All-Ireland Hurling Championship 2019***

image https://img.rasset.ie/0011680f-614.jpg?ratio=1.78

Some very, very juvenile stuff about “dreams” there, mate

I hope you weren’t in Croke Park at 5:05pm last August 19th - your head would have exploded

And all after you complaining bitterly about the use of the word in the first place

Tut tut

And for a self-styled intellectual you presume an awful lot of stuff, don’t you

Very like yer man Norman whatshisname the crap “historian” that got the scathing obituary in The Guardian recently

The Bono jibe really stung you, didn’t it, I think it was more that you see Bono as representing the sort of Ireland you hate rather than the “evocative yet meaningless” bit

But nevertheless, you need to learn that eating a thesaurus does not a good post or an intellectual make

Speaking of eating, I’m not sure what eating asparagus in December has to do with the ambitions of club hurlers, or where I ever expressed any opinion on eating asparagus in December, but sure fire away there with your own stream of consciousness, it’s like something you’d hear on a record by The Orb

I generally like you as a poster, but you’ve made an awful eejit of yourself on this thread - I guess you could say you’ve been running to stand still on it

And that ego of yours is the size of a mid-sized planet - you’ve well and truly disappeared up Uranus - in classic Trump fashion you made sure to get in with the projection first

And all for what, because you couldn’t accept a simple fact that club hurling is less important than inter-county hurling

Bizarre

Running through your post there is a very mistaken, De Valeraesque assumption that urban Ireland is not the “real Ireland”

And rural Ireland itself is not some homogenous whole

The predominant view of what rural Ireland is on this forum is very much a misty eyed “ould sod” one

You’re far from the only person on this forum to have such a mistaken view, as was shown comprehensively in the two recent high profile referendum campaigns when a lot of the so called “rural” posters (many of whom actually live in urban areas) were shown to be hopelessly out of touch with the actual opinions of the majority of rural people

Inter county games obviously mean a lot more to the average person and they mean a lot more to the players too because the time they put in to play inter-county is a hell of a lot more than the time they put in to play club

Club final attendances countrywide are generally pitiful - 2k in Meath for a recent county final for instance

No such thing. I’m surprised a wordsmith such as yourself should be so careless. Rednecks are working class white people from the Southern US.
In future, if you wish to be derogatory towards me and my tribe, use the correct terminology.
Also, may I ask from what part of our wonderful island were you hewn?

Are you for real…? Exactly the opposite was meant.

Clearly you were not hewn from an irony tree…

10,000 at cork hurling final every year Sid. Galway final pulls in the same. Look at the crowd for the lower tier hurling finals in croker a few weeks back, 5 thousand between 6 teams. You obviously don’t follow a local club so how can you have this argument when you are just a fair weather supporter yourself? You don’t know what it’s like to support a gaa club.

Bono… Fior gaeldom… Actually, my kind of musical megalomaniac would be Mark E Smith or David Thomas or Don Van Vliet.

You have a remarkably stunted emotional life, judging by default co-ordinates.

The basic question: what would happen if the club seedbeed for juvenile players withered or atrophied – for whatever reason? Nothing to do with fíor Ghaeldom or any other revisionist herring. Within this context, the dreams of children would not be the operative factor as regards the future of the GAA. There is a causal point.

You want a strict hierarchy of sophistication. Soccer is better than Gaelic games. Intercounty Gaelic games are better than club Gaelic games. And so on. I get it, the nature of this temperament. The Stickie dream: utopia through international homogeneity, with the taste arbiters such as yourself in the Black Sea dachas. While you cannot be a socialist in your heart, because your ego demands that you despise ‘common people’ so as to make yourself special, the same ego means you must profess ideals of equality you do not remotely feel. Basically, you believe in stardom. Hence the recurrence to gobdaws such as Bono.

Just because you dream of being Fintan O’Toole – well, of being Patrick Freyne… – does not mean everyone else suffers from the vertigo of aspirant mediocrity.

he dreams of being una mulally truth be told

And is a transgender MĂĄire Gan GĂĄire.

ah, maire gan cairde. tis a pity noone showed up for her semple day out

No you are making that up. I love the way lads on the internet make things up like that.

He said he knew they were mentally ready and would be up for it.

I feel sorry for the 4 lads @Appendage got to like that post.

3 of them really should know better.

By God, Joe Phelan :clap:

no kilkenny player there, advantage cork!

Cody has them locked in a cage - throwing in the odd raw steak and letting them fight for it… They are going to physically do serious harm to Cork on Sunday.

People could be killed on Sunday, and all just in a curtain raiser.

In that case, apologies, my irony detector must be malfunctioning. Continue with your great work.

They really should know better than to believe a word @appendage said.
In defence, its always vexed me the way the flowery prose of christy o Connor, PM and the like unnecessary embellishes a straightforward bit of reporting. They invariably decide, or find some member of the backroom team or mythical bard to quote that they knew from the way the wind shook the barley the autumn before that such and such would triumph in the junior b West league later the following year.

A lot of presumption and projection there again, mate, your inangination must be working overtime, shame it’s chanelled completely through the medium of hackneyed cliche

Thanks for the bit about Mark E. Smith though

You should have tried to work “Who Makes The Nazis” into it

The “stickie” thing has really gone to your head, hasn’t it, sticks on the brain, or perhaps one blow too many from one

But trust you to have an irrational obsessession with a term which has no relevance to anybody in 21st century Ireland and which few people have even heard of in 21st century Ireland

In terms of cultural cringe, you’re reached full blown preacher status - purity of cringe may be a contradiction in terms but then purity of contradiction is your specialty, with all the sneering and lack of self awareness that goes with such a thing

The “basic question” was one you couldn’t even understand, never mind respond correctly to

So, like all egotistical gobshites who have been caught out on a basic question beyond the limits of their own overinflated sense of “understanding”, you try and change the question

Who knew you dreamt of being Sarah Huckabee Sanders

Paper Tiger springs to mind, or perhaps Trout Mask Replica, given that your posts on this thread lately have stunk the place out