill have princess whip up a few dips for the chips .