Athletics Thread

At that level over 50 seconds every single thing counts I’d imagine.

Scrapes into the final in 12th place not breaking 6m. Guts of 70cm below seasons seasons best. Wouldn’t fill you with confidence

Finishes 6th overall on 6.18m a good 50cm below her seasons best. She’s been plagued with back problems since the college season finished apparently. Hopefully she’ll be back stronger next year. Qualifying for Tokyo should be her next objective.

I know women peak physically earlier than men but the 400m is known for taking ages to train up to. She’ll get there

Bronze Medal for Oisin Joyce in the Javelin in Lima in a new U20 NR. Savage achievement for the young man. World medals are hard won :clap:t3:

The future of Ireland 400m running continues to look bright. The mens 4x400m relay have qualified for the World U20 final as a fastest runner up. They were just beaten by the South Africans on the line for 2nd. Irish U20 record broken in 3:08.94. Their time was faster than 1 of the winning times of another semi final. A medal shake up wouldn’t be beyond them.

We also have 2 lads into 400m hurdles semi finals which goes off in an hour. They’re both in the same semi as one got in due to a withdrawal.

Meanwhile two men and a dog in attendance for the Diamond league in Rome

Split season’s fault

Healy up now, will be a fast race

5th and 6th. Not enough for final

Another solid sub 4 min run without ever threatening.

A cousin’s young lad is on that team. Himself and his twin brother are in the top bracket of 400 runners at that age, and their younger sister was out in Slovakia for the U18 championships last month. Bar is after being set very high there.

Tis like watching the GOAL game after the All Ireland

The lads aren’t lacking in confidence anyway. Sean Doggett has run 4 races already this week.

Ireland off now in the 4x400

Seventh of eight with Botswana disqualified. Very messy race handover-wise

Not one for the queasy lads

Bad news for 400m Diamond League runners

I see Mondo Duplantis beat Karsten Warholm over 100m in Zurich this evening in 10.37. Nice idea but they could really have made a bigger deal out of it by putting it on in front of a full crowd tomorrow evening.

Think they’re competing in their other events tomorrow so probably not an option. Seemed to be a decent crowd at it for a one off athletics event.

A good demonstration of where the height he reaches comes from.