I think he’s from Askeaton
You’d know him from doing the gate at matches
I think he’s from Askeaton
You’d know him from doing the gate at matches
[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1008897, member: 1786”]I think he’s from Askeaton
You’d know him from doing the gate at matches[/QUOTE]
I thought it looked like John Stapleton from Monaleen?
[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1008897, member: 1786”]I think he’s from Askeaton
You’d know him from doing the gate at matches[/QUOTE]
He’s definitely a local alright, I recognised him from club matches (not sure what club he is affiliated with). A nice, harmless chap.
To be fair he’d have struggled to manhandle that hulking Mayo lad!
[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 1008894, member: 183”]I was a having a cigarette on the benches in front of Limerick railway station yesterday about 8:30pm as I waited for my train. A chap comes out of the station with what presumably was his girlfriend and they sit down on bench 1 and 2 (I was on bench 4). The chap was wearing a baseball cap and had a tattoo on his neck, quite tanned and with a generous helping of stubble. This chap’s accent made the Rubberbandits look like cheap imposters.
“Have you got a smooooke, buddy?” I gave him a cigarette.
“Are you from Ireland?”
“Yeah, Dublin.”
“Wheeaheere in Dublin awrre you frwom, buddy?”
“Palmerstown.”
“I did time with a lot of fellas from Dublin.”
“Yeah?”
“Yeah the Midlands Prison.”
“Portlaoise?”
“No, the Midlands Prison. And Portlaosie as well. They say you can’t get drugs in prison but we got them in through the baaaaaars. They had a bars there all in row (he stands up and starts drawing a picture of the bars)”.
I kind of zoned out of what he was saying after that.
“Enjoy your smoke.”
“Alright buddy.”[/QUOTE]
Sounds like you shit your pants pal I hope you made it home ok and enjoyed your day out!
He actually seemed a decent chap for a junkie criminal.
[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 1008894, member: 183”]I was a having a cigarette on the benches in front of Limerick railway station yesterday about 8:30pm as I waited for my train. A chap comes out of the station with what presumably was his girlfriend and they sit down on bench 1 and 2 (I was on bench 4). The chap was wearing a baseball cap and had a tattoo on his neck, quite tanned and with a generous helping of stubble. This chap’s accent made the Rubberbandits look like cheap imposters.
“Have you got a smooooke, buddy?” I gave him a cigarette.
“Are you from Ireland?”
“Yeah, Dublin.”
“Wheeaheere in Dublin awrre you frwom, buddy?”
“Palmerstown.”
“I did time with a lot of fellas from Dublin.”
“Yeah?”
“Yeah the Midlands Prison.”
“Portlaoise?”
“No, the Midlands Prison. And Portlaosie as well. They say you can’t get drugs in prison but we got them in through the baaaaaars. They had a bars there all in row (he stands up and starts drawing a picture of the bars)”.
I kind of zoned out of what he was saying after that.
“Enjoy your smoke.”
“Alright buddy.”[/QUOTE]
Not quite as polished as thraw’s piece but well worth throwing in to the indo.
[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1008887, member: 1786”]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtsjlOuGRSE
A clip of pitch invader taken from the stand.[/QUOTE]
Why wasn’t that fat cunt arrested and taken from the ground? Were there no guards on duty in the ground?
Saw another incident which made me chuckle before the Limerick-Kilkenny semi-final. Was walking down Clonliffe Road, the bit between the side roads that lead to Hill 16 and the Cusack Stand. A Garda van was driving up Clonliffe Road, and a chap from Limerick who I’d say was about 18 or 19, and clearly had drink on him, stood out on the road in front of the van, making a stupid face at it and waving his arms in joking fashion, forcing the van to stop. One of the cops got out and lagged him back. This guy was the definition of what you think of as a typical thick, ignorant muldoon guard, with a keen sense of inflated self-importance. He started shouting into the face of the Limerick lad. “Why did stand out in front of the van? Why? Did ya think yeh were being smart or something? 'Cause I’ll tell ya now, ya weren’t. Take that smirk off yer face. I can make this a hell of lot worse for ya. D’ya want to spend a night in the cells, cause I can make it happen for ya. There’ll be no match for you. D’ya want that, 'cause I can make that happen alright. What would yer mammy say then?”
The smirk was well and truly wiped off the lad’s face by this and he looked like he wanted his mammy.
