Would there be any auld AI hurling skills competition (non-contact) that the Carkies could dominate. They deserve it, like, bhoy.
Even so bending the knee has never been the Cork way before
Not really. I think a midfield slot would play to his strengths, athleticism and commitment. He would also be able to compete physically, needs be, with Darragh OâDonovan and Will OâDonoghue.
What do you mean? Thereâs been loads of bad Cork teams that never stood a chance of winning an All Ireland because of stronger teams being out there, now itâs Limerick.
I doubt there was much bullishness when it was clearly a waste of time,
Theyâll make it back to the top table sone time. ![]()
Cork were famous for fearing no-one and coming out of nowhere any given year to win, rightfully in their eyes, Liam. Something in the mindset has definitely shifted
66, 86 and 90?
There was no dominant teams back then, Cork took advantage of that
dominant teams
You are beaten before a ball is thrown in with that mentality.
Sure Iâm not playing at all,
Pat Keane in the Examiner used to write a great Racing opinion column in the same vein; addressed the pertinent issues, well written, plain language and accessible to all.
Resorting to that self-help stuff tells me the writer has nothing to say.
The other thing is that the refereeing tends to be slightly different. The lads who referee the semi-finals probably know at that stage that theyâre unlikely to get the final, so they often relax a bit and they let things go that they wouldnât usually. They donât get hung up on technical fouls as much. As a result, the game opens up and the two teams play with greater freedom.
Subtle and good point, well put across.
How could you think that the Cork team of 86 came out of nowhere?
They had won the Munster championship for the 5th year in a row by then and appeared in All-Ireland finals in 82, 83 & 84, winning the latter one.
Kilkenny were starting to wane by 86 alright, as Galway emerged, but Cork were probably the most consistent team of that period. A lot of them were still there in 1990 also.
The subservient mentality to Limerick from you here is all too indicitave of your county teams alas. Its not the way is used to be with Cork people
They were heavy underdogs in my memory, I know how good they were, I assumed that was one of the games he was talking about, maybe I was wrong and he was harping back to the 30s and 40s?
86 was the year galway invented "the third midfielder " iirc, then proceeded to lamp in grenades to Johnny Crowley who had time to light a fag before he caught it and hurled it straight back
The media and the eejit that was Lord Mayor of Galway ran away with themselves alright after Galway handpassed a declining Kilkenny team to death in the semi-final.
In reality, Cork were by far the more experienced and better-rounded team going into that final
86 was the year galway invented "the third midfielder
Cyril Farrell revolutionized hurling
It was a very good Galway team on the up, Cork had a good mixture of youth and experience but they limped past Clare and Antrim.
But yeah, they had some fabulous players
I wouldnât hear of a bad word said about Cyril
He tweaked it for 87 and 88 and we all know Galway were rode bareback in 89
Cyril after the semi final saying âhorses for coursesâ and then doing exactly the same in the final.
It could well have worked in the final if it was executed properly, though.
As it was, Johnny Crowley could have sat on a deckchair clearing the ball back down the field. Cyril learned his lesson after it, Galway were a far more effective team in subsequent years.
Maybe it was the reason ye were actually close? Would have thought the focus of the whatight have been for Galway that day was losing your two best forwards.