All Ireland Hurling Semi Final Cork v Tipp

[QUOTE=“Mullach Ide, post: 998619, member: 141”]I think Tipperary have backs capable of handling the Cork forwards. Cahill/Stapleton and Barrett are well capable of holding Cadogan and Horgan.
Tipperary forwards are potentially a more potent force than Corks having racked up 3-25, 5-25 and 2-23 in the last 3 matches.
If it turns into a shoot out, I wouldn’t be unduly worried.
I would be concerned about the Cork centre-field pairing which is the one area I believe Cork have an advantage, that said, I would hope that Tipp would come up with a plan to negate the influence of Walsh and Kearney.
Callanan and Bubbles are equally as capable of punishing Cork fouls.
Tipp for me.[/QUOTE]
Think this will happen. I would rather play anyone but Tipp. If Tipp place their players right, I think they will win.

How so kp?

It’s a hard one to call to be honest. I don’t get the emphatic dismissal of Tipp’s chances by some, we’ll know Sunday evening anyway.

Its not really a dismissal for me. Its more the fact that JBM is potentially bringing a Cork team back to a succesive AI appearance and going so close last year is huge motivation to ahead and rectify that. Tipp have improved greatly throughout the summer and will surely fancy their chances too. Corks hunger will win it for me anyway.

How will Tipp lack for hunger after the past couple of years they’ve had?

think tipp will win this…

In 2010 it took a defeat down the Pairc & a nasty backlash for the Fans to spark the team to life. We know how that story finished.

Now, 2014 has been somewhat similar as yet again the public turned nasty after the LK defeat. Hunger & motivation is rife within the camp so that JBM and second year talk makes little sense. The only doubt is whether EOS can prime these lads like Sheedy did.

[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 998687, member: 1517”]In 2010 it took a defeat down the Pairc & a nasty backlash for the Fans to spark the team to life. We know how that story finished.

Now, 2014 has been somewhat similar as yet again the public turned nasty after the LK defeat. Hunger & motivation is rife within the camp so that JBM and second year talk makes little sense. The only doubt is whether EOS can prime these lads like Sheedy did.[/QUOTE]

did sheedy come back on board this summer for a few sessions or was that bollox?..

Yes, was in for a few sessions after the LK game so i heard. More or less to talk to the panel than take the sessions.

Mcgeeney is still running the show there, he can give 100% to Tipp now the football is out of the way

The fact that Tipp have been drinking very little over the last 2 months is a massive advantage and should see us through by 6-7 points.

Fuck it, I was almost happy to see Tipp win this weekend until you reminded me of that :frowning:

:clap::pint:

This Tipp team measure up very similarly in a comparison to the Cork footballers. Plenty underage success and then the one AI, both went so hard for that one AI its been hard to redevelop the hunger again since.

Cork have no AI winner, hence you would think the hunger at the end of the day will be stronger. It seems to be a sharded trait of these two teams/counties to be satisfied by the one win every now and then (Cork football/Tipp Hurling)

[QUOTE=“carryharry, post: 998687, member: 1517”]In 2010 it took a defeat down the Pairc & a nasty backlash for the Fans to spark the team to life. We know how that story finished.

Now, 2014 has been somewhat similar as yet again the public turned nasty after the LK defeat. Hunger & motivation is rife within the camp so that JBM and second year talk makes little sense. The only doubt is whether EOS can prime these lads like Sheedy did.[/QUOTE]
So Tipps motivation is legitimate, Corks is not?

You are a numpty.

Yes, with a Tipp soft All Ireland against an injury ridden half strength Kilkenny team.

Softer than '89 against Antrim?

[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 998848, member: 273”]So Tipps motivation is legitimate, Corks is not?

You are a numpty.[/QUOTE]

Get over it, the All Ireland was played last Sunday.

You are getting excited over the 3rd / 4th place playoff…

:wink:

[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 998852, member: 1742”]Yes, with a Tipp soft All Ireland against an injury ridden half strength Kilkenny team.

Softer than '89 against Antrim?[/QUOTE]
No, because we had John Denton for the semi-final that year and only had to beat Waterford and Limerick in Munster, all told as soft an All Ireland that was ever won. Ye’d kill for it in Limerick though.

Not really. We love beating Tipp, it’s a tradition for us.

Great for Tipp fans to see your team get so far, must be nice for you to keep the same company as the big 3 of Kilkenny, Limerick and Cork.

[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 998852, member: 1742”]Yes, with a Tipp soft All Ireland against an injury ridden half strength Kilkenny team.

Softer than '89 against Antrim?[/QUOTE]
Something that people forget about 2010 is that Shefflin was pure shite in the final in 09 and there was no guarantee that he would have played well in 2o1o. Also Tipp were up by 5 when Shefflin went off and I think it was level by half time.