All-Ireland Hurling Championship 2019 II*** Up Laois

Clare were hammered twice by cork. They were blessed to be in the semi final. There’s absolutely no comparison between Clare and wexford.

But for a phantom Tipperary goal, they would have gone into their last match in Munster with a chance of going through

That did for them

Derek did a fantastic job with Waterford and they need him back because we saw what happened this year when the begrudgers had their way and they played the way self-identified “true hurling men” thought they should play

Sure galway were in a final in 2012 why start that at 2014.i dont see how anyone can put cork ahead of us to be honest. Not to mention we are going for our third minor all ireland in a row and have won the last few u16s and celtic challenges

Wexford seem like a team that would go back training next week if it made a difference to next year. They’ll be fine.

Derek McGrath ruined Waterford. They think they’ve a god given right to win an all ireland or be one of the best teams.

Clare were far from hammered by Cork either time

Clare certainly hammered Limerick though

Clare won four matches last year, Wexford won two this year and Wexford had an excellent year this year

You talk some amount of bullshit

Clare were destoryed by cork and beat a bad wexford team. You haven’t a notion. Wexford won their Leinster championship.

Or Derek had charge of the best crop of underage hurlers Waterford had, possibly ever, and failed to deliver an All Ireland.

You decide.

Outside of all ireland finals Are limerick and cork the only sides to knock Kilkenny out of the championship in 70 minutes since Galway in 04?

I would say that there was a changing of the guard from the 2015 team compared to the 2012 team with the likes of the Mannnions, Flynn, Daithi Burke, Glynn, Whelan etc coming into the side and the likes of Smith, Donnellan, Collins, Moore, Regan, Hayes etc who were main men on the 2012 team.

Galway will remain consistently competative, my point was more around the fact that Cork are probably a few years off the consistency levels of Galway up to this year and the current Limerick side which will be a very solid outfit for a while to come.

Ask Noel Connors about the long term effect of Derek’s managment.

In which game were Clare “destroyed” by Cork

Clare beat the same Wexford team that won Leinster this year

Provincial titles mean little in the grand scheme of things, the All-Ireland final was won by a team which finished third in its group last year and two beaten provincial finalists this year

Five Munster champions since 2000 have won their semi-final

Reid for Kk, Canning for Galway and Horgan for Cork are the star men for their teams and next year will be the last for all of them IMO or at least the last year of their full effectiveness before age gets on top of them. All 3 are irreplaceable and no amount of young lads with potential can replace them. Tipp are in even more bother with a host of starters nearing the exit door.

We didn’t beat them in '04, we beat them in '01 and '05.

Simple facts are tipp got humilated by limerick in the Munster final. They had to beat laois and wexford to get to the all ireland final. In the 130 year history of the gaa probably around 95 percent of the time tipp win those two games.

Ya sorry.

They were in the AI final once Wexford beat Kilkenny later that day, they stumbled over Laois and scraped past Wexford. All the pressure is on Tipp for this final as they have the older team in last chance saloon, a loss will see them gone for 3-4 years.

Waterford have reached one All-Ireland minor final since 1992 - in 2013

Waterford have reached one All-Ireland under-21 final since 1992 - in 2016

That’s the same group of players

Somebody talked about a “God-given right” of Waterford above

It sure isn’t in the players or Derek McGrath, but maybe it is a problem with hurlers on the ditch like you if you think you’ve a God given right to win a senior All-Ireland with one good crop of underage players by the time that group is the equivalent of under 23

You need a reality check

Derek got those players closer than anyone

We saw what happened this year when a Mount Sion man took over

If your attitude is any guide as to the attitude of your fellow clubman, it’s probabaly not surprising that what happened this year happened

Its also funny/ironic how much of a bearing the clare/cork game had on the championship.

Only Tipp in the last decade have managed this feat. In fact, where a Munster team has appeared in the AI Final in that time, more often than not they have taken the scenic route.

It’s too much of a statistical anomaly now to ignore it. They’ll need to start playing the Munster winners’ semi-final in Munster to give them any chance of making AI Finals.