All Ireland Football Final - An Classico

They had the Ashes on tv as well at the celebration banquet.

Damo Dempsey, Roisin O, Mary Black and Mundy in The Lord Edward last night.

The Limerick’s bopping around on the back of a lorry to Michael Maloney in pink shorts and muscle tops :grinning:

All shit, but I get what you mean.

Roisin O is some divil for getting the head in. Nepo baby wha?

As for Mundy :rofl:

Even the difference between Mannion getting his MOTM award suited up and looking sharp compared to Casey in shorts and t-shirt in the smoking area of The Woodlands shows the difference.

The Pipers leading the players in to the Ballymun Club Grounds.

The Limerick’s have a lot to learn.

That pink hat turned backwards. On the steps of the Hogan.

Sigh.

The great David Hickey once predicted there was 10 All Irelands there for this team. We might see some of them eclipse this yet

Even the lovely Aisling wouldn’t have been let near Pipers Corner to interview lads on the Blue WKD on Monday either.

Hip flask in inside pocket of said sheepskin

No picture of the Dublin lads sweeping up the dressing room this year, they’ve lost their way unfortunately.

Kev Mc smoked Deano

There are a high number of players in the Limerick hurling squad with zero taste in fashion in fairness.

Getting Mundy in especially to sing July was a classic nod to the split season

New money always struggled to purchase class.

@Cheasty before last Sunday’s game is completely forgotten we need to talk about the music on the tannoy at Full Time.

Nothing Compares To U pre game was special alright but i wanted Auld Triangle on the Final Whistle like 2016 or Molly Malone like 2017. The 30 second gap before This Is came on felt like an Anti Climax.

Beautiful Day was bad.

The Black Eyed Peas was worse. As I’ve mentioned here previously, that may be the worst song of all time.

It has been decided at committee level that Glory Days by Bruce Springsteen must now be played after all All-Ireland finals, and thus I’m rapidly beginning to despise that song, despite previously liking it.

RTE played out the live coverage with Mandinka which was perhaps their best decision since playing out the live coverage of Tyrone v Kerry 2005 with Little By Little by Oasis.

I don’t recall that but Jesus that’s a great shout.

Black eyed Peas song is forever fuvked because of St. Denis in 2009.

There’s a Script song they play too that does nothing but drag down the atmosphere.

Trouble with a Capital T followed by Lets Dance at half time is good for now but has a shelf life too i think.

Maybe that’s why the GAA play it?

The Belgiums had a tune they were dancing to after they knocked us out of the World Cup in 1997 that still sticks in my mind. I don’t know the name of it but yis all know it.

But at least they were actually happy. The French were all that word you used to get taught in French class which described a feeling of “meeeehhhhh”. “Bof”.

“We’ve qualified for the World Cup. We’re not remotely enthusiastic. That was shit.”

Certain songs become associated with corporately sanctioned “celebration”. They tend to be over-produced songs, as the one song I know by The Script is.

Let’s Dance in a GAA context is purely associated in my mind with Dublin v Mayo 2017.

I imagine Paul Flynn thinking to himself, “Well, yis have given us a good game up to now, but now it’s time to dance. And we’re going to smoke yis.”

They played Sinead o Connor singing Molly Malone as the team were running down to the Hill with the cup. A terrible choice under the circumstances.