All Ireland Hurling Final 2025 - Tipp's 29th

In truth, we’ll go on the lash and won’t win again until 2028.

Who would they have brought on for him? I heard someone suggest Ger Millerick but isn’t he more of a midfielder and wing-back? It probably would’ve meant moving Rob Downey back to full-back and Ciaran Joyce to centre. Or chance Damien Cahalane at 3.

Millerick got roasted by Darragh McCarthy from what I recall in the league game in Semple.

This means Manchester United are going to win the league in 2026.

Brolly says it could be the end of cork. Presume he means the team and not cork hurling.

Says they won’t trust the management again after their tactical ineptitude.

It didn’t take much to unseat them in the end - a sweeper and let SOD and O Leary have the ball.

Never forget peddlers being up their hole for the whole year after some facile wins in the pairc.

Gave him a proper clipping in the 1st half but Millerick kept him very quiet in the 2nd half. Jerry O Connor was one unhappy man next to me that hooring wet night in Thurles.

Re watching it here and unbelievable naivety from Eoin Downey to let McGrath goal side for the penalty. But it was no way a free let alone a yellow to be fair to Downey. McGrath did unbelievably well as you’d hope any experienced forward would to paint a picture to the ref

I noted that in the presidential handshake Cork looked bothered by the time Michael D took as if they couldn’t wait to just get the game over with where as the likes of Shelly, Doyle, Connors were laughing and joking when the camera panned to them like lads taking everything in their stride.

They really shouldn’t have let Conor lehane take that penalty. I know it was game over but he was never not going to miss it.

Like the intro to the sunday game with Sean Finn and Cian laughing in the team photo before playing Cork

Sure we had a lad who asked the president back to a house party. You can look as relaxed as you like we still got bate out the gap.

Delighted for Seamus Kennedy. Might be his last hurrah this season. Great to see him on the field of play after doing his cruciate last season.

Did anyone notice that tool Marty Morrissey’s commentary around the penalty? A good commentator would bring in his co-commentator to dissect the incident & the red card, & then inform the casual viewer how pivotal & game defining these moments are likely to be. Marty starts randomly shouting out city names…from Boston to New York to Sydney this is All Ireland hurling final day!

I never heard Michael Duignan as quiet during a big match. Given no time whatsoever to give any input, even during the pre match rigmarole

To be fair Duignan had the cop on to say ‘he could be off here, he’s on a yellow.’

Such a pivotal, match influencing decision was beyond the thought process of Marty who had to give a shout out to Jessica and the gang out on the J1 in Hawaii.

Would they not have just not called out his name? His family hardly need to be embarrassed anymore.

There wasn’t even booing in the clip they used in their tweet

A lot of the talk this year has been about the threat of Cork’s full forward line, with both Brian Hayes and Alan Connolly being touted as HOTY candidates prior to the final. I decided to have a look at just how threatening Cork’s inside duo was across their 7 championship games this year.

Across the 7 games, Connolly and Hayes combined for 8-19 (43), an impressive total at first glance, but when you look at the game by game breakdown, the numbers aren’t as impressive.

I decided to compare the numbers to Limerick inside duo Aaron Gillane and Shane O’Brien/Aidan O’Connor (whichever one started), and Tipps duo Jason Forde and John McGrath.

Cork Tipp Limerick
Game 1 2-5 (11) 2-2 (8) 1-7 (10)
Game 2 1-2 (5) 0-3 (3) 0-7 (7)
Game 3 0-1 (1) 2-5 (11) 1-2 (5)
Game 4 0-4 (4) 0-5 (5) Did not Play
Game 5 0-2 (2) 0-9 (9) 1-4 (7)
Game 6 5-3 (18) 2-3 (9) 0-6 (6)
Game 7 0-2 (2) 2-4 (10) N/A
Total: 8-19 (43) 8-31 (55) 3-26 (35)
Points per game: 6.1 7.9 7

The above table breaks down what each of the aforementioned duos combined for (from play) in each game this season.

What’s interesting to me as that a lot of the talk on TFK was about Shane O’Brien and Aidan O’Connor being off the pace, and there being very little mention of the Tipp duo of Forde and McGrath, in comparison with the supposed Cork juggernaut of Hayes and Connolly. Not only did the Limerick and Tipp duo’s have a higher points per game total, they were also far more consistent across their games, with Hayes and Connolly scoring 67% of their total in 2 games.

(I didn’t include the Tipp vs Laois game for context)

Hayes and Connolly aren’t there for their scoring solely. Everything runs through Hayes and to a lesser degree Connolly. Stop Hayes and you’ve Cork halfway walloped.