[QUOTE=“Sidney, post: 1008933, member: 183”]Saw another incident which made me chuckle before the Limerick-Kilkenny semi-final. Was walking down Clonliffe Road, the bit between the side roads that lead to Hill 16 and the Cusack Stand. A Garda van was driving up Clonliffe Road, and a chap from Limerick who I’d say was about 18 or 19, and clearly had drink on him, stood out on the road in front of the van, making a stupid face at it and waving his arms in joking fashion, forcing the van to stop. One of the cops got out and lagged him back. This guy was the definition of what you think of as a typical thick, ignorant muldoon guard, with a keen sense of inflated self-importance. He started shouting into the face of the Limerick lad. “Why did stand out in front of the van? Why? Did ya think yeh were being smart or something? 'Cause I’ll tell ya now, ya weren’t. Take that smirk off yer face. I can make this a hell of lot worse for ya. D’ya want to spend a night in the cells, cause I can make it happen for ya. There’ll be no match for you. D’ya want that, 'cause I can make that happen alright. What would yer mammy say then?”
The smirk was well and truly wiped off the lad’s face by this and he looked like he wanted his mammy.[/QUOTE]thats a clamping right there, the young limerick muldoon was brought down a peg or two
Hon the Kingdom.
That game was ridiculous. Kind of had a bit of everything. Incredibly intense. You’d forget a lot of the early things that happened.
The refereeing in general was such a mess. Totally inconsistent for both sides.
e.g. For the first penalty, Enright already had a yellow from the double yellow with him and O’Connor after 5 minutes, so if he pulls the man to the ground it’s surely another card and Kerry are down to 14 which totally changes the complexion of the whole game. Same can be said for a huge amount of black card offenses that went unpunished. If you make the rule, you need to implement it or it becomes and joke and that’s what it is now.
I agree about the points about the level of cynicism in both team’s play. There needs to be stricter rules on what happens when a free is given and the punishment from time wasting and antagonising the winner of the free and of course they need to be consistently enforced. The moving forward of a free is only a proper punishment when it moves a free from outside a scoring position to inside a scoring position. Frees that are given away by forwards deep in opposing half that are moved forward offer very little punishment.
Cillian O’Connor is an obvious poster boy for this stuff. He was constantly getting the way of players trying to take quick frees and slapping the ball out of their hand long after the whistle had been blown. So it’s a certain irony that he is the one that gets a red card for lashing out at people doing similar things to him.
What do they do in Aussie Rules? I know they have the mark and the taker of the free is the one that steps back. They don’t seem to have that level of cynicism. Do they have stricter rules?
Donaghy caused such a wreck, it was great to see him give that kind of performance again. How in the name of God did Mayo keep Cafferkey on him for 65 minutes when it was obvious that Donaghy had the beating of him? I couldn’t agree with O’Donoghue being MOTM. It had to be Donaghy or Moran surely.
Hard to know where this leaves Kerry for the final. They have a lot of small injuries and they have been through 2 very hard games. The players that they have blooded this year will give them a bit more depth than they had but to have any chance in the final they need all the player niggles to go away to have the options to challenge the Dublin juggernaut who I fully expect to win today, although I’d love a Donegal win.
Star ran the show, the cork roasters are going mental on their websites
Two Mayo fans outside Super Macs at about 10pm last night, jeans up around their chest and curry all over their tops.
Who was the poster here who was saying during the first drawn match with Mayo “Donaghy is finished.” Can’t recall the spoofer in question, he might have been from Cork?
[QUOTE=“Tess Tickle, post: 1008975, member: 2269”]Who was the poster here who was saying during the first drawn match with Mayo “Donaghy is finished.” Can’t recall the spoofer in question, he might have been from Cork?[/QUOTE]Cork roasters are obsessed with Kerry Football
[QUOTE=“cluaindiuic, post: 1008956, member: 258”]Hon the Kingdom.
That game was ridiculous. Kind of had a bit of everything. Incredibly intense. You’d forget a lot of the early things that happened.
The refereeing in general was such a mess. Totally inconsistent for both sides.
e.g. For the first penalty, Enright already had a yellow from the double yellow with him and O’Connor after 5 minutes, so if he pulls the man to the ground it’s surely another card and Kerry are down to 14 which totally changes the complexion of the whole game. Same can be said for a huge amount of black card offenses that went unpunished. If you make the rule, you need to implement it or it becomes and joke and that’s what it is now.
