All Ireland Football Final - An Classico

He’s getting dogs abuse for this on twitter, a bit precious really

Posting after midnight Paul tut tut.

Paul lost a lot of respect from us knowledgeable grab all association fans when he acted like a complete baby in that argument with Oisin McConville a few years back. Such quality interjections as a sarcastic “Good man, Oisin” when he lost the verbals.

Deserves every bit of abuse he gets. Fell into the punditry thing on the back of the GPA gig that was sorted for him.

Flynner is a top man and a top pundit.

His state of flow is a pleasure to listen to.

Joe Brolly was celebrated when he took down the credentials of Colm Cooper. “This is the sort of provocative punditry we need” seemed to be the general view.

Flynner gets people talking and he’s not afraid to be iconoclastic. That’s what you want.

He was an arrogant prick at the 2011 All-Stars do according to my sources.

31 counties have been in a foul humour since Sunday evening and they’ve suddenly found something to lash out about.

He was destroyed in that discussion alright.

You’re wrong this time. There is no grà for this Kerry group. The false modesty they portray is tiresome.

Sure they all fall into it in some way, he’s qualified as much as any of them were.
He’s putting forward the case for his pal

I don’t know about that. The Dubs always carry a lot of neutral support. Maybe winning all those titles in a row reduced that a bit but the lads coming back into the fold this season are admired across the board & I think many folk* were open to them winning it again. And it’s not like they were up against a Mayo or someone striving for their first in ages.

*based on a sample size of zero

Not sure what warrants SOS for an all star, he was very quiet in the second half.

I completely agree re- Clifford and I thought the exact same thing as I walked out of Croke Park. Why not fire a high one in? They did it last year and he got a mark from it and a goal, as well as two marks from Clifford in the final. He is lethal in the air and it’s an attribute that is underrated in his locker. Ridiculous.

Kerry were very slow moving the ball in the first half and while I understand parts of it, they turned over ball and proceeded to go back to Ryan. The fact when you have the best player in the game you need to facilitate him as much as possible. They turned over Basquel(?) in the first five minutes, Moynihan took it off the shoulder, burst downfield and launched it towards Clifford who did the rest.

Flinto must have had serious doooomage on his cream last noight.

Clifford wasn’t poor against Tyrone

this is a remarkable piece of individual brilliance

The general impression I get is that people are afraid to say the obvious - that David Clifford didn’t deliver the goods in the way Kerry needed him to. That they rear up in an almost emotional way at this truth.

Perhaps it is because David Clifford seems like an admirable young fella and they instinctively like him and want to protect him.

Perhaps it is because Kerry rely on him too much.

Perhaps it is because people don’t like seeing uncomfortable truths spoken.

Perhaps it is because David Clifford’s mother died not long ago.

It’s probably all that. But top level sport is brutal. Clifford came up short of where he needed to be on Sunday.

To be fair, there aren’t that many players in the history of the game that have stood up and taken the game by the scruff of the neck in the second half of a close All-Ireland final and put a great opponent to the sword.

James McCartan did it. Podrick Joyce did it. Stephen O’Neill, Brian McGuigan, Sean Cavanagh and Brian Dooher did it. Kevin McManamon did it. Lee Keegan did it without actually achieving it.

the gas thing here is if the shoe was on the other foot and someone criticized Sir James the Dubs would be going around in death squads…

he was shite in the final himself

Footballer of the year is between shane mcguigan and brendan rodgers, or at least it would be if lads, referees etc knew anything about football.

I don’t get that. James Mc had a worse final than Clifford easily and up to the final Clifford was miles ahead anyway.

Clifford was the best footballer this year and should get the award.

It was an emotional comment, we give out about sanitized analysis but we give out about this as well,

For me Clifford is FOTY but people have different opinions

Ah lads. It’s a stupid loose comment from someone who was prob on the pints.

The mass Twitter reaction and pile-on is fairly disproportionate. Every wannabe and never-will be in with their purple faced outrage.