Another horrific accident in Donegal

Yeah it’s just stupid but it’s a mindset up there for generations

Think especially near the border it was easy to speed on both sides of it after leaving with a uk plate and vice versa, at one time gardai didn’t want to know, too much hassle/ paperwork

Yeah it’s been like that forever,and by the way it’s not all Donegal lads.Theres plenty of headers from Tyrone Derry Fermanagh and North Leitrim racing them roads.

Nail on the head there

Agree, used be around Ballyshannon regularity and Fermanagh besides Derry etc and Tyrone , crazy horse driving up there,younger mostly

We nearly always got pulled out the Garda jeep outside Ballyshannon, land cruiser if memory serves me

The mother of a Cavan chap called Cormac Murphy was on Liveline today. Cormac was in a car with 5 other friends at 5am when it went out of control, hit a wall and Cormac was badly injured, passing away on the Wednesday RIP.
There was a court case yesterday and the driver, Cormac’s pal, got 240 hrs community service and an 8 year driving ban. Cormac’s mother wasn’t at all happy with the outcome.
I fully understand her grief, but surely the driver was feeling bad enough already, he hardly intended the event to happen and there’s nothing he can do about it. Sadly I thought the poor woman might have been a little more forgiving or understanding.
Joe, the gom, had the brilliant idea of ringing a taxi rather than getting into a car with lads. Not a great option if you’re after a session in Aughawillian and need a spin to Mohill at 5 in the morning. Joe can be a fucking dickhead at times.

That’s the one.

My main point is that these lads weren’t in a hurry anywhere and probably dared the driver to undertake.

240 hours community service for a life doesn’t seem to be a fair trade to me. I’m sure the driver feels like shite over what happened but equally I’m sure that there are plenty of lads cooling their heels in prison who regret what they’ve done but we seem to take an extraordinarily lenient attitude to people committing car based crime. The lad who drove the car in Donegal boozed up to his gills, is a mass killer, but in the coroners court he is one of four very decent lads.

Take chances and things like this happen, we all did dopey things ref driving, I did to my shame 30 odd years ago, left a pub on holidays in Banna beach stotious with her and 5 of my nippers ,
went chasing bloody rabbits near the sand dunes , car stuck , handy walk back to the mobile home ,and of course a very cross Derry woman in tow ,
Bevy and driving don’t work

My heart bleeds for the driver. Where does personal accountability come into this?

Most of the idiotic driving I see is being done by Northern registered cars.

There’s nothing to say that they’re not just Donegal people riding a blind eye to paying VRT though.

Tyrone footballer Cathal McShane was in court for doing 170kmph near Letterkenny and got not ban. Just a €700 fine.

That was a shocking disgrace

I’ve been up there for the last month and I must say, there was nothing out of the ordinary.

Edit. Can I also say what a stunning absolutely stunning part of the world it is.

The 5km travel limit and Garda checkpoints to enforce that are likely the reason for that.

Donegal is a hidden gem

Unfuckingreal

Yeah Donegals not bad either

Nobody is ever forced into these cars and no fella ever drives off hoping to kill his passengers.Usually people pile in themselves .Young people do stuip things all the time and tragedies often happen unfortunately.

As long as people think like that tragedies will continue to happen.