I agree about the points about the level of cynicism in both team’s play. There needs to be stricter rules on what happens when a free is given and the punishment from time wasting and antagonising the winner of the free and of course they need to be consistently enforced. The moving forward of a free is only a proper punishment when it moves a free from outside a scoring position to inside a scoring position. Frees that are given away by forwards deep in opposing half that are moved forward offer very little punishment.
Cillian O’Connor is an obvious poster boy for this stuff. He was constantly getting the way of players trying to take quick frees and slapping the ball out of their hand long after the whistle had been blown. So it’s a certain irony that he is the one that gets a red card for lashing out at people doing similar things to him.
What do they do in Aussie Rules? I know they have the mark and the taker of the free is the one that steps back. They don’t seem to have that level of cynicism. Do they have stricter rules?
Donaghy caused such a wreck, it was great to see him give that kind of performance again. How in the name of God did Mayo keep Cafferkey on him for 65 minutes when it was obvious that Donaghy had the beating of him? I couldn’t agree with O’Donoghue being MOTM. It had to be Donaghy or Moran surely.
Hard to know where this leaves Kerry for the final. They have a lot of small injuries and they have been through 2 very hard games. The players that they have blooded this year will give them a bit more depth than they had but to have any chance in the final they need all the player niggles to go away to have the options to challenge the Dublin juggernaut who I fully expect to win today, although I’d love a Donegal win.[/QUOTE]
In AR there are two umpires and line judges. You can’t get away with much.Funnily enough they allow a lot of dangerous tackling off the ball (but within 5 meters of play).
If you interfere with the player who has got a mark it’s 50M penalty. The same for stepping over the mark where the mark (or foul) has occurred. It’s a great rule.
The biggest thing the Aussies have over us is young fit (well paid) officials who know the rules inside out and they generally get total respect from players.
They do have faults with their suspension and review system though.
In fairness that Croke Park announcer sounds like one of the biggest cunts around. I wonder who he’s related to?
Sure nobody got hurt. Why the hysteria? GAA people are passionate about their counties. You can’t tame that or you’ll take what’s left out of the GAA.
Christy Heffernan clocked an 18 yr old Waterford full back in a league game in Walsh Park in 1984. The full backs mother get in under the wire and decked Christy. She wasn’t prosecuted either. In the same game Ken McGraths father Pat, acted out the nations desires when he put Noël Skehan on his hole and fucking buried him in the back of the net. Pat was sent off to sustained applause from the Waterford and Kilkenny fans present, but not prosecuted either.
[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1009317, member: 706”]Sure nobody got hurt. Why the hysteria? GAA people are passionate about their counties. You can’t tame that or you’ll take what’s left out of the GAA.
Christy Heffernan clocked an 18 yr old Waterford full back in a league game in Walsh Park in 1984. The full backs mother get in under the wire and decked Christy. She wasn’t prosecuted either. In the same game Ken McGraths father Pat, acted out the nations desires when he put Noël Skehan on his hole and fucking buried him in the back of the net. Pat was sent off to sustained applause from the Waterford and Kilkenny fans present, but not prosecuted either.[/QUOTE]
who was the full back?
Damian Byrne
[QUOTE=“Fagan ODowd, post: 1009317, member: 706”]Sure nobody got hurt. Why the hysteria? GAA people are passionate about their counties. You can’t tame that or you’ll take what’s left out of the GAA.
Christy Heffernan clocked an 18 yr old Waterford full back in a league game in Walsh Park in 1984. The full backs mother get in under the wire and decked Christy. She wasn’t prosecuted either. In the same game Ken McGraths father Pat, acted out the nations desires when he put Noël Skehan on his hole and fucking buried him in the back of the net. Pat was sent off to sustained applause from the Waterford and Kilkenny fans present, but not prosecuted either.[/QUOTE]
There’s a massive element of snobbery in it, those culchie savages etc. Well at least when you got to a championship game in the gaa you actually feel alive at it. There’s electricity in the air. Not like the artificial shite you get at rugby where people are so bored they need to blare Ricky Martin out to convince those people they’re having a good time. A lot of people have become so used that corporate version of a sporting event they recoil in horror when they get a taste of the real thing.