Athletics Thread

Sure a horse fucked over the irish woman last time as well. I think they’ve done away with the random horse part of it now

The Dutch women look confident :joy:

They are dropping it alright but I seem to recall the men had no problem with the same horses the following day.

Sha’Carri Richardson making a shite of some lads theories about hairstyles and marginal gains in these championships

Richardson looked ridiculously cool there

How was Sha’carri breathing? Her mouth looks completely closed, must take serious practice to breathe that efficiently

She’s fucking gorgeous

That head on shot was magnificent

Some amount of something

Some 100m sprinters hold their breath for first half of race (Linford Christie held his breath the whole race). She’s probably nose breathing and only two or three breaths

What’s the rationale for this? To use the anaerobic system more?

Well you’re more buoyant in water when your lungs are full of air - same kind of thinking with this maybe - a little lighter on the feet with the full lungs?

Valsalva manoeuvre to increase force output. Like weightlifters do.

:flushed::flushed::flushed:
More likely you run faster if you’re not allowed to breathe until the finish.

@mac what time at the 4x400 out?

8:50

8.50pm Abbeyleix time

Some terrific talent in the women’s high jump final.

Randall Cunningham’s young one nearly crashed out early but gathered herself to clear her opening height of 1.85m at the third attempt.

Morgan Lake of Team GB is another one to watch.

Ingebritzens demise has been greatly exaggerated

Superb race from Inga

The Spanish guy could do no more

Ladies 800m up now @TreatyStones