Annoying Office Jargon - Part III

Guys when did “outstanding points” become “gating items”?

Maybe I’m sheltered & it’s always been used but everything is a gating item these days.

I’m not angry about it, just bemused.

That’s a new one for me.

David Clifford with a couple of gating items.

New one for me. Sounds like the sort of corporate shite you’d hear on an expensive away day to promote team spirit or that Paul McGinley would spout at a 100!€ a plate breakfast sponsored by Accenture/E&Y etc. Whatever they are I’m sure they are essential to pushing the envelope on our blue sky thinking to max out on KPIs in Q4

Office work’s greatest achievement is the accumulated time it’s paid inhabitants since its inception have a feigned interested/focused look on their face when they could not give a scuttery fuck.

And Cillian O’Connor with a few wide as a fucking gate-ing items

Not jargon, but there must be a special place in hell for people with full volume on the computer speakers for every ping and email notification.

A lad in the office does many of his virtual calls in the open plan without any earphones.

Now he doesn’t have it loud but I can’t ever imagine thinking ‘ah sure what about the others in the office - they’ll be grand’.

I think he’s a Leitrim man as well :weary:

Probably from Carrick or Kinlough

How are we fixed for “touch points” guys?

I’m needing the more aggressive style of “checkpoints” at the moment. I’m hoping we can ease off the accelerator in the New Year and adopt a more unbuttoned, touchpoint-oriented approach.

I’m hearing our processes need to be ‘Topped and Tailed’ these days guys.

Nice.

“He’ll be wearing a fairly heavy number on his back”.

How one of the Na Piarsaigh subs was described to me when I asked if there was much chance of him coming on Sunday.

Under 2 points is the bet on him then - all aboard if we could get further information.

Don’t risk it lads. If you’re sick snd show up you can actually hinder proceedings. I don’t need to be sick to achieve thst but the point stands. https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2025/0808/1476525-illness-sick-workplace-employee-employer-pressure-remote-working/

Let’s have a deep dive sync with periscope up for Tuesday. Use weekend to submerge and come up for air on Monday.

I’ll ping anything on our radar now so we don’t get this torpedoed.

Your missus will be delighted!

What a dweeb